We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sands Ocean Club Resort
Ranked #137 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Attended this hotel on a golf outing. Built in the late 1960's (I estimate), the best friend for this property is the ball of a wrecking ball.

Front Desk Staff - - surly, not rude but certainly not happy to see me and my $850.
Décor - Welcome to a time warp. Oh, they added ceramic to the lobby floor, but the dated nature and lack of cleanliness outweighs the improvement.
Rooms. NO service in the room - other than clean towels for FIVE days! Pathetic. Dingy, maintenance items galore, simply not maintained. Ours was a non smoking room - NOT. What a downer to have to walk in to that room each evening and smell the smoke.
Hallways - a disaster. Dirty filthy carpet, all white, scuffed up doors and walls, badly in need of paint and refinishing.
Already checked, you can get a much better room and hotel and golf package from Caribbean and many other resorts in Myrtle Beach.
River City Restaurant. Having a grill on site is great. BUT - the place is filthy, service is terrible. Spent the first 15 minutes listening to three employees talking about missing money from the till. As if it's any of the customers' business.! Likely this is a leased deal - owners of the building could do a lot better by getting rid of this lessee and finding a real operator for this captive customer base!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback.

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our resort. We hope that the front desk was able to rectify your issues before you left.

We would be happy to welcome you back at our other properties the next time you would like to come play golf! Thank you again for expressing your issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

We just stayed a week on the 10th floor, updated room, great view. Could use new carpet, and updated furniture and linens, other than that rooms were clean, maid service came every day. Food in Windows Restaurant and River Cafe was very good! Awesome Burgers! We enjoyed the music and the time we stayed here! Band was great. Great song list and played to the crowd. Impressed with the fact that many of the staff here has been around for many years. They were friendly and helpful. We were apprehensive after reading some of these reviews but glad we took a chance. Some of the rooms could use a face lift though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1spw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your vacation with us overall.

We appreciate your feedback and suggestions as we are always striving to improve our operations.

Please come again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Old building that is poorly maintained and dirty. Our first room smelled bad, carpet was torn, black spots on the bed and our feet stuck to the tile floor. Terrible room. We were moved to another room that was better, but nothing special. Housekeeping is terrible and the employees are cell phone zombies. They walk around starring at their phones and hide in out of sight places to text, etc. Maid service was sporadic at best. One day no towels, one day no coffee and you were lucky to get a bar of soap or the terrible shampoo. One maid did not wash our coffee cups, just put them back on the shelf.

Room Tip: The Executive Tower is better, but not much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dawg099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for your review. We apologize that the hotel interior was not up to your standards. We also apologize for the housekeeping issues and the rudeness of employees on cell phones.

We strive at Sands to accommodate our guests and will certainly look into these issues.

We do continue to improve our resort and we hope you will return for a visit in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Only live club on the beach, great golf packages, clean, some of the best burgers at the beach on premises, free afternoon hor'deuvres in a different bar.
Could use an update, but the price is right. Np doubt, we will return.

Room Tip: Great view from the sixteenth floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wildbillnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for spending your vacation with us at Sands and thank you for the honest review

We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope you return to one of our Resorts very soon.

We will continue to update our property as it is an ongoing process.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

In a short review: Very disapointed! They overbooked so we got a much smaller suite. The next day we finally got the one we booked, which had been booked many months before. The new room came with pass keys that didn't work, this had to be remedied several times that week, including a morning of waiting for them to install new locks. THEN, we discovered roaches! They sprayed twice to no avail. I would never stay there again! Sorry, but it was my only vacation and it was just one thing after another.

Room Tip: Don't book there at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suzy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

We thank you for your review.

First may we apologize for the room switch on your first day. Glad this was resolved along with the room key issue.

We are so sorry you had a problem with insects. Will you please email us your room # so we can look into this and have it remedied.

We do hope you give Sands Resorts another chance. We strive to make each of our guests happy and want to provide an enjoyable vacation experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Oceanfront room with a private balcony perfect for beach lovers. The room was a little dated but the restaurant was clean and had good food. Overall great experience and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickiinOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for choosing Sands Resorts and we thank you for your review

We are pleased your enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you return in the very near future

You are right about the balcony, NOTHING like an ocean view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have stayed at the SOC for the past several years, sometimes in a timeshare and other times renting units that are privately owned. We have not had very many issues with the units we have stayed in but the resort itself needs to do something about the maintenance and upkeep. When something breaks it takes an awful long time to get fixed. We rent a unit for three months during the off season and were without wifi for three days. Also some of the equipment in the gym was in disrepair and notified the front desk on the second or third day we were there. It took over six weeks to get someone in to fix them. The elevator in the parking garage is always on the blink and hotel elevators are so so. This is an old resort that does need quite a bit of work. They have been doing work on the outside but now need to get to work on the inside.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for your review. We apologize that the hotel interior was not up to your standards. We also apologize for the time it took to get the gym equipment fixed.

We strive at Sands to accommodate our guests in a timely manner and will certainly look into this maintenance issue.

We do continue to improve our resort and we hope you will return for a visit in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,651 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sands Beach Club Resort
Sands Beach Club Resort
#125 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Ocean Club Resort

Address: 9550 Shore Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5132
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $63 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Ocean Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 1, 2, and 3 Bedroom Condos with all the amenities, including spectacular ocean views from your private balcony and a spacious beachfront deck with indoor and outdoor pools, a lazy river and hot tubs, Sands Ocean Resort has everything you need for a great vacation experience without leaving the property. We are also home of the famous Ocean Annie's Beach Bar located on our oceanfront pool deck. For guests looking to explore Myrtle Beach's popular attractions, restaurants and shopping, or tee it up for a round of championship golf, Sands Ocean Club is only a short distance away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Sands Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Ocean Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Club Resort Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing