We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best MB hotel on strip!”
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
Ranked #20 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Very nice place...clean, quiet and comfortable. Great pool/beach area. Several hot tubs, indoor pool, outdoor pool, lazy river, water slide etc. We had an ocean front room....with the most gorgeous view. The front desk staff were both friendly and attentive to our needs. They also offer a breakfast buffett that is very good! This was our first time staying at this resort....AND IT CERTAINLY WON'T BE OUR LAST!!

Room Tip: They offer ocean view rooms as well, but the ocean front was awesome! And request a higher level fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Linda M,

Thank you for such a great review! We strive to provide superior customer service at every opportunity and we are glad to know we succeeded with you and your family. We certainly hope to see you again on a future trip!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,162 - 2,168 of 3,259 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

A oceanfront room should be oceanfront. I payed for an OF but my room 1022 was the last room above the road. No where near oceanfront. The "angle" of the room is severe. The picture showing the ocean from the bed is highly inaccurate. From the bed you can see the side of the family room balcony wall. If you go to the end of the bed and look out you get a great view of the Caravelle Resort and a/c units. I have been in many OF and Ocean view rooms in my life and this is clearly oceanview. The pools are nice,the breakfast buffet is good,maids are good. Overall I recommend the resort but paying $1750 for OF and instead listening to traffic going by instead of waves falling is BS.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are not always OF. Any mention of a 1 bedroom oceanfront suite or condo don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobbieAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear RobbieAnd,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We do apologize if you found our descriptions deceiving-we are an ocean front resort and your condo, being in our south tower that is at an angle to the ocean, is considered angled ocean front. We did not try to be misleading, but the condo is as states, angled ocean front. However, if our guests are not satisfied with their accommodations, we do our best to try and find what would be acceptable if we have the availability. I am not sure if you had the chance to speak with a manager, and I would be more than happy to speak with you in regards to the situation.

Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A wonderful resort with all the amenities you could possibly need or want. We had amazing weather however had it have rained there would have been plenty to do with the inside pool, inside kiddie pool and three indoor spas. As it was we spent most of our time at the outdoor pool, outdoor kiddie pool and outdoor spa. They make good use of their space at this resort. We were on the 7th floor and had an amazing view of the outdoor pool and the ocean. I was in a 3 bedroom condo and feared the view would be one of those *crane* your neck to see the ocean. Boy was I seriously wrong!

Room Tip: This resort is very busy during check-in. My advice is to go explore and don't plan to check in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina_Harr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Christina_Price,

Thank you for such a great review! We are glad you were able to use our amazing water amenities and we agree that the view from our three bedroom condos is definitely amazing! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you and your family on your next visit!

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our friends have come here annually for the past five years. This year we decided to join them. We had an ocean front efficiency,,, ocean fronts were recently renovated.. Having a fridge, stove, post and pans, dinnerware etc.... was nice. The view was absolutely amazing, we were on the 10th floor and could see for miles to the left and right. The pool, lazy river, water slide, and ground in general. In a separate area they have stand up size chess and checkers boards and a few ping pong tables. The family had a great time and is already asking to come back next year. We got here at 2:30 and by 3, were in our room. Only bad experience was when my son got a jellyfish sting. The lifeguard was nowhere to be found (not their fault), but the front desk wouldn't give anything, the store was closed, and the restaurant, who I know has vinegar wouldn't give any.... finally went to another lifeguard stand.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great.... two balconies enhance the views... Room 715 through 1216 great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Scott S,

We appreciate the review and are happy you had a great time with us on your trip. I am so sorry your son got stung by a jellyfish! Please know I will check with the front desk in regards to offering supplies for this incident, as well as the Café. We do our best to provide superior customer service, especially in a situation like you encountered, so please know it will be looked into.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you and your family on your next trip.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were here only for a weekend, but we enjoyed the resort and the area. We checked in on a friday and had no issues at all. In fact, we were able to get into our room at 2pm, which was great. Our room was on the 12th floor ocean front and the view was awesome. If you are looking for a Hyatt or Hilton level resort, this isnt your place. However, the location was good, the staff was friendly and the price was reasonable for a beachfront resort. My daughter loved the beach, the resort pools and slide and the Jacuzzis. I could see that parking could be a challenge, although we had a handicapped tag, which helped. The room looked sort of updated, the carpet looked clean although it always had a bit of damp feel to it. Again I think due to the location being on the beach plus the hallways are not totally enclosed, the dampness is pretty much unavoidable. Our room had a small kitchen area, stove, oven, sink, fridge, coffeepot, utensils, etc. We didn't use any of it as we brought our own coffeepot. The stove looked a bit worn, and I definitely would have washed utensils before using them. Bathroom was ok, nothing bad but could use some updating. The showerhead provided good water pressure and had no issues with the hot water. We found the beds to be comfortable, and we did not hear any disturbances during the night. There were no issues with bugs or anything like that. We had breakfast at the hotal, which was good, staff was pleasant. The buffet had your normal breakfast stuff, both hot and cold choices. They will make you omelets at your request. You can sit indoors or outdoors. The balcony gave usa great view of the ocean, and it was a pleasure to watch the sunrise with a nice cup of coffee. The elevators could be a little slow at certain times of the day, but nothing to complain about. The only thing my daughter complained about was the spotty wifi connection which made it difficult to use her ipod (not necessarily a bad thing!). The resort charges $30/day for a beach umbrella and 2 chairs. One thing and this isnt a resort issue, but we had trouble with ATT service on our cell phones-kept dropping call and losing bars. Downtown Myrtle Beach (where the piers and skywheel are) is a 10 minute drive. Public parking in the downtown area runs from $8 - $10 for the day.
Overall positives -great view, good location, nice pools, comfortable beds, quiet after 11pm.
Overall negatives - needs better general housekeeping and cleaning, more room updates, the room safe was broken.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Schnauzerwozer9.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are thrilled that you and your family had a great time! We would like to let you know, its not the resort that charges for the umbrella and chairs, but our guests are actually able to rent them from the lifeguards. We apologize if there was any miscommunication in this regards, but hope you were able to spend some good quality time on the beach! Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you and your family on your next trip!

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This place shows it's wear, but was a reasonably priced place to get an ocean view. The pools and grounds are very nice, but the rooms could use some updating and attention. It was nice to have a microwave and full fridge and stove in the this hotel style room.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank StaceyLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear StaceyLew,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. While I am not sure what room type you had stayed in, I can tell you that all of our ocean front rooms just went through an extensive renovation this last winter and we are thrilled with the results. Please feel free to give me a call when planning your next vacation as I would be more than happy to direct you to the newly renovated rooms.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Reception is seriously understaffed to deal with the number of people checking in, and we had to line up for 45 minutes. Our room was not ready on time, despite being told 3pm when booking. Reception insisted rooms are made available anytime between 3-5pm. They should be up front about this when one makes a reservation. In fact, management should recognize they are dealing with a high volume of people, and get their act together.
The building and rooms feel dirty, and probably has more to do with how dated the place looks than anything else. While we had an amazing ocean view, the dirty, ugly stucco on the balcony, along with the old plastic chairs, killed any desire to spend much time there. There was no proper place to hang clothing, unless you consider a few coat hangers on either side of a fridge a viable option; the toilet ran on and on until my husband finally fixed it; wi-fi was terrible and intermittent. Would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Boo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Boo M,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We apologize you had so many issues during your stay. Please know, at anytime you were unhappy in regards to the condition of your room, management would have been more than happy to do our best to address all your concerns.

In regards to check in, please know management is well aware of the amount of people coming in at 3pm. Just like any other business, when you have an influx of people at the same time, delays are possible. We expedite our check in as quick as possible, and always looking for ways to accomadate.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#34 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,667 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,473 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#12 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,092 reviews
7.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $73 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing