We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Ranked #41 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Johnson City, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were very pleased with everything about the ocean park resort. The location was great. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the all of the staff were so nice and made you feel welcome. When they say pet friendly they mean it. We took our little dog and we all had a great time. We plan to go back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    640
    99
    70
    78
See reviews for
636
429
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Akron
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I had nervous butterflies in my stomach upon arrival, because the tripadvisor reviews for *every* Myrtle Beach hotel were all over the ratings scale. The Ocean Park Resort turned out to be terrific! The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the view... spectacular! Matthew, the Executive Housekeeper was extremely nice. Given that the hotel is very pet-friendly (Milk Bones upon arrival), the staff gets extra kudos for their incredible patience, humor and hospitality! They even have a "fake grassy area" for the dogs to use when we didn't walk them down the residential street across from the hotel. The woman in the pet spa obviously adores animals, and had a terrific manner -- we heard that she had groomed a monkey that same week!

We booked a dbl queen efficiency. The full size fridge even had an ice maker. There were 4 plates, 4 bowls, mugs, utensils etc.: very well equipped, and the hotel supplied the dish soap, dish cloths and drying towels too! They also provided coffee pkgs for the 12 cup coffee maker - really tasty!

We were in room 1114, and the balcony had shade all morning because of the larger balconies on the top floor above us. PERFECT for my husband to happily sit and read to his heart's content. From that height, we enjoyed watching the parasailing, the beachcombers and with the help of our binoculars, I also got to see dolphins!! The two elevators were in constant use, but we never had to wait long to ride one.

It was well worth the $35 for the week to rent an umbrella and two beach chairs. Beach towels are also available from the friendly pool attendant. We swam in the ocean, so never used the outdoor or the indoor pool/hot tub. The after beach showers (outdoors) were wonderful, especially the "foot wash", because it was perfect for rinsing off our two small dogs after their beach romp. Because we chose to travel after Labor Day, the hotel kindly allowed our two small dogs instead of the usual "only one per room"rule.

Not to be missed, the HUGE outdoor hot tub was amazing, and soothing, too! We met the Oceana pool cleaners more than once - again, very friendly and efficient.

We never missed not having a restaurant on-site, because MB has so many to choose from. Besides, the efficiency unit was perfect for our lite meals. No vacation is perfect, but this one came close!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is infested with mold! Our AC unit in the room was packed with disgusting mold and it was running full blast. Then this hotel is pet friendly, so you have fleas constantly biting you as you use the elevators which are always covered in a smelly like liquid which is possibly pet urine. This was the worst vacation ever.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blaze2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanaResorts, General Manager at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for letting us know that you were unhappy with your accommodations at the hotel. We were truly sorry to see you leave after such a very short time (less than 1 hour) but we are committed to customer satisfaction so it was our pleasure to fully refund your money.

I can assure you that our elevators do not have fleas, as there are no soft materials in which they can live. As for the urine in the elevator, they open up in front of the front desk. If there were a problem we would have noticed immediately and would have rectified it. Any mold you feel you noticed in your room or the property has already been addressed.

We do feel that if you would have stayed, you would have thoroughly enjoyed your stay and would have a different opinion of our property. We take great pride in not only meeting but exceeding our customers’ expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAY, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here the summer of 2011. Our first beach vacation trip with our small dog. The hotel was clean and the location was great. The dog area needs to be larger, but if everyone would clean up after their pet like they are suppose to, even the small area would not be an issue. We had no issues while staying here. A few days after we returned home, I was balancing my checking account and noticed an extra $150 charge from the hotel. I called them immediately to see what this was all about. The lady that answered informed me that the manager had made this charge because he said we smoked in the room. First of all the property is non-smoking and second of all none of us smoke. Even though I saw several people smoking on their balconies and I did smell smoke a few times from that. But when we left the room at check-out I did not smell any smoke. I told her all this and she said she would speak to the manager and for me to call back the next day. The next day I called back and she said the manager said the $150 charge was going to stick. I told her that this was absurd. My husband ended up calling the manager himself and the charge was dismissed. So, if we ever stay here again we will ask for a walk through with the manager at check-out time. This is what I suggest to anybody that stays here. I can't help but to think of the people that don't check to see if extra charges have been made to their credit cards and this hotel gets away with the extra money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TnBanditsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The staff was really great and friendly.(Especially Stephanie!) I had an issue with the bathroom sink and they had someone up within 20 minutes to fix it. Nice, clean balcony room. Had an indoor and outdoor pool and a whirlpool area downstairs as well. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnicoleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte , nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

we had a great time.everyone was nice and friendly.the pet lady,( sorry never got her name )
was great with our dog Fenway.couldnt have aked for a more pleasant experience. we will be back!! thanks again. marianne , paul and fenway <3

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marianne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. We were right on the beach, and what a beautiful view. The place is pet friendly also so we brought our little dog along on vacation. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.5 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.2 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
7.3 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts

Property: Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Address: 1905 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our oceanfront Myrtle Beach resort features standard rooms and suites able to accommodate the needs of any guest. Featuring furnished private balconies, fully equipped kitchens, spacious living areas and guest laundry services, our accommodations feel like your second home. A great bonus is being able to bring your pet on vacation with you. We accept dogs, as long as they are less than 20lbs. Please call for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Park Hotel
Ocean Park Resort Myrtle Beach
Ocean Park Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing