We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Great Updates, But Not Our Usual Sands Experience...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sands Ocean Club Resort
Ranked #138 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed September 29, 2012

As loyal Sands Ocean Club visitors for the last 4 years, I must say, I loved this hotel the first time we pulled up to see the bell hop jump to greet us. However, our trip this week from Sun-Thurs with a superb Sands Loyalty Club rate in a remodeled oceanview effieiency was a bit of a mixed bag. Firstly, the desk staff is definately slipping...upon check in, I was greeted by a clerk who addressed me with, "Man, I am so tired and ready to get out of here!! Name, now?" OMG...Not at the Sands!! Told our room was not ready, we came back in an hour to a friendly clerk who checked us in with a smile...the usual type of Sands employee we're used to seeing. I also found maid service a bit lacking on 2 mornings, but not enough to complain about...just not usual Sands standards for off-season.
The remodeling of the popular Oceanview Efficencies in the main building (which really are oceanfront with an obstructed view left & right only) was less than I expected. There are new kitchens with stove top ranges (no ovens), granite coutertops, and new cabinetry. The bedrooms seemed to be newly carpeted and all bedspreads, beds, curtains, high table & chairs, lamps, etc were new. The flat screen tv and long, dressing mirror was also a big plus. However, sadly, the baths and other areas had not seen one lick of redoing, which they certainly could have used. To make these new units fully remodeled, I hope the Sands completes these improvements this winter. Wi-Fi is always great..never slow or down. The great pool deck and Ocean Annie's was a super as always as was the River City Cafe and Windows' fab breakfast buffet. The indoor pool could definately also use some upgrading, but it is not so bad as to be avoided, at all.
We always enjoy the Sands Ocean Club: it's in that great Arcadian Shores area, private, mostly populated with older couples, families with older children, twenty & thirty somethings & golfers, which makes for a good mix of clientelle. The beach is lovely with the point a short walk away and the Apache Pier for fishing just a 5 minute drive. Restaurants are mere minutes away as is the Tanger Outlet mall, Barefoot Landing, grocery stores, gas stations, etc.
We WILL be back...just hoping the Sands continue to offer their great Loyalty Club rates and do a bit more updating. This property could be a top-clas hotel...and, frankly, the Sands owes their massive amount of return clientelle a bit of a face lift.

Room Tip: Have loved the ocean view from every side of the hotel...the only downsize is the small deck areas i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ACH1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Check-in was OK. Bellman was very attentive. When I got to the room, I ask where are th beds? We were given a room with 2 fold out sofa beds. The room was also very small. I took one look at this room and said this will not do. Went back to front desk and ask for another room with a bed. That acted like I had just ask for the Moon. After about 5 min. wait they found us a room with 2 double beds. When we got to the room it smelled like mold and the carpet was a mess. We were very tired and just took this room. The ocean view was good. The bath room was dirty. Had sand on the floor and in the tub. There was water around the sink and the guest soap was used and so was the guest shanpoo. Glad I had brought my own. When I opened the door to the balcony the wooden handle fell off in my hand. The AC would not go below 72
, and when you opened the balcony door the AC would cut off. The indoor pool was dirty and the Hot Tub did not work as all. Bedding and towles were very old and should be trashed. NOT A GOOD EXPERENCE. I have worked in the Hospitality business for the last 20 years and I would be ashamed to rent such old decrepitted room to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1408Vitoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Room was dirty, bathroom had dirty guest towel hanging in the shower. Ceiling had stains - not sure if it was mold or something else. Beds extremely uncomfortable and bedding was old. Hotel needs renovations - outside is falling apart - overall not a good experience. Positives - the view from our room was good and the staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmc27101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband, daugher and I took an end of summer getaway to Myrtle Beach last month. We had a great time. Our suite had a phenomenal panoramic ocean view! The daily breakfast buffet was excellent with great service too. Our suite was spacious and clean. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissaaellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

If you have not stayed at Sands Ocean Club, make sure you make this resort your vacation spot for next summer. You are literally steps from the beach and ocean. Price is great. The only thing I have to complain about, is the indoor pool is not that nice, the outdoor pool is great, but indoor is not that appealing. Also the parking could be a lot better. Ocean Annies is awesome, great music. Before you leave, you have to go to WIndows restaurant for breakfast. You will have the best omlet made by Chef Thomas. He is the best and you will want to come back every year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalskdajfslkdflj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a time share condo. Unit was clean, no bugs, and maid service was fine. The pools & hot tubs were good. The beachside bar was hopping with bands playing all day. There were lifeguards on the beach. We enjoyed the location and would stay there again. No clue about value since it was a timeshare.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayrettatiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I booked this efficiency on Hotwire.com, so the rates were reasonable. Check in was effortless with plenty of bellmen to take your things to the room. Overall the staff was helpful. This place is older and some units are individually owned, as ours was. It is a little worn but it appears that they have tried to make some minor updates to the decor. Housekeeping staff need some serious supervision to ensure that the rooms are actually cleaned. We noticed an issue with the toilet leaking while housekeeping was here and she called for us. Maintenance took care of the issue, but left a broom and dustpan in our bathroom. The pool area and Lazy River are a little worn but nice to have on property. Good location, family atmosphere. This property has LOTS of potential but needs some serious updates to the decor and the appliances in the kitchenette. I'm not expecting something fancy as far as a kitchenette is concerned but everything is a minimum of 20 years old.

Carlos, our bellman, was VERY helpful, took our things to our room while we parked the car. I was looking for him to give him a tip and asked the other bellmen about his whereabouts. He called our room to ensure that we had all of out things.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSOLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach Hotel
2.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,946 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sands Beach Club Resort
Sands Beach Club Resort
#125 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Ocean Club Resort

Address: 9550 Shore Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5132
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $63 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Ocean Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 1, 2, and 3 Bedroom Condos with all the amenities, including spectacular ocean views from your private balcony and a spacious beachfront deck with indoor and outdoor pools, a lazy river and hot tubs, Sands Ocean Resort has everything you need for a great vacation experience without leaving the property. We are also home of the famous Ocean Annie's Beach Bar located on our oceanfront pool deck. For guests looking to explore Myrtle Beach's popular attractions, restaurants and shopping, or tee it up for a round of championship golf, Sands Ocean Club is only a short distance away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sands Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Ocean Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Club Resort Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing