We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical beach room, nothing to write home about!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #171 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Kingstown, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Typical beach room, nothing to write home about!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Check-in was terrible. No rooms were ready, not ours, not other guest attempting to check-in. After a 1 wait we were able to go to our room which reeked of smoke and dampness. The room did air out with some assistance of Febreze and was tolerable but nothing to amazing. I've seen better but the convenience played a tremendous factor, in addition to the underground passage which allowed the kids to navigate among areas without crossing through traffic. Breakfast at Tena was excellent and offered a great variety. In addition the grounds, pools, and common areas were very well-kept which ultimately were the areas that we spent most of our time.

Room Tip: If you're going to the beach, invest the extra bucks for oceanfront, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJREID09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    473
    343
    339
    834
See reviews for
1,435
272
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

DUMP! Thought I was staying somewhere nice. We cae down for a new years vacation. We were kinda limited because of a "pet friendly" room. Also I am scared of heights ,so that limits it even more. Room was layed out funky. Room smelled like bleach when we checked in to the point we had to open slide door and room door to let it air out. Room was stucko inside and very dirty walls. Furniture was beat up and dirty. Also very uncomfortable. Kitchen chairs were rusting! Stove was very old and small. Refrigerator was camper sized and very old. Bathroom was outdated and dirty. A/c and heating unit were very loud. Elevator pump was right beside room. VERY LOUD! Old drape on old slide door. Mold above shower head. Lamps dusty. Beds very hard! Door to hall was gapped all the way around. Could smell neighbors food and cigarettes. Also could smell someone smoking weed once. This is just in the room. Now for the outside! Outside turf as hallway carpet. Stayed wet and dirty. Walked by a "resident" peeing in an hall bathroom with door open. Dog running around loose. Hall maid closet right beside room. Could not sleep in because of this. Parking deck was in worse shape than Stonehenge . Leaked and was very dirty. We stayed in the Spray building. Second floor. was told it was the only low floor room available. WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!

Room Tip: Dump! Second floor of spray building is nasty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigDaddyDirtPile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stayed at the Sea Mist because someone cancelled on me the after I arrived at MB. This is one experience I won't repeat. Dirty hallways, trash and linen thrown down, paint peeling off the walls.
Old, dirty mattresses on the beds, rooms have been broken into, paint peeling from room walls, damage not corrected, old Zenith TV where half the channels did not work, dirty chairs and balcony, rude, disrespectful guests, elevator that creaked and doors barely opened, rude housekeepers, front desk clerks. I complained and it got worse. The Driftwood building was supposed to be pet and smoke free. There was both there. Stay Away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: There are none!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China Grove, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The prices are always reasonable. As a family with 3 young ones, they offered so much to do right at the resort. You don't have to use your car once you arrive there. As we grew through the years to a family with 3 teens, they offered the water park along with the park with thrill rides. Now, as just a couple, we enjoy the closeness of the "dinner and show" as well as the jacuzi's and the pools. The best part through the years is they are right on the beach with many amenities and a great price. Some of the rooms are older but who stays in their room when you have all the wonderful things to do at the beach?!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor are easier to get to, as well as, quicker access to the beach and all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

this was my old navy reunion. great place to have it. everyone was very nice and helpful. had a problem with our sliding door and called in to have it fixed, had bckfast and i was repaired by the time we got back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldman20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest City, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

As retired couple, we loved our stay in Sea Mist. Everyone was very helpful and courteous. We did not meet any unfriendly faces. It was a perfect place for our family vacation- we stayed for 2 weeks. We also loved breakfast by Tena's. When we were there we looked around in several other hotels and condos to get some ideas. We came to the conclusion that Sea Mist will be the one, so we made reservations for next year for 1 Month . Even though we did not take our dogs along, we enjoyed staying in a comfortable, family oriented, and pet friendly place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vreni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Staying for s soccer tournament we had a GREAT rate and oceanfront rooms. So the view was awesome and room was pretty clean, but it is OLD Myrtle Beach and pictures in the lobby showed it is being torn down and rebuilt. So hopefully the NEW Sea Mist will help bring up the old MB oceanfront in that area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CookFamilyPharmacists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.2 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#141 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
694 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,864 reviews
3.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#117 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
813 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort

Property: Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort
Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4540
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 823
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 acres with 19 buildings and 800 units ranging from regular hotel rooms, to suites, cottages, penthouse, and apartments. Conveniently located at 1200 South Ocean Boulevard in Myrtle Beach close to all the local attractions, amusements, shopping outlets, and favorite restaurants. Specializes in family vacations, championship golf packages, Myrtle Beach adventures, and group travel. Has the largest selection of resort amenities in Myrtle Beach including the largest on-site water park with a 370 foot long, 7 foot wide lazy river, and a 3,000 square foot oceanfront children's activity pool. Multiple restaurants, tavern, arcade, underground walkway under Ocean Boulevard, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Mist Oceanfront Hotel
Sea Mist Myrtle Beach Sc
Sea Mist Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Motel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Sea Mist Oceanfront
Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach
Sea Mist Resort Sc
Sea Mist Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing