We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced, unfriendly front desk people”
Review of Island Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Vista
Ranked #4 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 16, 2006

The first words we heard from the girl at the front desk were -your balance is .no HI or welcome greeting .had to ask for clean sheets after four nights ,maid did not pick up trash 3 days.i don't know where the wide beach is ,at high tide there is none. Beach is very narrow ,the rooms are overpriced ,no discounts are offered for extended stays. the pool areas are cramped and there is very little lawn area,there are many places in myrtle beach that are much better, south winds and the new dunes resort just south of the sea island are a notch up.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank rjw212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,307 - 1,313 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2006

Just came back from a week (M-F) at Sea Island on the Beach in Myrtle Beach, SC.

The property is wonderful. We stayed in a 1-bedroom with ocean view and they were not kidding about the "ocean view" part. Rooms are cleverly designed with the bedroom by the interior door and the living space next to the balcony overlooking the ocean. From the 8th floor (where our room was), when you sat on the couch, all you could see was water. During high tide, the beach all but disappeared and the ocean was a mere feet away from the hotel edge.

Because we were there after busy season, Sea Island had guests but wasn't packed. The beach was great -- even after Hurricane Ernesto blew through the week before -- and the pools nice and clean. Lazy river is a little TOO lazy but the few little kids that were there seemed to enjoy it. No problems getting lounge chairs or elevators.

Either this place is BRAND new or VERY recently renovated. You could very faintly detect fresh paint in our room the day we checked in. Also, this is a place that functions as a hotel and as a condominium so some of the things that you typically find with a hotel aren't there. For example, there was nothing in the room with a "guide to the property" or even a "do not disturb" sign to hang on the door. (Which became an issue when one day the maid service showed up at 7:30 AM!!) No little gift shop to pick up sunblock or tacky souvenier. The outdoor bar does serve snacks, but won't take room charges or even credit cards. There is a restaurant inside but we didn't try it out.

All the renovations are very well done - the place is beautiful. Our one-bedroom had plenty of closet space and a huge full bathroom with great water pressure. Full kitchen has standard size fridge (with icemaker in freezer), full sink, full size dishwasher and enough plates, dishes, etc. to make do. Nicely thoughtful that the kitchen included both a cork screw and bottle opener. Towells were nice but for bathing purposes only -- bring your own beach towells if you go.

I understand there are 2, 3 and 4-bedroom units available, too.

We just went as a couple this time but are talking about returning with the whole family next season. Will definitely check out the availability at Sea Island on the Beach!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jode1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2006

We just returned from a 8 night stay at Sea Island on the Beach. Check-in was effortless and the staff were exceptionally friendly and outgoing. We had a large 12 passenger van and had to park in the front lot of the hotel. It was sometimes difficult to obtain a spot as many ignorant owners of small cars parked there to avoid the hassle of the parking garage. When we issued a complaint with the front desk one evening, there response was above and beyond what could be expected. They offered to allow us to park in the loading zone if a spot did not become available until ten o'clock. The next morning the manager of Sea Island phoned up to our room and offered an apology and explained that signs instructing cars to park in the garage were on back order. The staff also informed us that there was an area across the street where larger vehicles could park.

My family, which included 4 adults and 5 teenagers, aged 13 to 19, stayed in the 4 bedroom/ 4bath suite, type B suite. The room was extremely spacious and absolutely gorgeous. There was ceramic tile in the kitchen and hall and bathrooms and carpet throughout the rest of the suite. The large kitchen allowed for plenty of storage space. There were plenty of dishes and utensils for the nine of us. The suite we had is actually 3 bedrooms, and then there is an adjoining one bedroom studio suite. This room had an additional microwave and mini fridge which was perfect for the girls who liked staying up late each night. This room featured 2 double beds and a private balcony. The master bathroom had a whirlpool tub and a separate shower.

The pool area was large and there were more than enough lounge chairs to go around. We went at the end of August so it may be due to the time of our vacations, but the pool area did not become really full until noon or so. There were 2 large outdoor pools, 2 hot tubs, a fair sized lazy river, a jet pool, a small pool, and a kiddie splash pool. One of the outdoor pools is right in front of the tiki bar. When we were there, they were only accepting cash, but soon would be able to take room charges or credit cards. The bar and lunch menu items were fairly priced. Their strawberry daiquiri's were excellent!

The maids kept the place clean and were friendly. They didn't, however, ever leave enough towels. But, all we had to do was phone down to the front desk, and more were sent up promptly.

The location of Sea Island is excellent. Its on a quiet stretch of beach in a residential area. There was always room to toss a football around by the hotel without stepping on other people, which can be a problem in other areas of the beach. Sea Island was also close enough to restaurants and malls on Highway 17. A cab cost about 20 bucks from Tanger Outlets @ Hwy 17 back to the hotel.

So, overall, we will definately be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank pdot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2006

We spent six days at this beautiful hotel. Can't wait to go back. Everything was better than expected.

Stayed: August 2006
3  Thank mary594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2006

My wife and I enjoyed an 8 night stay at Sea Island in late August and absolutely loved it. Check in/check out was quick and painless. Front desk staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Maintenance staff and housekeeping were all friendly as well. Our one bedroom unit (with full kitchen, dishwasher, washer & dryer) was very roomy and well laid out. All units are ocean front and the balcony was large enough. Fairly large pool/tanning lawn area. My wife and I tended to stay near the north pool - more adults, less children, but the kids staying there seemed to enjoy the under-roof lazy river area at the sound end of the building. Earlier posts complained about the lack of lounge chairs, but this doesn't seem to be a problem now.The hotel is secluded in a residential area - not much traffic, great area to go for morning strolls. Easy access to both business and bypass 17 so consequently, getting around MB is a snap. Didn't try the dinng room. And yes, the parking garage is tight but not the nightmare some have made it out to be. This facility was well worth the money and we will definitely go back again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank JJ_McQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2006

The hotel was clean with a friendly staff. Our children enjoyed the many pools, and the lazy river. It was nice to have a washer/dryer in the room. The beach wasn't crowded as the closest hotel seemed to be Monterey Bay which was apprx. a mile away. There were some homes and condos around the hotel, but still, the crowd was the least I've seen. We've stayed at Monterey Bay, Sands Ocean Dunes, and Ocean Drive Beach and Golf lately, and this one definately surpasses them. The only thing I would like, would be a safe in the room. Location was in between Broadway, and Barefoot, w/ Broadway being closer. We really enjoyed Friendlys' Restaraunt. Will stay here again. Also has parking garage.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank shump76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2006

Check in 08/26 to 08/30 Got to the resort at 3pm and was told our room would not be ready until 4pm The lobby is very tiny and the Tikki Bar only takes cash. There was plenty of security at night & the staff overall seems to be pretty friendly. The parking garage is very dangerous honk your horn when you are coming around the turns. The pools are ok! except for the lzy river being under roof and having to dogde the oversize shower heads that would hit you in the face. Overall the resort & the rooms are very nice. I would go back, but next time I will wait when the kids return back to school. Way to much screaming and running and jumping in the pool areas & hallways.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank wachovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
2.7 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
2.4 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#6 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
2.6 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,071 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vista

Address: 6000 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2361 (Formerly Sea Island Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $90 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopened in May 2006, Island Vista features brand new luxury 1,2,3 and 4-bedroom suites set in a quiet residential neighborhood. These new facilities compliment the long established traditions of Island Vista - from a warm reception by our familiar friendly staff to a relaxed, unhurried atmosphere. Featuring award-wining dining in the oceanfront Cypress Room, indoor/outdoor water amenities, exercise rooom, oceanfront pool bar and grill (seasonally). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Island Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Vista Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing