We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Family Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
Ranked #22 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Family Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We recently stayed at Ocean Reef for a 5 night family vacation. We had a 3 BR penthouse suite - furnishings were basic but in good condition (large kitchen table, couch, side chairs, desk, tvs in each BR and LR). Plenty of living space. The carpet does look like it should be replaced soon but everything was very clean. I thought the beds were comfortable. The view was amazing - we were on the 15th floor. On arrival I noticed we were missing several kitchen items (ex. baking dish) - I notified the fron desk and items were brought up the next morning (as requested). All the staff we encountered were friendly and very professional. The pool area is a bit crowded and lounge chairs are very close together. We did not have a problem getting chairs but you needed to be by the pool by around 10am to do so. There are also a lot of lounge chairs in a grassy area overlooking the water - there did not seem to be any problem getting these spots. Very easy access to the beach - from what I understand the town rents umbrellas and chairs. I would suggest bringing your own if possible and consider bringing or buying beach towels - the ones supplied by the hotel are very small. We bought towels and a large beach blanket from one of the numerous places that sell them. The hotel has a lot of kids' activities - volleyball, 'giant' checkers and chess and ping pong and also a game room. There are separate pool areas for kids - lazy river, slide, water attractions. We did not eat at the hotel but saw a lot of people at the breakfast restaurant. You are also able to get food from the lounge (can get it to go - menu had burgers, wings, club sandwich, nachos, etc.). Any restaurant you can possibly imagine is down there. We bought groceries and ate in a lot but also went to Denny's, Greg Norman's and Landrys. Highly recommend you spend some time at Broadway on the Beach. We also went on a casino boat ride (Big M) - we had fun - it's 5 hours so a bit long if you do not gamble, (slots, table games, buffet). There are lots of places for mini and 'regular' golf. Husband played the Legends course and really enjoyed it. I would recommend Ocean Reef to others.

Room Tip: A bit pricier but the view from ocean front rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear AMackay,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and you very accurately touched on all our amenities! Our team truly appreciates all your wonderful comments and we look forward to greeting you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,426
    887
    280
    117
    84
See reviews for
1,385
607
58
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

A nice place for the family. Had a lot of fun at the pools, and lazy river. The only down fall to my stay was the TV's were out dated. Need to update the rooms. I know they are working on that. Would I stay again? Oh yes, one of the best on the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a great view of everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bgjohnson1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear BgJohnson1955,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Feedback from valued customers like you is greatly appreciated as we are continuously looking at ways to improve. Our team truly appreciates the wonderful comments and we look forward to greeting you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Ocean Reef was a great home away from home place to stay. We enjoyed everything there. Wish we had chosen an efficiency room but will know better next time. Plenty for the kids to do. Loved all the hottubs! We didnt even realize we had an exercise room til the day we were ready to leave! The landscape was exceptionally nice. Plenty of lounge chairs at the pools and in the yard. Great place to stay. We will definiately be back!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Candace A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! We are thrilled to hear how much you loved your stay. Our team truly appreciates the 5-star rating and we look forward to greeting you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

My family comes to this resort every year for the past 11 years and every year it's a wonderful experience. The decor has been updated in the rooms since last year, the beach is well lit at night, the pools/hot tubs and hallways are always kept tidy. A wonderful place to stay!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raeray999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear raeray999,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our team truly appreciates all the wonderful comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

I love ocean reef, I'm definitely coming back every year to stay there! The staff and my overall experience was amazing and I'll always keep coming back to stay at the ocean reef resort! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Sarah P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! We are thrilled to hear how much you loved your stay. Our team truly appreciates the 5-star rating and we look forward to greeting you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We thoroughly loved our stay at Ocean Reef! After much research of hotels and condos, we decided to book Ocean Reef and were so happy that we did. Our room on the 17th floor (which is the best floor!) was so spacious, clean and had updated furniture and a gorgeous view of the ocean. In fact the entire hotel looked clean. The restaurant is cute with a veranda and garden area where you can eat breakfast while being oceanfront. Our only complaint which is minor is that our housekeeper failed to give us sheets for the pull out bed a couple of nights in a row. But a simple phone call fixed that. And, if you're wanting to get beverages and food poolside, they tend to get a little swamped and you have to be patient for service. Other than that, we had a FABULOUS time! We will definitely consider Ocean Reef on our next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: !7th floor of the hotel is the best! Only 5 rooms on this floor, so very quiet and pretty with windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Heidi H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! We are thrilled to hear how much you loved your stay. Our team truly appreciates the 5-star rating and we look forward to greeting you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I read a few reviews on the hotel before booking and at first was a little apprehensive because of a few negative comments yet I decided the good comments outweighed the bad and I just knew that my boys would enjoy this place. I do not regret the decision at all, in fact it was a pleasure. The staff was always helpful and courteous and there were so many ammenities and easy access to the beach that everything was easy and fun. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Divinemailliw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#31 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,723 reviews
7.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,747 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.5 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#27 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Resort
Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing