We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and Switch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #175 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel uses the horrible practice of bait and switch advertising only the fresh and clean driftwood for a discounted price only to put you up in Norman Bates Hotel (the sandcastle). This place is a disgrace to ocean front property and should have been torn down 20 years ago. We checked in and immediatly checked out. DO NOT STAY HERE. There are better and cheaper alternatives in myrtle beach. The balcony is less than standing room and the beds are basic at best. Everything in the room had a disgusting wet feel to it and the floors where peeling up. The doors do not shut completely and show signs of someone breaking in. Overall the hotel was run down and looked like a cheap roadside hotel. DO NOT BE TRICKED BY THIS HOTEL, DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,000 - 1,006 of 2,444 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great customer service but its really old and I feel I was over priced... I was embarrassed to show any of my friends where I was staying I didn't even invite anyone over. I walk around in the room with no socks on and my foot got absolutely black. Ocean front NOTTTTTT! smh. Very biker friendly and parties were always on the go there and it was NEVER quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marietyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

From day one the internet was not working for more then a minute at a time.

Called the QUOTE Manager who never called us back. We where told many times someone would check it or that they where working on it. Four days later it still was not working in the building we where in.

There was a wet dog smell in the beds, and urine in the elevator. The floor in the room was sticky and house keeping idea of cleaning it was to drop water on it and then use a dry mop to move it around. We dropped the towels down on the floor to have something to walk on.

The walls had paint falling off, we have photos to many to post here. They did start to painting before we where left. Where told a few times to wait in the room for them to call us back about the questions we had or to avoid the wet paint on the door way to the room and hall.

When we asked about changing room or a refund as we paid upfront for the trip. We where told the manager would have to answer that questions from us. Funny the lady who told us this turned out to be the manager on the 3rd day of the stay.

Sadly this place has gone down hill over the last 3 years. The store and Restaurant where closed all week. The locals where telling us about 1200 EMS calls and that the bike week that just left had a few deaths. Not the warm and fun trip we where looking for.

I do not feel they care one second for the customer. We will not send anyone else here EVER, nor we will return.

Room Tip: Anything but here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PapawJoe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

1st, they lied. Said we would have room with roll in shower & wall bed. Well no wall bed nor roll in shower. In fact, the bathroom door isn't even wide enough for a standard wheelchair to get through. Room is OK other than that I guess. They did give a full refund tho.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Monte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This has to be one of the most disgusting places I have ever allowed myself to step upon. I can't even begin to explain how ashamed I was that I allowed myself to book a stay with this property. It should be condemned. The rooms smelled of urine and vomit. The A/C might as well be removed from the wall and let fresh air come in because it sure as heck did not work. The TV...ha...what a joke. Don't be fooled by these reviews. Heed my advice all....continue your search.

Room Tip: Just cancel your booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JBL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We loved the Sea Mist! The abundance of pools, hot tubs and amenities was spectacular. Our rooms were clean and neat. We brought our cat with us and she felt right at home. The staff was excellent and friendly. There was so much conveniently to do, we highly recommend this resort. We are coming back in October for hopefully 9 days. Our trip started out as business and ended up being a nice relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: We had Ocean Front and both rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katieemonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed at sea mist for memorial weekend. I love. sea mist it the only hotel I will stay in. the room service was terrible just joking it was. Gud but could do better hair still on. floor bed wasn't made correct I'm a housekeeper myself so I know what to look for . but I can say sea mist will give u a lot of towels but barley wash but all is say I will always stay here but will do my own service

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sc girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.2 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#142 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
709 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.7 mi away
The Reef Myrtle Beach
The Reef Myrtle Beach
#165 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#108 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
825 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
1.2 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#104 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort

Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $45 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 823
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 acres with 19 buildings and 800 units ranging from regular hotel rooms, to suites, cottages, penthouse, and apartments. Conveniently located at 1200 South Ocean Boulevard in Myrtle Beach close to all the local attractions, amusements, shopping outlets, and favorite restaurants. Specializes in family vacations, championship golf packages, Myrtle Beach adventures, and group travel. Has the largest selection of resort amenities in Myrtle Beach including the largest on-site water park with a 370 foot long, 7 foot wide lazy river, and a 3,000 square foot oceanfront children's activity pool. Multiple restaurants, tavern, arcade, underground walkway under Ocean Boulevard, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Mist Oceanfront Hotel
Sea Mist Myrtle Beach Sc
Sea Mist Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Motel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Sea Mist Oceanfront
Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach
Sea Mist Resort Sc
Sea Mist Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing