We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Just for the beach...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sands Ocean Club Resort
Ranked #137 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Charlotte,NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just for the beach...”
Reviewed August 16, 2008

Rooms were VERY old and outdated. Cleanliness was a problem. Live band played by the pool, which was nice, EXCEPT for at 11pm at night! If your room faced Annies Bar, you could barely hear the TV over the band. Dont plan on going to bed early. BRING EAR PLUGS. Our room did not get serviced for the ENTIRE morning. We put the sign up at 9am, and at 2pm, they were just getting there. We finally told them to leave us fresh towels and they could go. Elevators very slow and stop at practically EVERY floor!
Location is pretty good, on the beach. Definitely not a 3 star, which some web sites state!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcuarisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    225
    143
    169
    201
See reviews for
406
221
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colonial Heights
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2008

My husband & I stayed at the sands ocean club Aug. 7-10th. Once inside the room, I noticed how dirty/stained our sheets were. i called housekeeping & they brought more dirty/stained sheets! The carpet is filthy & really they need to do some major renovations.
The only positive thing is Ocean Annies. It is very nice to sit out on the deck & listen to the band.

  • Liked — ocean annies
  • Disliked — the filthy room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xrayang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2008

My fiance and I stayed at the Sands Ocean Club for a weekend while we were in town for a wedding. Our primary goal in our hotel was to be near the beach--and this hotel is perfect for that.

Are the rooms nice? No, they're not. The hotel is a bit of a dive. It's very outdated. And yes, there were some roaches. These things actually didn't bother me too much because it's a pretty good price to be right on the beach. Parking is free as well.

I never heard noise from the bar at night, even though we were right above it on the 2nd floor. I didn't think the clientele was especially shady or anything...lots of families with kids, normal vacationers.

If you plan on being in your room for any length of time, this hotel is not the place to be. But if you just need a place to lay your head after being out at the beach all day, this place suffices. Also, very convenient to have restaurants on site.

  • Liked — Location right on the beach
  • Disliked — Dirty, outdated rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hornedfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennslylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2008

We were excited to stay at the Sands Ocean club, when we arrived the lobby was very nice, the clerk at the desk that checked us in was very polite and full of information regarding the hotel. We got to our room after 6:00 p.m. that evening and the room was not cleaned, we had to call to have someone come to clean the room. It took them longer to get up to the room then it did for them to clean it.

There were several times during our stay that we did not get new towels, the dirty ones were left there and never replaced with new ones.

Ocean Annie's was the best part of the hotel, lots of fun dancing and enjoying all kinds of cold refreshing cocktails.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bassett5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2008

I am not sure where these other reviewers are used to staying. We had a wonderful trip. I was traveling alone with my daughter and felt safe and enjoyed staying here. I have stayed at various 5 star resorts in Myrtle Beach area and for the cost of this trip compared to those previous trips, I was completely satisfied. Sure there is a bar area, but you just avoid that area at various times. There is still plenty to do without worrying activities going on there. There was a lot of firework activitiy during our stay. That is completely beyond the motels control. They do not own the beach area and it is patrolled and monitored by the Police Department. We were greeted by a friendly person to help us unload and was checked in and in our room in 20 minutes. I am already making reservations and plans to return next year. One other perk was 4 free lunches each day served by a wonderful staff. Please remember that some of these reviews complain about customers and the motel has a limited control over behaviors. I was involved in some unappropriate behavion from another person staying there. I reported it to the front desk and one of the three security personnel took care of the problem to my satisfaction. The room was great, complete with a stovem microwavem and fridge.Our room was cleaned daily, Definitley stay here. I plan on returning.

  • Liked — Great staff and welcoming atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank robinson2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

We stayed four nights at the Sands Ocean Club in Myrtle Beach in July. We booked two rooms through Hotwire which is usually very reliable. Upon arriving at the hotel we were very disappointed at the state of the rooms and common areas. It was certainly not a 3 star hotel as listed through hotwire. There were strange odors everywhere, my wife did not remove her flip-flops in the room, shower, anywhere. Everything was dirty and smelly. The shower either had scalding hot water or icy water. The carpets and bed linens were stained and had many cigarette burns. There were crushed up crackers in the hallway for days and we found crumbs from a previous guest under the bed.

The atmosphere at the hotel is not conducive for children under 12. Foul language heard throughout the ground floor of the hotel near the two bars.

A positive is the free computers on the ground level; however, often the computers did not work or were extremely slow.

The beach is very nice, the air conditioning worked well, and the beach bar was fun. These positives were overshadowed by the dirty conditions that would prevent us from ever returning to this hotel or recommending it to others.

  • Liked — Location on the beach
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tunabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

If you like filth, constant drinking, slamming doors, fireworks on the beach all night, smelly odors, disgusting carpet and high prices, then you found the right place! Woo-hoo!

This place is an absolute dump. I think people drink constantly to stay drunk enough to forget the absolute filth in which they are staying and for which they are paying top dollar. Avoid this place - it is really the pits.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Smelly, dirty, loud
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Soccernut51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
6.4 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#138 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
688 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,388 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,954 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,822 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#12 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Ocean Club Resort

Property: Sands Ocean Club Resort
Address: 9550 Shore Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Ocean Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 1, 2, and 3 Bedroom Condos with all the amenities, including spectacular ocean views from your private balcony and a spacious beachfront deck with indoor and outdoor pools, a lazy river and hot tubs, Sands Ocean Resort has everything you need for a great vacation experience without leaving the property. We are also home of the famous Ocean Annie's Beach Bar located on our oceanfront pool deck. For guests looking to explore Myrtle Beach's popular attractions, restaurants and shopping, or tee it up for a round of championship golf, Sands Ocean Club is only a short distance away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sands Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Ocean Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Club Resort Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing