We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to take your pet on vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #163 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Greenwood sc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to take your pet on vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel has all of their pet rooms located on the first and second floors. We had an oceanfront room on the ground floor. The room opened out to a ground floor wooden deck shared by about eight rooms, but we had a small private alcove. We looked out on the dunes and the ocean. The view was fabulous. All of the hotel staff were extremely friendly. Any questions we had were promptly answered. The hotel is very centrally located to the attractions we wanted to visit. An older hotel, but extremely clean and perfect for a holiday for our furry friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy123176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    461
    330
    323
    777
See reviews for
1,353
261
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blairsville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed in the TIDE building. It was very clean. Great Service. Second floor. Great view. Want to go back and stay longer. Don't want to consider staying anywhere other than the Sea Mist when I go to Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: Never have stayed as low as second floor. It was like having the ocean come right to me. Wouldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our stay at Sea Mist was great, the view from the balcony and the sound of the sea was so nice. The bed and breakfast package was great, food was good and the folks in the restrauant were so nice. I look forward to coming back later in the year.
Please heat up the whirlpool. It could be hotter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyboopanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metter, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were on the 7th floor overlooking the waterpark and it was a nice view of the waterpark below, the city streets and even some views of the ocean. If we were on a lower floor we probably wouldn't have been able to see the ocean. The waterpark below charges $3 to play which was a turnoff to us since we were already paying for a room. However, it was too windy to play down there anyway. The children enjoyed the Castle Playground the most. We did walk the block and a half to the beach one day but again, too windy to stay on the beach. One day we went to the indoor heated pool over at the Driftwood (we were staying in The Palms - both are Sea Mist buildings) and it was popular with a lot of people obviously. The children had a good time there. They even had a toddler pool where my 3 yr old could stand in it and it was only up to her hips, if that.

Our room on the 7th floor had two double beds in one room and a Murphy bed in the living room behind the sofa and one bathroom. It would have been nice to have Queen beds or even King sizes, and another bathroom, but for our family of 6 it was adequate as it was. It's very "economical" with plastic glassware and Corelle plates but the kitchen was fully stocked with necessities. No dishwasher. And while I certainly don't mind washing our dishes, a dishwasher in today's age would be nice. I'm still not sure what I think about requiring your tenants to wash their dishes because "it is not part of housekeepings' duties". I always have the image of the man on "Hotel Impossible" spit-washing his dishes...his reasoning as to why a hotel should NEVER tell their tenants to wash their own dishes. But again, I don't mind washing my own dishes. And no, I didn't spit-shine them. ;)

Overall, a nice place to stay for the family. I would consider staying there again, but considering all the other attractive and myriad choices of hotels/resorts all along that strip of Myrtle Beach, I would probably check out another hotel for more amenities/less "economy" atmosphere.

A good choice to stay, though, if you are considering it. We stayed in 62703 in the Palm Building if you want to request that room. And we stayed May 1-4. We originally planned to stay 2 nights/3 days, but added on another night the 2nd day just because it was a good rate and we wanted to see more of Myrtle Beach. :)

Also, we didn't use Room Service our entire stay, but each morning in front of our "do not disturb" sign, a bag of clean towels, tissue, and toiletries were on our door handle. That was a nice surprise to us and appreciated.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor room. The lower ones are more "pet-friendly".
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I found the mangers special family package was the best deal for us. We were able to goto the waterpark located at the Sea Mist. It had a 3 story playground on premises an arcade and putt putt. The putt putt course is not the biggest, but it's something to do while at the beach with the kids and included in the family package. They also include family kingdom tickets for each night you are there which was worth the money. I thought the waterpark at the Sea Mist closed a little early for the end of April, I think the should have stayed open at least until 7:30 or something not close at 4:30. The elevators were a little slow and it seemed as if things might have been a little dated, but overall it was clean, the staff was nice and not far from the beach. I think the breakfast at the Tena's was dissappointing, it could have had a little more variety. We went for the beach so it was good from that aspect, if you are looking for nightlife it is definitely more for families than anything else. Overall good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 05traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

When we first got here everything was so confusing there are no signs to direct anything really. Office on one side parking deck in one building we were in another. Ocean front room was great until we noticed many things. The toilet back had urine all over it. The door to the patio was broken & VERY hard to close. It got chilly at night so we tried to turn the heater on and it smelt of burning rotting mess. The fridge was dirty hand prints all over. The shower also clogged which was gross. Nothing is complementary here so expect to be charged for everything. Paint chipping off of everything! Don't even get me started on the elevators that smell of last years rotting throw up. We spent 180 for 2 nights what a mess. We will never be back. Staff however we have no complaints about very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for $63 night internet special. Room had kitchen with everything you need. Local stores..even walmart...just bring your family...pets were welcome..awesome stay..can't wait to go back. Local eater's were great..Lots of stuff for the kids as well as the adults. Para sailing was a total blast..right on the beach. You can't ask for any more.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank everlastinggifts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.7 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#152 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#135 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#82 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#21 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
3 Palms Oceanfront Myrtle Beach
3 Palms Oceanfront Myrtle Beach
#125 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort

Property: Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort
Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4540
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 823
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 acres with 19 buildings and 800 units ranging from regular hotel rooms, to suites, cottages, penthouse, and apartments. Conveniently located at 1200 South Ocean Boulevard in Myrtle Beach close to all the local attractions, amusements, shopping outlets, and favorite restaurants. Specializes in family vacations, championship golf packages, Myrtle Beach adventures, and group travel. Has the largest selection of resort amenities in Myrtle Beach including the largest on-site water park with a 370 foot long, 7 foot wide lazy river, and a 3,000 square foot oceanfront children's activity pool. Multiple restaurants, tavern, arcade, underground walkway under Ocean Boulevard, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Mist Oceanfront Hotel
Sea Mist Myrtle Beach Sc
Sea Mist Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Motel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Sea Mist Oceanfront
Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Sea Mist Resort Sc
Sea Mist Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing