We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Front Efficiency”
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
Ranked #17 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our friends have come here annually for the past five years. This year we decided to join them. We had an ocean front efficiency,,, ocean fronts were recently renovated.. Having a fridge, stove, post and pans, dinnerware etc.... was nice. The view was absolutely amazing, we were on the 10th floor and could see for miles to the left and right. The pool, lazy river, water slide, and ground in general. In a separate area they have stand up size chess and checkers boards and a few ping pong tables. The family had a great time and is already asking to come back next year. We got here at 2:30 and by 3, were in our room. Only bad experience was when my son got a jellyfish sting. The lifeguard was nowhere to be found (not their fault), but the front desk wouldn't give anything, the store was closed, and the restaurant, who I know has vinegar wouldn't give any.... finally went to another lifeguard stand.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great.... two balconies enhance the views... Room 715 through 1216 great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Scott S,

We appreciate the review and are happy you had a great time with us on your trip. I am so sorry your son got stung by a jellyfish! Please know I will check with the front desk in regards to offering supplies for this incident, as well as the Café. We do our best to provide superior customer service, especially in a situation like you encountered, so please know it will be looked into.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you and your family on your next trip.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,142 - 2,148 of 3,236 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were here only for a weekend, but we enjoyed the resort and the area. We checked in on a friday and had no issues at all. In fact, we were able to get into our room at 2pm, which was great. Our room was on the 12th floor ocean front and the view was awesome. If you are looking for a Hyatt or Hilton level resort, this isnt your place. However, the location was good, the staff was friendly and the price was reasonable for a beachfront resort. My daughter loved the beach, the resort pools and slide and the Jacuzzis. I could see that parking could be a challenge, although we had a handicapped tag, which helped. The room looked sort of updated, the carpet looked clean although it always had a bit of damp feel to it. Again I think due to the location being on the beach plus the hallways are not totally enclosed, the dampness is pretty much unavoidable. Our room had a small kitchen area, stove, oven, sink, fridge, coffeepot, utensils, etc. We didn't use any of it as we brought our own coffeepot. The stove looked a bit worn, and I definitely would have washed utensils before using them. Bathroom was ok, nothing bad but could use some updating. The showerhead provided good water pressure and had no issues with the hot water. We found the beds to be comfortable, and we did not hear any disturbances during the night. There were no issues with bugs or anything like that. We had breakfast at the hotal, which was good, staff was pleasant. The buffet had your normal breakfast stuff, both hot and cold choices. They will make you omelets at your request. You can sit indoors or outdoors. The balcony gave usa great view of the ocean, and it was a pleasure to watch the sunrise with a nice cup of coffee. The elevators could be a little slow at certain times of the day, but nothing to complain about. The only thing my daughter complained about was the spotty wifi connection which made it difficult to use her ipod (not necessarily a bad thing!). The resort charges $30/day for a beach umbrella and 2 chairs. One thing and this isnt a resort issue, but we had trouble with ATT service on our cell phones-kept dropping call and losing bars. Downtown Myrtle Beach (where the piers and skywheel are) is a 10 minute drive. Public parking in the downtown area runs from $8 - $10 for the day.
Overall positives -great view, good location, nice pools, comfortable beds, quiet after 11pm.
Overall negatives - needs better general housekeeping and cleaning, more room updates, the room safe was broken.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Schnauzerwozer9.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are thrilled that you and your family had a great time! We would like to let you know, its not the resort that charges for the umbrella and chairs, but our guests are actually able to rent them from the lifeguards. We apologize if there was any miscommunication in this regards, but hope you were able to spend some good quality time on the beach! Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you and your family on your next trip!

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This place shows it's wear, but was a reasonably priced place to get an ocean view. The pools and grounds are very nice, but the rooms could use some updating and attention. It was nice to have a microwave and full fridge and stove in the this hotel style room.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank StaceyLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear StaceyLew,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. While I am not sure what room type you had stayed in, I can tell you that all of our ocean front rooms just went through an extensive renovation this last winter and we are thrilled with the results. Please feel free to give me a call when planning your next vacation as I would be more than happy to direct you to the newly renovated rooms.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Reception is seriously understaffed to deal with the number of people checking in, and we had to line up for 45 minutes. Our room was not ready on time, despite being told 3pm when booking. Reception insisted rooms are made available anytime between 3-5pm. They should be up front about this when one makes a reservation. In fact, management should recognize they are dealing with a high volume of people, and get their act together.
The building and rooms feel dirty, and probably has more to do with how dated the place looks than anything else. While we had an amazing ocean view, the dirty, ugly stucco on the balcony, along with the old plastic chairs, killed any desire to spend much time there. There was no proper place to hang clothing, unless you consider a few coat hangers on either side of a fridge a viable option; the toilet ran on and on until my husband finally fixed it; wi-fi was terrible and intermittent. Would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Boo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Boo M,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We apologize you had so many issues during your stay. Please know, at anytime you were unhappy in regards to the condition of your room, management would have been more than happy to do our best to address all your concerns.

In regards to check in, please know management is well aware of the amount of people coming in at 3pm. Just like any other business, when you have an influx of people at the same time, delays are possible. We expedite our check in as quick as possible, and always looking for ways to accomadate.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our first trip to Myrtle Beach in over ten years! We arrived 2 hours after check in. The staff was courteous and quick getting me checked in and off to our room. We requested an oceanfront room on a high floor. 14th floor and it was fantastic! They know how to execute the wow! factor. The very first thing I saw after opening the door was the incredible view of the ocean! Lobby, halls and room were very clean. No funky smells or weird things on the ground. My only complaint about the room would be the lack of good, hot water and a light in the shower. But I realize being on the 14th floor it probably has to travel quite far to reach us but they could work on the bathroom lighting a bit. Trivial issues really. We had a single king bed with a couch, table, microwave and refrigerator.
They could use a few more parking spots close to the hotel. We were lucky to find a spot every time we came back... but we saw others circling and searching!
A nice assortment of pools. Clean with comfortable water temperatures. Can't wait to take my young son next year. He will love the kiddie pools! Easy access to the beach. I recommend packing diluted white vinegar in your beach bag... the jellyfish can be a nuisance.
Very nice location on the north end of south Myrtle, in a row of hotels nestled by residential areas. The night walks on the beach under the full moon were beautiful!! Nice restaurants close by and traffic was light compared to the south end of the beach. A nice perk!
We didn't use the spa, fitness room or game rooms. But they are there and looked adequate.
We are average people and this was a nice hotel. Nothing crazy fancy but nice. Had it been any fancier we may have felt out of place. And if you happen to still have the horrid habit of smoking, they still allow on the balcony. And in designated areas outside. A big yay factor. We try to be courteous to those that do not smoke and appreciate a place that still accommodates us. Was no problem to only smoke on balcony-so beautiful and comfortable out there.
My only real complaint- if you go walking on the beach late at night there is NO where to rinse your feet and legs off before coming back inside. They cut the water off or something.
Thanks for a fantastic trip to Myrtle, we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Hotel has 17 floors so definitely recommend a high floor for the breath taking views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Laura P,

Thank you for such a great review! We are glad we could make your return trip to the beach a great one. We appreciate your recommendations and comments and hope you will not wait another 10 years to come back and visit!

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Fabulous location. Wonderful pools - special pools, slides, and play area for kids, too, and unbelievably beautiful ocean-front views. The breakfast buffet has everything on it that you would want - and coffee is included.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DinaMKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Dinamerryl,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us! We agree that the views from our resort are spectacular and the breakfast buffet at our ocean front Café du Port is the best way to start anyone's day! Thank you again for the great review and we look forward to seeing you and your family on your next vacation.

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We rented a 4 bedroom condo expecting the room to be clean and there be enough basic toiletries and such for 12 people as it states it sleeps 12 people. However, we were very surprised. We spent 3700 for the week to sleep in a disgusting condo that wasn't usable. The staff were useless and couldn't care less.
•Silverware - only had setting for 3 in a room that slept 12
•Rooms were dirty
•Carpets were disgusting
•Towels for 4 in a room that slept 12. Had to call housekeeping daily to get enough towels for the 7 people there. Again. The room was supposed to sleep 12.
•Hot water- had none. Called maintenance daily and was told to get hot water to take a SHOWER or wash dishes we had to turn on every faucet for at least 5 minutes for the hot water to come up. They wouldn't do anything to fix it
•Wifi - didn't work. Had no reception on my phone
•Stove- burners were bent up so was not able to use the range.
•Cookware - old and disgusting. The Teflon was worn off. Afraid to use it
•Payment up front - wondered why we had to pay upfront but now I know. It is because they know you would check out otherwise. This way they had us SCREWED because I forked out over 3700 for the room for the week and had no other place to go.
•Refrigerator door would not shut unless we physically forced it too. Making the food warm

Room Tip: My tip would be to NEVER book here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank shannong606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Shannon G,

On behalf of Ocean Reef Resort, we wanted to thank you for your comments and I understand you have been in communication with our General Manager, Jennifer Stahler, and your issues have been addressed. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and your family, and we hope to see you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Crytsal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,651 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,950 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,215 reviews
7.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,022 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $62 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing