We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXPERIENCE AT SEA MIST” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #162 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Greer, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXPERIENCE AT SEA MIST”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

There are a lot of children allowed by parents, to just run wild even late at night. The premises are filthy, the elevators, stair wells, balcony areas and trash around the premises. Other than that we enjoyed being there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    455
    319
    304
    742
See reviews for
1,309
236
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

After reading the reviews I tempered my expectations and was pleasantly surprised. I asked for oceanview and I got oceanview. The front desk staff was nice and told me as I checked in that parking was a problem but showed me exactly where to park. Love the location to Boardwalk and other attractions. Having the free computers in the building helped me "stay in the loop".

Negative was the floors were constantly dirty. Every review is right. They whole property needs updating. They even seem to admit it with their "plans" for tearing everything down and rebuilding. Indoor pool needs major work. Water park is great if you have kids under 8 but it is extra and like the grills that were outside as we grilled 2 dinner 2 nights we stayed.

Overall, not a bad place but if I had to stay again I would have to think about it.

Room Tip: Rooms in new building are cleaner and have a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I would definitly bring my family here again. At first I didn't really believe you would recieve everything listed on their website, but we actually did. We received passes to to family kingdom amusement park and waterpark for everyday of our stay. We got a 5x7 family photo. Me and my husband received a free alcoholic drink upon arrival. We all got to go to their breakfast buffet one day for free and you receive one free dinner at their restaraunt for one person and the rest of your party gets 20 percent off. The only real complaint I have is that their mattresses are not the greatest to sleep on. But if u have kids this is the place to go. Great value for your money!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byersj84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pataskala, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a great stay at the Sea Mist. At first I was not very happy due to the fact that we did not get the room we booked. Management came to the rescue and not only corrected it, but went above and beyond to make sure my family had a good time and was satisfied with our stay. The staff is great and so our the added amenities of this resort. The inclusive family value package is the way to go!.Already planning our stay for next year.

Room Tip: Ocean front is the best view and nicer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Triangle, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were so excited about our trip and the resort. Got there on Saturday and the room looks noticing like the pictures. We were staying at the Palms building facing the water park in the larger family suite. It should have been called the smallest family suite. The front door opened to the bedroom and then you would walk to the next bedroom and then the kitchen. I found another place to go and they gave me back my whole weeks worth of money. Do not stay here. They room needs to be burned down. OH the elevator was broken. Stay away for the Sea Mist. Go to Carolina Winds instead.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Top 10 Horrors from the Sea Mist:
1. The Elevator (1): Upon arrival at 10pm the filthy lurching elevator was unlit as were the floor buttons. I hurried my wife and 3 year old twins into the darkness with other frightened guests. My children tried to get off at each floor running towards the bleakly lit hallways, but I held them tightly, unable to discern what dangers were lurking in the dark.
2. The Room (1): The room was obviously not cleaned, I mean sure, they changed the linen, but the floor was sticky and covered in filth. My son's toy fell under a chair and I made the mistake of looking for it and found all manner of detritus.
3. The Room (2): It's a non-smoking room when you're not smoking in it.
4. The Room (3): Without mattress covers one can only imagine the alcohol and meth-fueled debauchery these poor beds have witnessed. Biohazardous.
5. The Elevator (2): There was a urinal deodorizer that was stuck to the elevator ceiling in an attempt to mask the stench. Fetid.
6. The Hotel Structure: I have no idea why this building is not condemned. The concrete is crumbling revealing the rusty rebar throughout. They have attempted to patch the coming disaster by putting up wooden structures. This must be illegal. The building inspector must be on the payroll. Dangerous.
7. The Breakfast: Totally expected, but still shockingly terrible food. Oh, there is a non-verbal omelet cook that makes omelets while doing everything to avoid eye contact. Rubber cheese omelets, French toast and pancakes all served with the same apathetic attitude.
8. The Parking: There is a lot which also serves as a smoking area for staff. They have a roped off area with a little sign "employees only" where they sit and smoke. Our car was not broken into overnight which was a plus.
9. The Air: While you may be a non-smoker the second-hand smoke in the air at all times will assault your senses throughout your stay.
10. A Pile of Adult Human Feces on the Stairs: We fled the horror of the Sea Mist at this point. Please, I beg you, don't expose yourself or anyone you love to this dangerous, structurally unsound, filthy hotel. And by the way, it is all being demolished in a couple of years (if it doesn't just collapse on its own out of neglect).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbrglr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This turned out to be a great family resort. Sure you could nit pic parking, condition, location however I think when you put it all together it's a great value for a great time. I found it to be very family oriented. We had 3 families stay in 2 separate rooms and the resort had something that worked for everyone. Because of the family package we came home with money left in our pockets. We stayed in Spray building and will be going back next year

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmiller57ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#98 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 847 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#134 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 644 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#85 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
6.5 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#34 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#21 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort

Property: Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort
Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4540
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 823
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 acres with 19 buildings and 800 units ranging from regular hotel rooms, to suites, cottages, penthouse, and apartments. Conveniently located at 1200 South Ocean Boulevard in Myrtle Beach close to all the local attractions, amusements, shopping outlets, and favorite restaurants. Specializes in family vacations, championship golf packages, Myrtle Beach adventures, and group travel. Has the largest selection of resort amenities in Myrtle Beach including the largest on-site water park with a 370 foot long, 7 foot wide lazy river, and a 3,000 square foot oceanfront children's activity pool. Multiple restaurants, tavern, arcade, underground walkway under Ocean Boulevard, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Mist Oceanfront Hotel
Sea Mist Myrtle Beach Sc
Sea Mist Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Motel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Sea Mist Oceanfront
Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Sea Mist Resort Sc
Sea Mist Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing