We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Vista
Ranked #7 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lynden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a good experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

7 nights, 7 breakfasts, 5 rounds of golf with carts at an extremely competitive rate has made Island Vista a "go to" vacation resort that has kept us coming back year after year. From the helpfulness of the golf director who set up appropriate golf courses based on our handicap and set up the golf package to the servers in the breakfast lounge (especially Sam who cracked us up on a daily basis) and the food preparation staff who ensured we began every day with a breakfast WE wanted...this was another tremendous boon to a fun filled week. Don't be disappointed by booking elsewhere...Island Vista is the place to go.

Room Tip: If you're going down as a foursome I recommend the 3 bedroom unit with the adjoining single room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    247
    80
    43
    19
See reviews for
596
342
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Havelock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My husband and I went her for one night to celebrate his birthday. We had booked a one bedroom ocean front suite. Upon check in we were given the 3rd floor, much to my disappointment, as I like being as high as possible. They accommodated me with the 12th floor. We walked into our suite, which was a 3 bdrm and HUGE. I couldn't believe our luck! The living room opened up to a massive balcony with very nice patio furniture for up to 8 people. The master suite had private access to this amazing space. There were 3 full baths, one for each bedroom. The master had a large Jacuzzi tub which I thoroughly enjoyed! There were beautiful furnishings throughout. This was more like someones personal vacation condo than a resort. We made our way to the outdoor hot tub (after a fabulous meal in the restaurant) and enjoyed the off season privacy. I had to at least LOOK at the indoor pool area, which was NOT done justice by the online photos. This is one of the most romantic spots we've ever seen. My only disappointment was my short stay. I will absolutely be coming back, and with the kids.

Room Tip: This resort is in a beautiful residential area, a little far from the 'craziness' of the boa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Station
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in October and we really enjoyed it. We had a 1 bedroom Grand Suite and it was fabulous. It was very spacious and the views were unbelievable. We could watch the sunrise from the bed. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was our 3rd visit for a 5 guy golf trip and we all noticed that the place was starting to look a little tired. Paint is getting lots of marks. Carpet in room is buckling. Problems with the TV's. More dust than I remember. Restaurant still serves a great breakfast. Hot tub was too hot. We'll probably be back next year as it's still a pretty good place to stay.

Room Tip: Extra tipping for the cleaning staff doesn't seem to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FNIGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc A, Manager at Island Vista, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing the Island Vista! We welcome thousands of guests each year, and in the course of the busiest part of the year, a little wear does begin to show. For that reason, each year (and every year), all of our rooms and common areas are painted during the “off season” months... carpets are cleaned, stretched or replaced, and we normally begin these processes at the end of the summer season. We have been so busy this year that we had to begin much later than we normally do, but please be assured, we never miss a year… in fact, this year we have also replaced our living room furnishings with new upgrades, all of our mattresses, box springs and bases are new, and we have all new Egyptian cotton, from new sheets to our new duvet covers. Even the Cypress Room had an extensive renovation that has received much praise from our visitors. Many procedures are scheduled to maintain smooth operation, and enhancements of one kind or another are always planned… in all cases, they are efforts to provide our guests with the very best vacation experience available.

Time Warner’s technicians have recently been working in our area on their wi-fi service. As a result, our cable reception has been interrupted many times recently. We have contacted them requesting a statement that might benefit our guests with some helpful information regarding these procedures... we (and our residential neighbors) hope that they will have the issues resolved soon.

Thank you again for choosing the Island Vista... we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

It's "all good".....great ocean view, nice quiet neighborhood, clean room accommodations, and responsive staff. Our room was small but okay for the price and the time we spent in the room with refrigerator, microwave, and king bed. I was at this resort about three years ago in a two bedroom deluxe which was quite nice and more living space. Next time I will ask for a deluxe room on the 5th floor because the 9th floor was to high for me when looking over the balcony. It's worth it. I will definitely go back and ask for a deluxe room.

Room Tip: Ask for full oceanfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhittie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VistaFan, Manager at Island Vista, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about your recent stay at Island Vista. We appreciate your positive comments. Like you, many of our guests prefer the comfort of our spacious suites. We offer one, two, three and four bedroom suites, giving our guests lots of flexibility. Often extended family groups or even several couples choose to stay in one lovely and fully equipped larger suite so that they can relax together in the living room area and dine together in the larger kitchen and dining room. We are happy to provide a few of the smaller hotel room type units, as well, as some guests choose these because they don't plan to spend as much time in their room. Thank you again for your comments. We are delighted to hear that you plan to stay with us at Island Vista on your next visit to Myrtle Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I had been wanting to stay at Island Vista for some time. Fortunately, the opportunity presented itself. My husband and I visited in October 2013. The accommodations exceeded our expectations. The room was immaculate...My husband LOVED the mist feature on the shower. Food was excellent. We definitely look forward to our next visit. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
182 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Searched online & glad to have found Island Vista. Don't believe it was around on our last visit back "home" in 2006. Paid a little more for an oceanfront suite - miss the ocean/waves - especially at night. Leaving the patio door open is such a relaxing time. The smells & sounds are too. A not-so-busy part of the strand & around private residences we had more than enough space on the beach. Restaurant is really nice & the food priced-right for the establishment. Lots of room in the suite. Loved the small kitchen & stacking W&D. Bed linens & bathroom towels are perfect - soft, comforting. Decor is up-to-date & not only inviting, but makes you want to stay. Quite in-room. Kids love the pool, jacuzzi, & lazy river - indoors & heated (winter months)! Lots to do, including 2 uniquely-shaped outdoor pools. close to shopping. The worst part of our entire stay: it wasn't long enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CookerOfFaith40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#22 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,794 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
2.7 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
4.1 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vista

Property: Island Vista
Address: 6000 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2361 (Formerly Sea Island Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopened in May 2006, Island Vista features brand new luxury 1,2,3 and 4-bedroom suites set in a quiet residential neighborhood. These new facilities compliment the long established traditions of Island Vista - from a warm reception by our familiar friendly staff to a relaxed, unhurried atmosphere. Featuring award-wining dining in the oceanfront Cypress Room, indoor/outdoor water amenities, exercise rooom, oceanfront pool bar and grill (seasonally). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Island Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Vista Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing