We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Reef Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Reef Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 35% Today
Ranked #18 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

I love ocean reef, I'm definitely coming back every year to stay there! The staff and my overall experience was amazing and I'll always keep coming back to stay at the ocean reef resort! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Sarah P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! We are thrilled to hear how much you loved your stay. Our team truly appreciates the 5-star rating and we look forward to greeting you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,402
    857
    267
    112
    78
See reviews for
1,318
598
58
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maineville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We thoroughly loved our stay at Ocean Reef! After much research of hotels and condos, we decided to book Ocean Reef and were so happy that we did. Our room on the 17th floor (which is the best floor!) was so spacious, clean and had updated furniture and a gorgeous view of the ocean. In fact the entire hotel looked clean. The restaurant is cute with a veranda and garden area where you can eat breakfast while being oceanfront. Our only complaint which is minor is that our housekeeper failed to give us sheets for the pull out bed a couple of nights in a row. But a simple phone call fixed that. And, if you're wanting to get beverages and food poolside, they tend to get a little swamped and you have to be patient for service. Other than that, we had a FABULOUS time! We will definitely consider Ocean Reef on our next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: !7th floor of the hotel is the best! Only 5 rooms on this floor, so very quiet and pretty with windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Heidi H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! We are thrilled to hear how much you loved your stay. Our team truly appreciates the 5-star rating and we look forward to greeting you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I read a few reviews on the hotel before booking and at first was a little apprehensive because of a few negative comments yet I decided the good comments outweighed the bad and I just knew that my boys would enjoy this place. I do not regret the decision at all, in fact it was a pleasure. The staff was always helpful and courteous and there were so many ammenities and easy access to the beach that everything was easy and fun. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Divinemailliw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Great place to vacation ! Everything was clean. Well organized. Check in was a little slow, but there were 100 people checking in at the same time, so it was to be expected. Loved the water slide and pool and lazy river. Staff was excellent.

Room Tip: Spend the extra for Ocean Front, beautiful view every morning !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Roland N,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! Our team truly appreciates the 5-star rating and we look forward to greeting you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Can't wait until next year I will be back. My kids love the beach and pools and the slides was really fast we are really looking forward to next year. And the ocean front view was so great that I didn't want to leave that ocean front view for nothing. And the staff was so friendly that they treated you like family. That was my first time there and it want be my last.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank defont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed for a mini vacation and my family loved it! Even with the hotel being fully booked we didn't feel like it was overcrowded. There is plenty of parking around the hotel. The pools are opened from 9:00 until 11:00. The staff are very friendly and we can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terreque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayme24, Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Terreque,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and more importantly, for choosing to stay at Ocean Reef Resort for your vacation! We are thrilled to hear how much you loved your stay! Our team truly appreciates the 5-star rating and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jayme Tyndall
Evening Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

While there was nothing terrible about this hotel, there was also nothing spectacular about. It looked just like every other cookie-cutter 70's era resort hotel on Ocean Boulevard. Nothing made it stand out.

Downfalls of the hotel:
1) Slow check in process. Front desk was extremely understaffed (3 employees for 6 stations). Front desk staff would disappear for ten minutes at a time. This was not just related to check in, but everything that needed to be done at the front desk (unless it was 10:30 at night).

2) Slow/non-existent WiFi. If a hotel promises WiFi, it should be, at minimum, usable in all the rooms.

3) Unhappy staff. One employee was sent out to clear the pool area due to inclement weather and, after fielding a comment from an unhappy customer, exclaimed "I don't care about you, I'm just doing my f-----g job."

Re: Banana Boat Pool Bar...I would not recommend ordering a drink here. They are overpriced and watered (or juiced) down. Drinks received from there by myself and other members of my party left us wondering if there was any alcohol in the drinks at all.

Didn't try the breakfast buffet. At $11/person times five people in my party, that would be $55/day (+tax), which is far from reasonable. Breakfast should be a comp, not an expense. for a hotel in this price catagory.

For the price I paid ($200/night), I definitely expected more.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#29 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,645 reviews
7.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#20 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,711 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#25 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,148 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#27 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 3,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Resort
Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing