We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moldy, dirty, unacceptable,unhealthy &, sub stander hotel!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #170 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Moldy, dirty, unacceptable,unhealthy &, sub stander hotel!!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Save your money. this hotel is filthy?. My first room had
waste in toilet sand in the tub and pubic hair on the sheets. There was mold everywhere. The hotel changed my room and it wasn't any better then the first. In fact when I complained it was taken in a matter of fact attitude

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yomamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    471
    339
    334
    817
See reviews for
1,409
272
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seguin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I visited Myrtle Beach from Sept 19-25th, and I stayed in the condo I had just purchased in the Driftwood Building. Do not listen to the other reviews. These people stayed in the older buildings that are going to be torn down when the economy gets better. The Driftwood and Tides Buildings are newer and were renovated in 2006 and sold as individual condos. Many of these owners have them in the rental program. Stay in one of the many condos available oceanfront in these two buildings. As an owner of a condo there, I can attest to the fact that they're nice and have excellent views. My condo has a full kitchenette as do many. Sea Mist still has plans to tear down the other buildings like they wanted to and to rebuild the new Sea Mist called Sea Mist Oasis. This was to be done in 2008 after the renovations, but it's on hold for a little longer thanks to the recession and real estate fallout in Myrtle Beach. Still, they will continue, and there is an owners meeting next March. As a condo owner, I can attend, and will be seeing what's up. Sea Mist has been a favorite establishment for people to stay for the last 50 years. This should tell you that it needs rebuilt. They were on time, but had to hold up. However, the two ocean front buildings I mentioned before were renovated and are awesome. You will also enjoy a movie theater, largest resort water park, on-site convenience store, great food including a breakfast buffet, walking distance to Family Kingdom Amusement Park, many pools, and great beach access. Don't listen to people about the pools and whatever else they say negative. Don't blame them. I would say the same thing if I stayed in one of the other buildings. It would make me be pissed off about everything. But, the Sea Mist overall is a great place, and your condo in those two buildings will be totally awesome. That is why you see 5's on here and then 1's. It's two totally different pictures. Plus, when Sea Mist, one of the most famous resorts in the area does rebuild, you should see even how much better it's going to be then. I'm going to be even happier I purchased a condo there. With real estate prices increasing in Myrtle Beach now for the first time this quarter, it's coming soon, and my investment and home is going to pay off HUGELY. Very satisfied.

Room Tip: Stay in the Tides or Driftwood Building. My condo is not on the rental program but many, and I mean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 428JesseL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I've been coming to the Sea Mist for over 20 years... It's old but very CLEAN, The view is Awesome we always stay in the Tides Building. The package we got for our Anniversary was a Great Deal!!! We received Breakfast, we received Dinner and let me tell you they have the BEST Places to eat on site! We also received a $20 Easy Cash Card as well as 2-Tks to the water park and 2- Drinks from the bar with the package. Parking was not a problem and the customer service and housekeeping do an amazing Job...... If you looking for a Hilton or a Hyatt keep on going! If your looking for clean and safe this is a Great Place to stay!!!

Room Tip: Tides Building is closest to the ocean..... We love the King Studio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClintonChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt Disney World, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The ONLY reason this was given a poor rating instead of terrible was because of the price and the people.They are friendly and housekeeping gives you more than you need! Now let's move on to the "resort" (and I use that term VERY lightly)Check in was ok,until we had to get our stuff inside, the so called luggage carts.They were horribly old and in dire need of a replacement!The tires would go flat and make them impossible to move.The elevator was small , slow and smelly.The room at first glance is OK.There were 2 beds in the main sleeping area and a little wanna be couch and a chair and a mini kitchen in the front room.This was SPRAY OCEANFRONT building.When booking I was reassured a NON SMOKING BUILDING with internet access, and I was not only l lied to, but they just don't give a hoot.EVERY SINGLE NIGHT the smokers in the building would stand in the enclosed hallway and smoke. When the AC unit was on it sucked air through the front door and brought all the nasty smoke with it.I called about this issue and nothing was done.The entire Myrtle Beach area was nothing more than a cesspool of overpriced tourist traps and under kept hotels.The banners and signs read"Voted America's #1 Family Beach"....Well America if you voted this place #1 then you really need to get out more.Because there are MANY better places than this , and as far as the "Resort" is concerned, 2 Words , Smoky Ghetto!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlaPhotoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is the third time, I have stayed at the Sea Mist Resort, each time has been awesome, the rooms are clean, the staff is polite and plenty of security around , I always felt safe.
Each time I have gone for Bike Week, there is a garage to park the bike and for the fall bike week, they have a very secure lot to park the trailer.
This Hotel is very accommodating to everyone, I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romano R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Would recommend but, lots of upgrades are needed to this hotel. Great customer service and housekeeping! The beach was pretty clean. The view was amazing. The hot tub room and pool needs ventilator or open doors, pretty fair parking.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibmsreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penderlea, nc
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Ocean front rooms with a great view. Clean rooms, courteous staff and well cared for. I like the fact that the room we were in had no carpeting - so much cleaner than other hotels we have stayed in... It was a pleasant stay and the ammenities are wonderous. Breakfast at their restuarant was great and as was the service. So much to do for a family with children and the location was perfect.

Room Tip: Love the ocean view with the balcony.. Sunrise or sunset - the view is breath taking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilslyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.2 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#138 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
688 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,826 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,097 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#21 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort

Property: Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort
Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4540
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 823
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 acres with 19 buildings and 800 units ranging from regular hotel rooms, to suites, cottages, penthouse, and apartments. Conveniently located at 1200 South Ocean Boulevard in Myrtle Beach close to all the local attractions, amusements, shopping outlets, and favorite restaurants. Specializes in family vacations, championship golf packages, Myrtle Beach adventures, and group travel. Has the largest selection of resort amenities in Myrtle Beach including the largest on-site water park with a 370 foot long, 7 foot wide lazy river, and a 3,000 square foot oceanfront children's activity pool. Multiple restaurants, tavern, arcade, underground walkway under Ocean Boulevard, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Mist Oceanfront Hotel
Sea Mist Myrtle Beach Sc
Sea Mist Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Motel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Sea Mist Oceanfront
Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach
Sea Mist Resort Sc
Sea Mist Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing