We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
Ranked #22 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Conway, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at Ocean Reef Resort from Sept 9 until Sept 13 and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay. I reside locally and reserved a 3 bedroom 2 bath condo, sight unseen, for me and 5 of my highschool girlfriends (1960) from the midwest. Our view of the beach and sunsets from the 11th floor were amazing! The condo was clean, roomy and very comfortable...perfect for us! The pool and "lazy river" were favorites, as were the drinks at the Banana Boat Lounge! The close beach access made it very conducive for walks in the surf and shelling. .All of the staff was helpful and nice - made us feel at home. Parking was convenient - there are even some covered spaces. Overall, the resort was very clean, attractive and well run. I definitely would recommend staying at The Ocean Reef for a fantastic vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Carol C,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your vacation with us! We are thrilled to hear you and your friends had such an amazing time with us and we hope you will visit us when you all get together next year!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,426
    887
    280
    117
    84
See reviews for
1,385
607
58
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were on the 14th floor ocean view 3 bedroom. I requested a higher floor and they made it happen. The water features at this resort were very kid friendly. Check in was busy but they kept it moving. The breakfast buffet was very good and the waitress was nice. We had no trouble with the elevators as others have in reviews. The only drawback is the parking is across the street in a small uncovered lot . If that is full, you have to park a block away at the garage but there was always a place to park. We will return.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmk103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Imk103,

Thank you for such a great review! We are thrilled you and your family had such a great time with us and we thank you for your recommendations and honest feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests experience with us and we appreciate your letting us know your concerns. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My three sisters and I enjoyed staying last week for four nights at Ocean Reef. Room was clean, good service when we requested blankets and towels. We had breakfast in the restaurant our last day and we had the most gracious, sweet waitress named Maggie. We were so impressed and disappointed at the same time that we did not have breakfast some of the other days. Hopefully she will still be there since we plan to return next year! The only downside we had a parking ticket on vehicle when we returned to car to load. Don't park in the side parking!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Tracy H,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us! We also thank you for your recognition of Ms Maggie in our Café du Port! She is truly an asset to our resort and embodies what our resort prides itself on, our customer service! thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at the Ocean reef Resort for four days and enjoyed every minute of it. The room was exactly what we expected. Nice oceanfront with two queen beds. Everything was very clean. We enjoyed the game room, hot tub, and the view from our 10th floor balcony. ALL of the staff was very nice from the front desk to the housekeeping staff... We will be back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myvacations1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us! We are thrilled you and your family had a great time at our Resort and we certainly look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Hope, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed at Ocean Reed Resort from September 2 until September 6 and had an awesome time. Our room on the 17th floor was spectacular. The Banana Boat Lounge had some awesome drinks and the bartender on the 6th was AMAZING.

Upon arrival Crystal checked us in at the front desk and she was fabulous. Made us feel right at home from the start. Spoke with Ginger later in the evening and she was very helpful too! Very organized front desk!

Selena was in the little store one night when we went down and was also the host at breakfast. She was awesome!

Judy our server at breakfast was so kind and made us feel like we were at home. And the food was delicious.

Clean pool areas and insanely close beach access made it an awesome vacation.

Working in a resort myself I know how stressful it can be. You guys have mastered the art of customer service kudos to you. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pdm9009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear pdm909,

Thank you so much for such an amazing review! We appreciate hearing our guests experiences and I cannot say how thrilled I am out staff was part of what made your stay a memorable one. All of our staff goes above and beyond on a daily basis and I know they are reading your review and appreciating the recognition as well. We certainly look forward to your next visit and thank you again!

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed from September 8 until the 13th. We had 8 people total, 2 kids, 4 and 8. The kids loved, loved, loved, all the pools and especially the slide! I wasn't impressed with the housekeeper who worked on Belinda's day off, but Belinda made up for that. :) We stayed in a 4 bedroom, 3 bath condo and it was great, all though I think we all complained about the beds. They really could use replacing. And the way the condo is configured, it isn't surprising that the walls are all scuffed up from the luggage carts. Maybe some smaller ones need to be had for the small entry rooms. The bartender downstairs wasn't too friendly and I saw him walk away from customers and go to the back room for a few minutes and casually stroll back out. I am frankly kicking myself for leaving him a tip. That was Thursday night by the way. Didn't catch his name. And Thursday 2 elevators were down at the same time. That wasn't much fun and made us late for parasailing, but they let the brave ones go ahead an parasail.
All in all we will certainly return. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccarpenter1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear ccarpenter1963,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay! We are happy to hear your family was able to enjoy our newest water amenity, The Lagoon Launcher! It has become a fast favorite among our guests. I do apologize if any of our staff was unfriendly. We pride ourselves on our staff and please know we will address the situation. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you and your family on a future visit!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a 4 day trip to Myrtle Beach. While the hotel is a bit older, the folks do a great job of maintaining it. We appreciated the fact that the kiddie pool was in a whole different area from the other one. Therefore, us older folks were not listening to the "enthusiasm" of the wee ones. Loved the location and the Starbucks next door. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo6850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear jo6850,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay! We are glad you were able to enjoy our beautiful oceanfront pools and we certainly look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#31 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,726 reviews
7.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,748 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.5 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#27 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 3,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Resort
Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing