We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Reef Resort
Nearby Hotels
Dunes Village Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Breakers Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$66
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$66
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Carolinian Beach Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$154
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Colony Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$85
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$69
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Beach Resort & Suites(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$65
$54
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$157
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Myrtle Beach Resort(Myrtle Beach)
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,285)
Filter reviews
3,285 results
Traveler rating
1,675
1,017
338
146
109
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,675
1,017
338
146
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe du portlazy riveracross the streetbedroom condobreakfast buffetpool areaoff seasonnorth towerfamily vacationtrip to myrtle beachnice resortwasher dryerrecommend this resortbeach accessfull kitchenbeach frontparking garage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,240 - 2,245 of 3,285 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Ocean Reef is always one of our first choices when setting up our annual spring golf trip. The 4-bedroom condo provides plenty of room for our group of 9 guys. We like getting the suite so that we can all be in one place, enjoy each other's company and talk about the great stories of the day. The staff at Ocean Reef is some of the best I've dealt with in Myrtle Beach as well. They are always very accommodating and friendly. Also, they've upgraded their pool areas since our last stay here with a new slide in the kids' area and a poolside bar which is convenient. We will definitely keep this hotel at the top of our list again in the future.

Room Tip: 4-bedroom condos are great for large groups. Nice activity area for those that like to play shuffleboard, chess, checkers, etc. Mutliple hot tubs Great slide out front
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slamo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Slamo77,

Thank you for taking the time to let us knbow about you and your groups recent stay. The4 -bedroom condo is a favorite among golfers and families alike due to the amount of space it offers, and ocean views! We are glad you got to visit our newly renovated poolside bar! We are extremely proud of it and know it is going to be a popular place this summer!

We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was a hard review for me. There are several nice parts to this property, but nothing was great. I will start with the room. We had a two bedroom with the smallest balconies I've ever seen. The view was great, but you couldn't really sit on the balcony to enjoy it. We had a full kitchen which was adequate, but the counters are old, and the fixtures are dated. Don't expect any in-room coffee, paper towels, or even a pen. If they could cut a corner they did. There is a flat screen in the living roo, but the bedrooms have old CRT tv's. The carpet edging is pulling away from the wall in one of the bedrooms. There was a safe in the kitchen, but the lock was broken. Little maintenance things like this are all over. The room is plenty big and is comfortable in its layout.

Don't expect lush bedrooms. The beds lacked even duvae covers. The sheets were clean and the beds were fairly comfortable. The bed spreads could double for any found at a Super8.

The pools are nice and definitely kid friendly. All were heated and very comfortable. There is a lack of supervision at the pool and the staff isn't the most attentive.

The restaurant was good for breakfast, but nothing special. The convience was the biggest draw for us. Staff was very friendly and went out of their way to cater to our kids.

Parking is horrible. One it is on the opposite side of the street and seemed full almost the entire time. I understand the lack of land, but this was very annoying every day.

By far the best part of this property was the location. We were right on the beach, away from the busier southern part of myrtle but close enough to enjoy the area. I doubt we would return to this property. I feel bad because there is nothing wrong here, it just isn't a high level resort. It probably is better then half of the resorts around Myrtle, but it isn't anything special. We may just have higher standards than we used to.

They really could go a long way by just doing the little things better. Check-in could be streamlined, put paper towels in kitchen units, supply a property information binder in the room, give paper and pens with property logo, fix small maintenance items, get rid of the drop ceiling in the bathroom, and an initial basket of coffee.

Stay here for the beach and pools. Don't expect a top end resort.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Skinsfan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Skinsfan76,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about you recent experience. We appreciate all of our guests recommendations and always look into what we can do to improve our facility. We are glad you were able to enjoy some of our wonderful amenities, and hope you had a great time at the beach.

We hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We took a small vacation (3 days 2 nights). We arrived at 9am on Sunday morning and within an hour we had a room. The front desk staff was all over the early arrival and was very flexible. The poolside bar was closed due to construction but we didn't hear any construction noise. The room was nice and clean with a fantastic view. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James29673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear James29673,

We are happy to hear you and your family had a great mini getaway with us! Our Front Desk staff is one of the best in the business and do their best to provide superior customer service at every opportunity which leaves our guest knowing they chose the right resort for their stay. We apologize the poolside bar was not ready while you were with us, but we are thrilled to announce it is now open for the summer and we know all of our guests will enjoy!

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you!


Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for over 10 years many times more than once a year. This trip was by far not terrible but not enjoyable. When I made the reservations I specifically asked if there was any sort of motor bike rally that week and she told me no and she was very wrong. When I booked the room I then realized that the hotel now uses a reservation service and that the reservation specialist no longer works for the hotel. She could not answer any questions about the hotel when I asked for a specific type of room and informed me she did not even know where the hotel was.
Checking in was a nightmare which I really did not understand the parking lot was mostly empty and there were very few people around. I went ahead and paid for my room and was told to come back at 3:00 and pick up my keys my room was guaranteed to be ready. Well everyone flooded in at 3:00 and by the time I got to the. Counter no room ready so no keys. (Did I mention it was guaranteed at 3:00) Well they finally came through around 4:00. So do not be in a hurry because check in is getting worse every time I go.
After many years they finally changed the carpet, draperies and bed linens and overall color palette of the room. This change was really refreshing as the rooms were really beginning to look dated. Our room was on the 9th floor and we were definitely pleased with our room.
I like the maid service but they insisted on coming between 8:30-9:00 in the morning. We were on vacation.
Now the noise, you could not just relax and chill with all the construction. You had to go around the world to even get to the pool or beach due to the construction. Motorcycle constantly hossin their engines. Not to mention the family next to us with who knows how many were in that room constantly banging on the walls and connecting door and screaming all hours of the night.
This was a very important trip for us. Not just a getaway or vacation.
Thank You for taking that from us

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Patty B,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We apologize if there was a miscommunication in regards to the specific dates of Bike Week. Please note, while our reservation staff has moved to a central location to be able to serve more guests, they are still part of our company and not sourced out. They always have the most up to date information, an I will certainly look into why there was an error in communicating correct Bike Week dates.

We would like to thank you for being a loyal guest and returning to is year after year. Thank you for your comments on our newly renovated ocean front rooms! We are very proud of how they turned out, and look forward to our return guests seeing the finished product.

We never intend to interrupt any of our guests stay with us, and please know this is not standard. I would like to speak with you in regards to your stay, so please feel free to contact me at your convenience.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Ocean Reef is located right on the beach. We had an ocean view room. Very comfortable and well furnished. Especially liked the balcony. Staff was very helpful and friendly. They have a nice pool and a kiddie pool full of water fountains themed for kids. Parking was a bit tough for handicapped. They need more spots. Haven't a clue how they could do that since everything around them is already developed. Convenient location to all attractions. Seems to be very family oriented. Breakfast buffet was average. Nice touch was being able to get eggs however you liked them. Would stay there again. BTW this was a Groupon deal and we stayed 5 days.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view with a balcony. Definitely worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Umholtz,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us! We are glad you were able to use alot of our amenities and we agree that the breakfast in the Cafe is amazing!

We do regret if you had any issues with parking. PLease let us know at the front desk if there is ever a need for assistance.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews