We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is for the snow-birds... and families with kids”
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
Ranked #19 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This hotel is for the snow-birds... and families with kids”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent a week at this resort, along with other Canadian snow-birds, during early March, 2013. We came by bus and rented no cars while in Myrtle Beach.
The Ocean Reef is on a gorgeus beach and most of its rooms and condos have unobstructed ocean view. Close to the hotel are some nice, safe residential areas, in case visitors get tired of walking on the beaches. The hotel is a large, modern building, accomodating 100s of tourists. It has a large restaurant, the Cafe du Port, which serves bearkfast only, for a reasonable price, but can be used for other, special functions as well involving meals. The hotel also has several pools, much to the delight of younger visitors. All pools were over-heated in my opinion, but that is OK for kids who want to spend hours in them. There is a large variety of accomodations. We had a one-bedroom condo in the hotel's "22"-stack. These units are the furtherst from the hotel's main areas and their bedrooms are the most likely to be quiet rooms in the resort. The ocean view from these units is limited, they overlook the parking lot of the neighboring building -- and you have to get near the balkony (there are 2 of them) to get a real ocean view. The higher up you're the better the view.
A stay in the Ocean Reef is an invitation for an epicurean experience in dining. There are four restaurants in easy walking distance (we liked Martin's the most), and almost half-dozen others if you're willing to walk a little further (10-15 minutes). Alas, there is no major food-store similarly close for the disappointment of those who like to eat in, taking advantage of the unit's fully-equiped kitchen. Of course this is not a problem for people with cars or those willing to spend money on taxis -- or go for long walks carrying heavy parcels back.
We found the staff friendly, but on two occasions we were given wrong information at the desk -- involving minor matters.
Being Canadians we missed our usual Canadian channels on the TV (we had a TV in each of our rooms). And I missed the BBC news service, the best in the English-speaking world. But, we appreciated the movie channel.
All-in-all, we liked Ocean Reef. It is a heaven for snow-birds, as well as for kids of all ages. We were really sorry that our pre-schooler grand-kids couldn't join us -- but this had nothing to do with the hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel's website offers excellent floor-plans of all the rooms and suites available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank professor30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear professor30,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us! You are right! We have some of the most beautiful beaches in Myrtle Beach and there are many amazing eateries in our area, including our own ocean front Cafe du Port! We look forward to seeing you again next year, and hopefully you will be able to bring your grandkids on your next visit, we know they would enjoy our new water park!


Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,584
    968
    313
    131
    95
See reviews for
1,547
696
65
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey outside of Philly
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We took the kids and mom, and everyone enjoyed themselves. The pool, lazy river, ocean, water slide and beach was enough to keep everyone happy. The full balcony that came off the master bedroom and the living room was a bonus. We weren't too far from anything, but you have a car anyways so it really doesn't matter.

We stayed in a 3 bedroom suite and from our bed we could see the ocean. Decor could be viewed as bit dated, but it is Myrtle Beach. Nothing bad to say about this place, but make sure you book early. Front desk was very helpful as well. Move us from a 2 bedroom to 3 bedroom upon arrival.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bundles456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Bundles456,

Thank you for your amazing review of our resort and staff! We are glad you enjoyed your room and expecially the beautiful view from our 3 bedrooms condos! Please note we are continuously working on updating our facility, so we do hope to see you and your family in the future so you can see our continous efforts in keeping our facility one of the best on the Grand Strand.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with In laws in a two bedroom two full bath condo with full kitchen w/dishwasher (can't speak to pricing they rented for 3 months) have two small kids small arcade fine for them.outdoor pool heated beautiful. Indoor plus lazy river and kids section 1' deep. Plenty of hot tubs for my husband and I to take turns in. Room had a perfect sized balcony from living room and master bed of beach and water... The section resort is on is referred to golden mile.. Had to drive a short bit to grand strand a little too early in season not too much going on yet in the area

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sml0666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Sml0666,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We are glad you and your family had the opportunity to enjoy some of our many family friendly ameniities, including our game room and lazy river! The views from our balconies in all of our rooms are beautiful! We look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We loved the service here. The rooms are a bit outdated and the ceiling is low in the bathroom. Great bargain. We booked a different hotel to come into town to watch my son's basketball team play in the Big South Conference Tournament. We didn't like the location of the other hotel so the coach told us about this hotel. We called immediately and they gave us a deal that included a breakfast buffet. We didn't even pay $200 for three nights for an oceanfront room (three night special they were having). They also rent condos (1, 2, and 3) It was so relaxing to sleep with the patio door open to hear the waves at night. I got to see the sunrise every morning. They have a concierge that will give you discounts for various activities throughout Myrtle Beach. We didn't want to stay the extra night after my son's team lost and this hotel was gracious enough to refund our money for the final night. I would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in an oceanfront standard queen room on the 14th floor. The only problem I had was that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sugarbaby815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Sugarbaby815,

Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure to host your sons team during the Tournament and we are glad we were able to host your family as well. You are correct in there is nothing like waking up to a beautiful sunrise and amazing ocean view! We look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Although the property is a bit dated, we love to return almost every summer and still see some of the same staff at breakfast and the bar! We enjoy that the beach isn't too crowded, parking is fairly easy, and the great views! I work for a hotel developer, and have never understood why Ocean Reef does not have a return customer appreciation/discount or upgrade. As a frequent traveler, it means a lot when hotels let you know they appreciate your return visit, and that is most likely what keeps customers coming back! We are contemplating coming back this summer, but I am debating with my husband as I just have a hard time understanding the poor customer service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Amber M,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on your last stay with us. Just to clarify, we do honor our repeat guests all throughout the year with numerous offers and chances to book at our property for some amazing rates with email alerts and flyers about specials that are due out. We choose to create amazing packages year round, as opposed to having a loyalty point program, as we find this more efficient for our resort to make sure everyone has a chance to enjoy our facility. Our staff welcomes all of our guests with warm smiles and are available 24 hours with any needs you may have, you have had an instance of poor customer service whle staying with us, I would be more than willing to speak with you and resolve the matter. Again, thankyou for taking the time to let us know your thoughts.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed in the penthouse suite last March, (sorry for the late review). Very clean (and I am a clean freak, it's a must!) and spacious. Wonderful view of the ocean and the sunrises/sunsets from the balcony. Tons of things to do in the resort, indoor/outdoor pools, lazy river, kids pool, indoor and outdoor Jacuzzi all beautifully clean. Housekeeping does a wonderful job & arrive everyday very close to the same time. Not on the downtown strip so you will need to travel a little for restaurants and such or you can just walk a few blocks to River City Café. All together this is our fourth stay here and we have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: Spend a few extra $ and get ocean front you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear casuke,

We thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We appreciate your choosing us as your vacation detination resort! We strive to provide superior customer service and amenities and we are thrilled you were pleased with your stay with us. We hope to see you and your family in the future!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

While this property is a bit dated (decor), it delivers the fundamentals well. I stayed in a room with a mini kitchen, complete with compact stove, refrigerator and microwave. Also furnished with dishes, silverware, etc. VERY nice setup if you're looking to save money by not eating out all the time. Oceanfront room w/private balcony is the way to go! Priced well = good value. Good service.... they moved me when I gently complained about construction noise. This is a solo trip for me, but I'll bet families/kids would enjoy it here.

Room Tip: If you're going to be spending a lot of day time in the room, ask for a room away from renovatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyBizWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear LadyBizWriter,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us! We are glad you had a great stay with us, and you are right- the ocean front balconies is definately a favorite. We appreciate your patience while we completed some needed updates. We made it our priority to make sure our guests were not inconvenienced during their stay with us, and I am glad to hear that we were able to resolve your issue quickly. We do look forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,415 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,791 reviews
3.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,935 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
4.0 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#29 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Resort
Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Vacatia and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing