We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great As Always!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mystic Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mystic Sea Resort
Ranked #124 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Waynesboro, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great As Always!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just finished up another year at this hotel and it gets better and better. They've really cleaned up the ocean front rooms with new paint and carpet. A lot of the same people come back so it's like one big family here. The staff is great and very helpful.

I can never understand the bad reviews; I can only assume that people are expecting 5 star quality for a cheap rate (is never going to happen anywhere) or they totally have this hotel mixed up with another (and since there are several with similar names, that would be understandable). The only upgrade I would like to see is wifi for the ocean front rooms; a wifi extender would probably help with t

Will be booking again for next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stratcat45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    42
    17
    21
    28
See reviews for
56
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I would have to say this has been one of the most memorable family vacations! The staff were absolutely wonderful. I had many questions before arrival because of the bad reviews and everyday they checked in to see how everything was going and if I needed anything...top notch service! We were there for the beach and not a room so for those of you looking for a 5 star room look somewhere else and waste your money! The motel was small but you could sit down by the pool and and visit with everyone and not be just be in your own balcony. They do not have balconies but all of their rooms open to the outside and you have either a bench or 2 chairs for you to sit outside of your room. Yes there were a couple of big bugs that came in but were harmless ( it is warm and humid there so expect bugs )! The pool was cleaned every morning around 7:30 and if there was a lot of sand they would clean it again in the afternoon. The parking lot is very small but you can park across the street in the other parking lot for the other building they own. We don't like our cars parked where we can't see them but we didn't want to fight for a spot so parked across the street every night and they have security that drive around checking nobody is breaking in. If we lived only a day away we would go every year!

Room Tip: 324 was our room. Ocean front and top floor. Rooms were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iceberg2161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Decided to stay in town another night and needed an inexpensive place to stay. They gave us a great rate, let us check in before 11am at no addional cost. Front desk was friendly. Enjoy the look and feel of the room. Spent a lot of time at the pool which was well taken care of. We would definately go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Have been staying with these people when they had the apache years ago and moved to the mystic sea when they purchased it. Every year we were told they were going to remodel and every year when we came back the updates were never done. Would not go back, it just got to run down and dirty for my family. We had a large group of friends that met there every year and because of the poor conditions we have all found other places to stay. I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 97hdfatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Albany, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This motel/resort has much work to be done on it. They could do alot more for the place if they just replaced a bunch of things. Like Drapes, bedspreads, rugs, etc.The furnishings are old. Dressers are from the 70's and much of the appointments are too. The outside is deceiving, it looks quite nice, and updated but not the inside rooms. First of all, the owners arent very friendly, the pool and hot tub never really looked clean, the returned on the pools didn't work very well. Inside the rooms were less than updated. We have stayed here before and every year I think that it will be updated and it isn't. My friend who stayed next door found bugs in her stove. Don't know what kind but don't need that!!! Our showers and tub leaked and was all over the floor, and black water came up in the drain, uuugh. So we will find another place to stay at. Not mb either, we decided that it is not what we want in a vacation, we like peace and quiet, not crowds and sirens, and may I add Helicopters going over ever five minutes, there is a business that has helicopter rides for $20 , and its located right near the Mystic seas motel, so if you want to lay on the beach or lawn area, its NOISY! We will go somewhere next year. We also paid 1,100 dollars for 2 weeks, that isnt alot of money, but you get what you pay for. Also the WIFI was terrible, I picked up the signal from a nearby hotel next door instead of where I was staying!

Room Tip: Higher floors tend to be more private, we stayed in an ocean front next to the pool, it was not priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetheocean076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

my family has stayed here many of times. you meet the best people from all over the united states and canada. this is a top of the line resort. from front desk to cleaning staff and security staff, very friendly always willing to help with anything.most people are return guest year after year then start bringing more family and more friends. always clean always friendly see you all in july if not sooner dan schuyler greenfield indiana

Room Tip: side room are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollyshuyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I shared a room with my parents for 5 nights at this hotel. It is a small hotel compared to the huge ones that surround it. We had a coupon from the visitor center of SC, which offered a discount. We paid only 70 dollars a night for the 3 of us. When we decided to stay an extra night after the 4 we already spent, we only had to pay 20 dollars for the extra night. This was because of some special price they had for 5 nights. They did not have to do this, very nice of them!

Front desk was friendly, there were benches in front of the rooms where you could sit and have a smoke. Plenty of chairs on the lawn facing the beach. The pool was a bit small (and cold), but the ocean was amazing. One downside is that they do not have many umbrella's, but I guess you can buy a cheap one yourself.

I would stay here again, it is very clean and affordable

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smattijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#152 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#92 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropical Seas Hotel
Tropical Seas Hotel
#114 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#73 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
7.1 mi away
Affordable Suites Myrtle Beach
Affordable Suites Myrtle Beach
#90 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluewater Resort
Bluewater Resort
#132 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Sea Resort

Property: Mystic Sea Resort
Address: 2105 South Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mystic Sea Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mystic Sea Resort is an award winning resort located on theoceanfront in the heart of Myrtle Beach. We are a small resort that offers a wide range of affordable room types, from 1 bed units to 2 bedroom condos. We won the Myrtle Beach chamber of commerce's image award for the quality and style of recent renovation that upgraded a smaller resort to a level not seen in the larger more impersonal resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Mystic Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic Sea Hotel Myrtle Beach
Mystic Sea Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing