We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Wonderful vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas
Ranked #147 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Madison Heights, Virginia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in tower 2 on the 10th and 11th floors, views were wonderful, daily maid service, condo was very clean,bedding was like new all furniture was updated including the floors. The children and grandchildren had a great time with the 2 water parks, the boat ride with the dolphins was really cool. We had ate at the brass rail and the food was really good for the price. breakfast buffet is so so. The amusement park off site is not suggested by us.....however everything else we did was truely a great vacation !!Can not wait to come back again for the holidays !!
Only people we heard complain were people that used and off site rental company because they did not get all the perks but they paid less....you get what you pay for.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    125
    106
    106
    277
See reviews for
434
131
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Let me preface this review by saying that I rarely take the time to write reviews for any hotel/company unless it significantly exceeds my expectations or fails miserably to meet my expectations. Ocean dunes falls into the second category. I booked this hotel because of it's location but the place is an absolute dump. The common areas are completely trashed, they smell badly and look like they have not been cleaned in years. The actual room was dirty, had roaches, dust bunnies and stains in various places throughout the room.

I asked for another room and was offered one that was in even worse condition. It then became
obvious to me that no room at this hotel would be acceptable for my wife and I. We felt dirty simply standing in the room so we left without spending the night.

Trust me, you can find something much cleaner for about the same price so don't waste your time with this place.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Columbus,WI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have been to Myrtle beach 6 times in the past six years and have yet to find a decent ocean front hotel. So where I would normally give a hotel like this a damning review, at Myrtle Beach this hotel is like all the others. The room by itself was livable but the virtually every other part of the hotel is bad. Chunks of stucco are missing, steel room doors covered with rust flithy, smelly carpet everywhere. Think Chicago projects in the 1970's minus the graffiti. If you can look past the condition of the rest of the hotel and bring some Lysol wipes to clean all the surfaces of your room you will enjoy beautiful views and easy access to the beach.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for the ,"ocean front" room instead of the ocean, "ocean view&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LewisG148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Be careful when booking a room. I searched for a 1BR Suite. The price for my six night stay came to $331.80. I proceeded with the reservation, but when I clicked "Book Now", the price changed to $779.10 plus $185.27 resort fees for a total of $964.37. That is almost triple the price. I decided to look somewhere else.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank SigBust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We made a reservation via web site on 8/15/2013 @9:30 pm for check in on 8/15/2013-8/18/2013.due to traffic and bad weather condition we did not arrive until after12:45 am that night. We checked in then set off to find our room 5106. We were told it was across the parking on the first floor. We had to walk up and down the side walk in the rain to find the room that was unmarked no room number on door and the little sign that marked the rooms were missing.after we count down rooms and tried to get in one other door no luck wrong room,we tried the next and the door open then the next door opened also. Finally we found our room. As we entered the room it felt damp but not a big deal it was raining out.put our bag down turned on more light notice room was very dated not a big deal but we also noticed the stains and food crumb crackers cookie something on the floor, at this point we just wanted to go to bed after being stuck in the car for more than 12 hrs! Pulled the blankets off to find the sheet not on the bed properly and dirty orange crumby hand prints on the under side of the comforter. Looks like some on sleep there eat in bed and the maid just came in and made up a dirty bed son was laying down in the other bed and notice black mold dust spider webs growing on the heater/air vent and across the ceiling and down the top part of the wall. He was told to get out of the bed right away ,as he got out of the bed he said the floor was wet. It was soaked we also noticed dead bugs on that side of the bed between the bed and the wall Other son went into the bathroom only to come out to tell us it looks like someone showered in there dirty towels and dead roaches were on the floor,wet tub and shower. We got our stuff put in in the car and went back to the front desk where we proceed to check out the front desk clerk did offer us another room but with so much wrong in one room we were not going to take that chance,with all the gross and disgusting stuff that we could see in just a few minutes we didn't want to look at anything else! We checked out and asked for a full refund and we were told we did-not cancel in the allotted amount of time.we only booked 3 hour prior to arrival for 3 nights, front desk clerk stated they charged a cancellation fee for cleaning purposes this room was not cleaned after the last guess checked out or before we checked inn and it has not been maintained in years,we were told we would need to call the manger Sandra the next day she would be in after noon We left over 6 messages in the last 5 days with no return calls.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dh464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The Location And The View Were Great, But The Rooms Were Filthy, Disgusting And Moldy. The Housekeeping And The Customer Service Are Also Horrible. They Don't Clean Your Room Unless You Ask For It, They Don't Provide Towels Unless You Beg For Them. The Main Response You Get When You Request Towels Is " We Are Waiting On The Truck Of Towels To Come In". You Have To Bring Your Room Towels To The Fitness Center (Although You Can Hardly Get Any) Bcs They Don't Provide Them There. Don't Ask For A Manager Bcs He Or She Is Always "Busy". Don't Ask Housekeeping To Come Back In A Few Minutes Bcs The Answer Is "I Will Try". The water Park Is Nothing Like It Looks On The Pics, The Wild WAter And Wheels WaterPark Is Nice But About A 20 Minute Drive. IfYouWantToGetOnThe Sightseeing Boat, You Have To Reserve Before You Check In Bcs They Book A Week Out. Thus Place Is Definitely Not Worth Your Money!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsYb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

/the location of the Ocean Dunes resort is ideal for beach lovers. My goddaughter and I had an oceanfront hotel room, which provided us with a balcony view of the ocean – that was lovely! The beach was clean and well cared for and we were able to walk on 2 - 3 miles of white sandy beach every day. Several stores - convenient, grocery, clothing, liquor, etc., were in close proximity to the resort and we had fun at the resort's water park. Thank goodness for that- as the majority of our stay at the hotel itself was hampered by the extremely poor management of the resort overall and the horrible service provided to us by front desk and housekeeping staff. Initially, we were optimistic for a positive stay as we were picked up at the airport by the resort's van driver, Tony. He was wonderful! Providing us with helpful information and highlights of the Myrtle Beach area as we drove from the airport to the resort. However, at check-in we were greeted by an individual who was obviously not pleased to be at the front desk, providing us with no helpful information or clear direction on the resort's various amenities that were available at the resort. Our room, which was supposed to accommodate four individuals, consisted of two double beds – which clearly could not accommodate four adults. Housekeeping staff were unresponsive - on 2 occasions we had not received clean replacement towels, we never got replacement coffee cups, creamers etc. and the manner in which they cleaned the room was marginal, at best. Our complaints regarding the housekeeping service went unanswered and we never received a response from the housekeeping supervisor. When the front desk was advised of any problem with the physical plant or room, i.e., the elevators skipping the 3rd floor,a request for an additional blanket for the room, etc. either a negative response was given or some absurd response such as "only 1 blanket is given for each bed". The most positive things about the resort were the restaurants – the Brass Anchor for breakfast was wonderful, Mangoes for dinner was enjoyable and the River Café and Martin's restaurant were a short different distance away from the resourt were most enjoyable - the wait staff at all the restaurants were excellent. The bell captains, Tony, Dwayne and Greg, were accommodating and extremely helpful. It's regrettable that the resort, which could obviously have a lot of potential, has been allowed to be managed by apathetic staff with poor "people skills". I hope to return to Myrtle Beach and will even attempt to stay at another Sands resort, but definitely not the Ocean Dunes Resort!

Room Tip: Read all the reviews prior to booking - and, if you stay at this resort - you must request an ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScorpioLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#21 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,093 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#72 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,415 reviews
3.5 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
#150 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas

Property: Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas
Address: 201 75th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#84 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Dunes Resort & Villas Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Dunes Myrtle Beach Sc
Ocean Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing