We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Not a Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sands Ocean Club Resort
Ranked #130 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a Nice Place”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The ads for SOCR are misleading. They are not in the heart of restaurant row. Limited food service on site. Have to drive to get to restaurants. Room we had was just OK. They do not have king beds and the WIFI did not function on the upper floors (per mgmt. at ck in). Great view of the ocean. Pool was adequate. Buffett breakfast was good. We did an exchange for our week to stay here--and will not do that again,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stallion083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    215
    137
    164
    187
See reviews for
386
212
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Room was not cleaned. had to call and get clean towels. Check out girl very very rude.she needs to find a job she likes because she is not suited for that one.if it wasn't for ocean Annie's we would not have stayed there and may not stay there again anyway because of the treatment.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

we checked in and I had some good and some bad reviews. The people seemed nice and the other reviews said it was old and it was old dark wood which had it's own charm. our room was a totally different thing we opened the door and we smelled must. the carpet was rumpled and water stained. the walls had been patched and stained. the ceiling was also water stained. The kitchenette was terrible. We made the decision to leave immediately. I want down to the desk and said we are leaving. They did not act surprised or even ask us what was wrong or what can we do. She just simply said you might be able to get your money back from wherever you made your reservation. please read the other reviews and do not go here.

Room Tip: at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mars1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The 2 bdrm unit we stayed in was EXCELLENT! Updated, clean, neat as a pin, good view of marsh, quiet. I highly recommend. We had all the fun of the Ocean Annies, and all the quiet time we needed. The amenities were great, I guess September or October are the best times to go - staff was very helpful. I already booked next year - same unit! 1019 - best unit we ever stayed in at this great resort.

Room Tip: Unit 1019 is excellent, updated, quiet, great large balcony and marsh view - LOVE IT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissONCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlstadt, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Gave SOC another try in September, just before my new home in Charleston. This hotel is in serious need to reburshing. Rust, mildrew, horrible odor, dirty carpeting, My room was old and needed cleaning and repair. Broken night stand, smelly shower curtain, gritty tub - I was afraid to step into it. Guests were rude and loud. Hotel staff had an "I don't care attitude". I have been coming to SOC for over 10 years and this year - 2 stays - I can say how disappointed I am that things have deteriorated so badly. Too sad!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bctw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was my second stay here and the convenience to Ocean Annie's is why. I like being able to walk down to hear the music and not worry about driving and parking. Last year I gave the Sands Ocean Club four stars, but this year I found the property just average. It is old and dated, but functional. The beach and pool are fine, just don't expect a lot from the rooms and you won't be disappointed.

The bath in my room was in need of a total redo. Nothing gross or non-functioning, just old. I spend so little time in my room when I'm at the beach, so it's not a big deal to me. I do like the location of the Sands to Barefoot Landing and NMB, but if it weren't for the live music of Ocean Annie's I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endicott, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We arrived for a wedding on the beach...The room was dirty as were the appliances in our room. The hotel Bar (indoors) had several fights while we stayed there. At least one was because of drunken golfers hitting on married women. The staff was not prepared for the amount of people drinking. On at least one day, we watched as drinks were continuously served to folks in the outside pool for several hours and miracuously most folks did not leave the pool during this time once to go to the bathroom. Not the hotels fault but still we never set foot in the pool. This hotel is past its prime and is in need to several updates to decks etc. The food was Bar food... not great at all. The breakfast buffet was so so, with the exception of the gentleman making the omlets...they were great

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,334 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#79 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
187 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sands Beach Club Resort
Sands Beach Club Resort
#107 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
229 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
#148 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Ocean Club Resort

Property: Sands Ocean Club Resort
Address: 9550 Shore Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Ocean Club Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 1, 2, and 3 Bedroom Condos with all the amenities, including spectacular ocean views from your private balcony and a spacious beachfront deck with indoor and outdoor pools, a lazy river and hot tubs, Sands Ocean Resort has everything you need for a great vacation experience without leaving the property. We are also home of the famous Ocean Annie's Beach Bar located on our oceanfront pool deck. For guests looking to explore Myrtle Beach's popular attractions, restaurants and shopping, or tee it up for a round of championship golf, Sands Ocean Club is only a short distance away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sands Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Ocean Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Club Resort Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing