We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #174 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed May 9, 2004

The brochure lies! Oh sure they have a water park, but it is half the size you'd expect and it is located across the busy, busy Ocean Blvd., which is terrible if you have small children. The rooms are old and nasty and very small. The beach bar was not even open AT ALL! The swimming pools are scattered throughout the buildings and not one close to us, which made it hard to drag all your stuff back and forth and to use the restroom. Very disappointed with the resort, if that is what you call it. They are way too expensive compared to the other newer and upkept resorts. We stayed one of the four night planned and checked out at 8am! We were refunded our money with no problems, they must get that alot according to other reviews! We found a much nicer and cleaner resort 1/2 mile away for alot less money! This resort is a total disappointment, and will NEVER be back here!

1  Thank mlnewcomb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,428)
There are newer reviews for Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,359 - 2,365 of 2,428 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2004

This is the the pitts! I would never stay here again, Free Breakfast was full of very rude staff! Rooms are very nasty and run down I wanted to leave and sleep in my car!
Also, DO NOT MAKE reservations and then try to Cancel they STEAL 25.00$ from you no matter what! This place is for the Birds and that is being very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Philadelphia, PA
24
Reviewed April 21, 2004

Here are a few reasons to stay somewhere else in MB 1) Cigarette burns on the tub in a non-smoking room 2) Dirty bed linens and mattresses - stained so badly my son and I had hives after the first night 3) after complaining about the beds, not even our sheets were changed for the 3 days we stayed 4) "Water park" is a glorified pool.
Save your money.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Illinois
1
Reviewed April 19, 2004

This was the WORST hotel my family and I have stayed in...in fact, we didn't stay there, we checked in and checked right back out! When we arrived, we went up to the room (which stunk) to find the air conditioner all taken apart lying on the floor. So we switched rooms to be put in an even worse one! Bugs on the floor, peeling paint, a big gap under the door, mold, etc. The floor was uneven, tilting to one side. Very weird!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Manassas, Va.
1
Reviewed April 10, 2004

My wife and I decided to take our 2 children to Sea Mist because of the on site amenities. BAD MOVE!!! The on site water park heater was broken. The on site Putt/Putt closed at 5pm. The Newly renovated room stunk of paint, one bed was broken and one of the televisions had a bad picture. The Upon my request the hotel did move us to another room and refunded or money for the "Fun in The Sun" package. By the way the water park is only $2.00 to enter. Skip the package deal and enjoy the rest of the town.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta, Georgia
11
Reviewed April 4, 2004

The website was the only reason that my husband, myself, two other couples and our seven children decided to visit Myrtle Beach for Spring Break. The website represented multiple activities to keep our children, of varying ages, occupied.

When we arrived, the rooms were unclean. We had been promised suites with a walkout to the beach and they were across the street. The pool looked as if it had not been cleaned. The 'amusement park' was not on the premises, but down the street, very small, and not of the quality represented in the website.

Needless to say, we were very upset at the fact that we'd traveled more than five hours to find that we were not getting near what we were promised on the very impressive website.

When we expressed our dissatisfaction, the desk clerk refunded our money without any hassle and stated that he was accustomed to this response from people who were lured from the website or brochure.

We did find alternative, family friendly accomodations accomodations and were able to salvage our vacation.

If I were in college - no problem. As a parent with small children - no way.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Pennsville, NJ
11
Reviewed March 31, 2004

This is a cheap, family oriented hotel. If you are expecting the Four Seasons you will surely be disappointed. However, if you are looking for an inexpensive place to take your kids, especially younger ones, I really can't think of a better place for the money. It's not new, it's not trendy, but it has value. I guess you either love it or hate it. I love it. Sometimes we travel down or meet up with folks that stay at other hotels, and the next year 3 out of 4 of them stay at the Sea Mist.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.2 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#145 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
701 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#113 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
818 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
3.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,177 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort

Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4540
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $57 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 823
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 acres with 19 buildings and 800 units ranging from regular hotel rooms, to suites, cottages, penthouse, and apartments. Conveniently located at 1200 South Ocean Boulevard in Myrtle Beach close to all the local attractions, amusements, shopping outlets, and favorite restaurants. Specializes in family vacations, championship golf packages, Myrtle Beach adventures, and group travel. Has the largest selection of resort amenities in Myrtle Beach including the largest on-site water park with a 370 foot long, 7 foot wide lazy river, and a 3,000 square foot oceanfront children's activity pool. Multiple restaurants, tavern, arcade, underground walkway under Ocean Boulevard, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Mist Oceanfront Hotel
Sea Mist Myrtle Beach Sc
Sea Mist Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Motel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Sea Mist Oceanfront
Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach
Sea Mist Resort Sc
Sea Mist Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing