We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best in Myrtle Beach!”
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
Ranked #17 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Statesville, N.C.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best of the Best in Myrtle Beach!”
Reviewed September 13, 2009

My wife and I have been staying at this hotel for eleven years. It gets better each time. The resort is clean and offers many ammenities. All of the resort staff are freindly and helpful. Their true ambasador is Maggie in the Cafe Du Port. She is an absolute ray of sunshine. She always remembers you and has the most fantastic personality. The breakfast buffet in the Cafe Du Port is not to be missed. The rooms are very adequate and are cleaned daily by a very professional staff. The only downside to the rooms are the extra firm beds. Other than that, they are great. Parking at the hotel can be tricky. The main parking is across the street. If you get back too late in the evening you may have to park in the parking garage or the overflow lot a block away. The Resort is in the northern end of the beach and therefore offers couples a quieter experience than staying in the downtown area. The beach is clean, tranquel and just perfect for long walks. There are plenty of pools, hot tubs and lounge chairs to accomodate all of their guests. The staff works hard daily to keep them clean. The resorts' location is also very convenient to grocery shopping, good restaurants, entertainment and the Tanger Outlet on the north end. The price cannot be beat for this resort. We stayed from Sunday to Saturday in an oceanfront efficiency for under $500.00 the week of labor day. The room has two queen beds, flat screen TV, refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, pots, pans, dishes, a large bathroom and a private balcony with an unobstructed view of the ocean. (Here is a hint: request a room on the odd numbered floors. They have open rail balconies while the even numbered floors have a solid wall balcony. If you want to sit, relax and watch the water the odd numbered floors are where to be). Overall, the Ocean Reef Resort is the best of the best in Myrtle Beach. That is why we go back year after year and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,610
    987
    321
    134
    100
See reviews for
1,595
704
65
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Before choosing this hotel I surfed the web for a week trying to get the best rate for the best hotel. I'm so glad I found Ocean Reef. When we arrived we were able to check in 2 hours early, the room was clean and spacious, the balcony was huge, the kiddie pool was awesome, the staff was very friendly and visibly working to keep the hotel presentable. The was a constant effort from the staff to smile or acknowledge you. The layout of the hotel was great very easy to get from your room to the beach and the elevators ran at a nice pace. There was soooo much for the kids to do right at the hotel. There are kids activities, outside giant checker and chess sets, air hockey shuffle board, an arcade room a pool with a basketball hoop just so much more than I expected for such a great price. There were two things I could say bothered me...the room smelled musty but opening the balcony door helped and the shower drained out so slow we almost had a tub full of water. When we called to report it, maintenance was there within minutes to fix it so that made it not really an issue. When we checked out they called housekeeping on the radio to confirm if our room was left without damages and gave us the 100.00 deposit without hesitation. We were so impressed by this resort we called family members and have all decided to come back next year for a big family vacation. We looked at other rooms before we left the premises and have decided on the four bedroom condo which looks like a penthouse to me. Great job Ocean Reef! Please keep up the good work so we won't be dissappointed or embarassed for bringing our whole family next year.

Pete and Lisa H.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLTLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Very nice place. Staff was super nice and helpful. Great anneminitys, beautiful place. Will definitly stay there again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntoteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

This has become our hotel over the years. We have visited this hotel 3 times and will return to it every time we visit Myrtle Beach. We always have a wonderful time here. We visit Myrtle in the end of September or early October the weather is perfect and the beaches are not crowded. We enjoy the lazy river, outdoor pool, poolside bar and of course the ocean. It has a nice kids play area for those with kids. The location of this hotel is wonderful as well, it's not to far from Broadway At The Beach or Barefoot Landing our two favorite places. The hotel room is always neat and clean and who could beat the view from the ocean front rooms. The parking is not bad either, across the road is parking and there is also a garage next to it for the guests. The hotel beside Ocean Reef also has a Starbucks which is nice to have one so close. We love coming to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone who just needs a nice, clean and friendly place to stay while enjoying their Myrtle Beach vacation.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mufinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnton, north carolina
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2009

we had a wonderful vacation at the ocean reef resort. my husband hates hotels, but this hotel was clean, service was great and the pools were awsome. we hope vistit again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsisgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

I would highly recommend the Ocean Reef Hotel Resort for a vacation. Located right on the beach, quiet location, but near lots of restaurants, activities and shopping, (outlets, wahoo). Great hotel for couples and families. We were on the 17th floor with a beautiful view of the ocean...room was clean, large and comfortable. The front desk staff was absolutely wonderful, friendly, funny and very informative especially Jennifer....the buffet breakfast had much to offer and was delicious.

The only down side to this hotel that we found was the bathroom by the pool needed more daily upkeep, it had a tendency to smell....and their was no computer access for guest....(I wanted to confirm my reservations with my airline and check my baggage but I had no access).

I would highly recommend this hotel and would not think twice about going again next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuteandcuddlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, NC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

We spent five nights here last week and enjoyed our stay. Our room was a bit dated, in all respects, but it was clean, which is a must for me. We were on the second floor, but still had a good view of the beach. Breakfast in the dining room was good, but would have been better if the cook would leave off some of the garlic in the potatoes and corned beef, I think. Also would have been a better experience if we hadn't heard the older ladies running the place quarreling about one of the waitresses stealing tips and such three of the four mornings we ate there. Pools were very nice and the staff working there was very nice and seemed to be working all of the time, as opposed to our one night at Dunes Village, which I believe is owned by the same folks---the pool staff there clowned around more than working. Got a great AAA rate on this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#29 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,866 reviews
3.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#48 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,972 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
4.0 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#31 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
4,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Resort
Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing