We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time!! Going Again Next Year!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #168 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Conestoga PA
1 review
“Great time!! Going Again Next Year!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2007

After reading all the terrible reviews this place got, I must admit, I was NOT looking forward to this trip!! I wanted to call and cancel!! But I was pleasantly surprised!! Check in was easy and painless. We found our room and was surprised to find it an oceanfront room when we booked an ocenview room, at no additional cost. We pulled down the covers, checked under the mattress and under the bed and not one bug was found. The room was clean and well stocked with towels, soap shampoo etc. We had maid service daily and had more towels than we knew what to do with! The pools were clean, both at the water park and at our hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The amusement park was way more than what I anticipated. Our children, ages 3 and 8, had an awsome time. We booked the faimly package and believe me, spent less on this trip than any other we went on and did A LOT more!! If you get bored, that's your own fault 'cuz there was always something to do!! The only negative was the elevator, it was slow and undependable. Parking was kind of tight, but it looked that way at the other hotels too, so...
We had a great time and will definetley be back next year!!

  • Liked — clean convient
  • Disliked — elevator
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screech45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    465
    334
    329
    797
See reviews for
1,383
267
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunkirk, Ohio
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2007

We just arrived home from a great vacation in Myrtle Beach. I had booked this hotel because it seemed very "kid friendly" and it certainly was. The Family Value Package was a great deal for the money. Our average nightly price, including tax, was less than lower rated hotels were for just the rooms. Unlike some of the other reviews in this site, our room was clean, comfortable and pretty well maintained. The children and I took our showers at night and the water was plenty hot. My husband took his showers in the morning and said the water not as hot. There was information in our room that the Sea Mist is planning to (one at a time) raze all the buildings and build all new. So yes some of the decor, carpet and elevators weren't the best we've ever seen but why put a bunch of money into the old when you will be building brand new soon. My husband and I understand that. We had an ocean front room and it was awesome. Every afternoon they had live entertainment on the deck just below our balcony. That was nice to relax to when we came in for a break from the sun. The on site water park was nice for our kids (ages 11 and 6). There was a big childrens activity pool geared more towards our youngest child. They have nightly family events and our family participated in karaoke. It was great (and nobody knows you even if you're not the greatest singer) everyone cheers you on and makes it very fun. I agree that parking is limited. We had so much included in our package we only ventured out one day to go to Broadway at the Beach and Family Kingdom Amusement Park. Beware though of this "amusement park". It is more like a county fair. There are also some rides they will not let you ride with your "sea mist" wristband, you have to purchase tickets or pay cash. Our children were pretty disappointed that they could not do the race cars for free. The on site putt putt was okay. It was not as fancy as many in Myrtle Beach and it wasn't themed as so many are. I guess our kids aren't as picky as some. We were just happy to have things to do as a family. Our free breakfast at Tena's was good and our complimentary drinks and the food at Three Steps Down was nice. We had yummy Edy's ice cream at Jason's Cafe, too. The staff at all locations were very nice. Yes you might be able to pay the same price for a better hotel room, but when you add in all the extras that you get in the value packages you can't beat it! We loved it, the kids loved it. We would stay there again.

  • Liked — Great for familys with young children. Has an underground walkway to cross busy street.
  • Disliked — Slow elevators.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegoodguyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

Not too good but not too bad.First the good. The rooms were actually cleaner than what I expected from the outside appearence of the hotel (its not a resort). The family package was great. Free drink at Three Steps Down (great food also), Breakfast at Tenas restaurant was good crowded but good. Kids pool was nice and clean . Saw them clean it every morning that I was there. Now the bad parking was terrible,the big pool by my building (Surf Building) didn't look clean , elevator was broke on and off everyday of our stay had to use the steps that they were painting.Not very friendly employees. the whole time that we were there (4 days) only 1 employee said good morning and that was when were checking out. All in all not worth the money you are paying for the room. Will not be back.

  • Liked — Restaurant,bar, water park, family package
  • Disliked — elevator,parking,employees attitudes,
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank primadonna33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2007

when we arrived , our jr. suite was a mess. The mgmt made all great within 10 min. They put us in another larger suite and continued to offer their apoligies countless times. For this , we are forever grateful. Linda Byrd Toledo ,Ohio

  • Liked — the mgmt
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2005
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

We ended up at the Sea Mist with my daughters softball team. We did not choose and I had never heard of the Sea Mist. So when I googled and read the reviews I was mortified to the point of being in tears. But I felt like I was stuck and obligated in staying there because everyone from the team plus some of my family members where also staying there. I dreaded going to the Sea Mist the whole 12 hour drive down there and had mentally prepared myself for the worst. After reading reviews, I had prepared myself with Lysol, bug spray, matress covers, my own linens, room deodorizer etc. We traveled with 5 children (ages 2 - 16) and I was in no mood to deal with nastyness when we got there. I must say, I was pleasantly surprised, check in was easy. I held my breath as we opened the door to our ocean front family suite in the Spray building only because I did not know what to expect. The room had two full size beds with nice comfortable matresses and a pull down bed that was comfortable. The kitchen was a little small but we managed. I searched the place up and down and found no bugs or dirt. I flipped back the comforter and sheets and inspected closely and found no signs of bugs. In summary, rooms were nice, not 5 star. My only complaint about the room would be that the air condition, which is right above the bed was insanely loud. You couldn't even hear the TV.
We enjoyed the amenitiies. The kiddie pools were the best I've seen. My son enjoyed the arcade, and at 13 I felt comfortable letting him go with friends. We enjoyed the family amusement part. I was half expecting some rinky dink fly by night carnival, but it was actually pretty nice. We ate at the all you can eat pizza/past at Tenas and loved it!! The food was wonderful and my 2 yr old enjoyed the woman making balloon animals for the kids. With seven of us in one suite, we never ran out of towels. The housekeeping was wonderful arriving everyday between 9-12. They would mop/sweep the floors, clean the bathroom, empty trash and change the beds. There was always someone sweeping/cleaning the hallways. Everyone of them always made eye contact, telling you "good morning" or "have a good day".
Parking was an issue a few times, only twice we had to park in the parking garage. My parents stayed in the Tides and were pleased with the room also. I think staying at the Sea Mist is all in what you make of it. We had a great time and this is coming from a very picky person.

  • Liked — Amenities
  • Disliked — Loud Air Conditioner
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachlvr06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

My daughter and I stayed at Sea Mist a few years ago, and my husband and I are looking to stay there next month. My daughter and I stayed in a remodeled room and it was fine.
We liked the hotel's waterpark , lazy river and waterslide,and also the Family Kingdom waterpark, lots of fun! Being right by the ocean is very nice, and the "lazy river" those other oceanfront hotels claim to have is nothing more than a very small circle. Seamist's own waterpark is the biggest on Myrtle!

I really think some of these reviewers who gave it a poor rating complain about everything in life. I'd advise staying at Seamist!

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hsc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

I've been going to Myrtle Beach since I was a kid. I just took my family for 5 days at the Sea Mist. First, the good - the staff was very nice and helpful. The water park is pretty good and only a few dollars for guests. The bad - as another reviewer mentioned, it is NOT a resort. They've taken a collection of hotels close together, put them under the same name. It is not easy to get to the ocean if you are across the street. Because the properties are all separate, it is very difficult to get from one oceanfront pool to another. The pools were average at best and most seemed dirty. We stayed in a small 2-BR property about 1 1/2 blocks from the beach and the neighborhood was very shady behind us with rundown motels and dilapidated apts. Overall I would not recommend Sea Mist for any family.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Tigeroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.6 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#153 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#137 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
0.3 mi away
3 Palms Oceanfront Myrtle Beach
3 Palms Oceanfront Myrtle Beach
#128 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#21 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort

Property: Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort
Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4540
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 823
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 acres with 19 buildings and 800 units ranging from regular hotel rooms, to suites, cottages, penthouse, and apartments. Conveniently located at 1200 South Ocean Boulevard in Myrtle Beach close to all the local attractions, amusements, shopping outlets, and favorite restaurants. Specializes in family vacations, championship golf packages, Myrtle Beach adventures, and group travel. Has the largest selection of resort amenities in Myrtle Beach including the largest on-site water park with a 370 foot long, 7 foot wide lazy river, and a 3,000 square foot oceanfront children's activity pool. Multiple restaurants, tavern, arcade, underground walkway under Ocean Boulevard, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Mist Oceanfront Hotel
Sea Mist Myrtle Beach Sc
Sea Mist Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Motel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Sea Mist Oceanfront
Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach
Sea Mist Resort Sc
Sea Mist Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing