We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we have stayed so far”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Ranked #62 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best place we have stayed so far”
Reviewed September 13, 2009

When looking at places to stay this time at MB we found that expedia was running a special to get a second night free on some hotels. This hotel was a little pricier than we would normally choose but it was worth the $90 you pay.
Everything seemed up to date, the elevators were smooth, the staff was very nice and professional (very hard to find at MB) and the layout and parking was very user friendly. They were all that they advertise.
Beds and pillows were very comfortable, no lumps.
The only issue that some might have is if you get an efficiency with the flat stove top there is no oven so if you pack food keep that in mind but I know that some have an oven.
They allow pets now but we didn't have any problem with the cleanliness of the room, noise or doggy mess.
It would be nice if they had a lazy river but there is an indoor and outdoor pool and jacuzzi. If we can afford to come here again we certainly will.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kshorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, September 15, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to read that you found the resort to be up to date and that the staff was very friendly and professional. I hope that you will come back and stay with us the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    645
    103
    76
    85
See reviews for
653
432
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We enjoyed our first stay at Oceanpark Resort. The front staff was friendly and accomodating. It was nice seeing others with their dogs as well. My only complaints were that we stayed for two nights and housekeeping forgot to clean our room while we were there. We had to bring our dirty towels downstairs and get clean ones. I think this should have been handled differently. Also, our sink was clogged and our bathtub was broken. However, our unit was very clean and smelled nice. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, September 15, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that the front desk staff was friendly and accommodating during your stay. I am sorry that the housekeeping staff didn’t clean your room during your stay. I hope that this won’t deter you from coming back and staying with us again. We would love the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

My husband and I (and our three kids, aged 10, 9 and 8) stayed at the Ocean Park Resort after fleeing the Quality Inn at 9:00 the night we arrived. It was the first place we found with affordable availability after an hour of searching the strip, so we took it knowing that it HAD TO be better than the Quality Inn.

And it was--MUCH better! Our room was on the 5th floor, with a kitchen, bath, living room and bedroom, and a balcony that looked out over the pool and the ocean. The air was nice and cold, the staff polite and helpful.

But the room we were in was very run down ... filthy carpets, springy (uncomfortable) beds. However, for the price we paid, which was around $130 a night, we felt it was an okay deal.

The telling factor is this: we would stay at Ocean Park again ... and we would recommend it, as long as you're not expecting the lap of luxury. The outdoor pool was nice and clean ... the large outdoor hot-tub was amazing. Plenty of parking. The beach just steps away.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolinaRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, September 15, 2009
Thank you for writing a review. I am happy to read that you decided to stay with us after you left your other accommodations and that our resort was much better than the other one. I am glad that you liked the pools and that the beach was only a couple steps away. I hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennesssee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Was very satified with complex building & grounds, hotel staff was great, maintenance staff was great, everyone at front desk was great. Our room number was 522, that is were the sad story takes place, carpet was very soiled, couch was soiled & springs shot, clothes washer made noises that only Michael Jackson could make, dryer stained our clothes, tub was coming apart and rubber gasket left marks on clothes, the staff came to our rescue and provide guess washer & dryer. Furnture would have been refused by Goodwill Industries, condo owners need to update , I understand and we didn't expect the best room, because of our pet, but this room had our pet believing that we were living in a big doghouse with nice curtain.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TennessseeReese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, September 3, 2009
Thank you for writing a review. I am happy to read that you found the staff to be great and that you were happy with the building and the grounds. However, I would like to apologize for the condition that your room was in. I have let the Home Owner Representative know so she can contact the owners and let then know what changes need to be made. I hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Not an awful place but not great either. Just ok. The hotel could use some renovations and at least a good cleaning. When we arrived in our room, I had to ask to have our room vacuumed again. There was food all around the beds and against the walls. It was taken care of, but it really shouldn't have happened. The walls are stained, trim around the door was chipped with many nail holes, carpet is old and needs replacing, the bathroom floor had what appeared to be watermelon seeds (I hope), the toilet seat was clean but the bottom near the floor was not cleaned, tub drain was very slow, the cabinets in the kitchen were dirty, bottom drawer of dresser was broken, beds were ok-- mattresses could use updating. Staff was very friendly and took care of what I needed. The beach view, accessibility to ocean, and pools were nice. Hotel states free wireless, but there is a $5.00 per night fee for wireless and safe.I got a great deal for the hotel so I guess you get what you pay for. I don't think I would stay here again as it is now. There are so many other places to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, August 27, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I would like to apologize to you since when you arrived in your room it wasn’t clean. I hope that the staff was able to remedy that in a hurry. I am glad that you enjoyed the view from your room and that the pools were nice. I hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

I will lead off with the negative because it has nothing to do with the hotel itself-a friend stayed in North Myrtle Beach and unfortunately going back & forth in summer traffic to her hotel or her coming to mine was a 30-40 minute hike....BUT when I arrived to my room I really didn't want to leave! It was a King OF room, had a kitchenette, full size refrigerator, etc. The view was spectacular from the 11th floor & the staff were friendly and accomodating.

This was my first time back to Myrtle Beach since my divorce. (I met, dated, & got married in Myrtle Beach) I really wanted it to be a good experience and more importantly a RELAXING experience. I am so thankful it was just that and more! I will definitely come back & recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a nice room without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micahisabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCMO
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Accommodations: Grandparents with two older teenagers and two small dogs, staying mid-week in a 3 bedroom oceanfront suite. The "room" was the size of a small apartment and included two bathrooms and a decent sized kitchen and front room. We were surprised to find a small washer and dryer located in the suite. All the furniture was updated and very comfortable. The teens were happy for the unencumbered internet access.

Amenities: Indoor and outdoor pools, kiddie pools, and two hot tubs, a small fitness center, and literally steps from the beach. The grassy area provided for dogs was good sized and kept up. Management provided waste bags to clean up after pets at both entrances to the pet area.

Service: One minor housekeeping issue when we arrived, but a call to the front desk brought immediate action and resolution. There were no other issues during our stay. Front desk assistance during check-in and check-out was courteous and informative.

Drawback: The only drawback was the limited number of elevators. There are only two accessible elevators for a 12-floor resort. As you can imagine during certain times of the day the wait could be a tad long.

If selecting Myrtle Beach to vacation again we would most certainly choose this resort.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jefe-Mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachbumz6000, Oceana Representative at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, August 24, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the size of the room and that the kitchen was a decent size. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools and the grassy area that is provided for the dogs. I hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Autumm Fenstermacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.5 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,956 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.2 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,834 reviews
7.3 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts

Property: Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Address: 1905 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our oceanfront Myrtle Beach resort features standard rooms and suites able to accommodate the needs of any guest. Featuring furnished private balconies, fully equipped kitchens, spacious living areas and guest laundry services, our accommodations feel like your second home. A great bonus is being able to bring your pet on vacation with you. We accept dogs, as long as they are less than 20lbs. Please call for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Park Hotel
Ocean Park Resort Myrtle Beach
Ocean Park Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing