We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always relaxing”
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
Ranked #17 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always relaxing”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My family has been coming here every year sometimes twice a year for 28 years. Our 2 sons have always loved it here. Our oldest son had his honeymoon here. Our youngest son was a baby & now he is graduating from med school and still loves it here. It is always clean & reminds you of a tropical island. The people are so nice here especially the ones that work in the Cafe du Port. They are like family now especially Maggie she is so much fun and always gives you the best service. Food is always good. We just went for a 3 day valentine day trip me & my wife. We got the best deal hotel & breakfast all 3 days. We will be back again maybe more than 2 times since we are retired now.

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,610
    987
    321
    134
    100
See reviews for
1,595
704
65
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just returned from three nights and enjoyed this hotel again. The rooms and hotel seem to be very clean. The people at check in were very friendly. The staff at Cafe du Port were always so pleasant to greet you and cater to your needs. Sometimes the hotel offers specials which include buffet breakfast each morning which I would recommend. One small suggestion would be to replace bedspreads more often which most hotels need to do as well.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront. Condos are on side but with very good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zooland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Zooland,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here on tripadvisor.com! We appreciate hearing our guests experiences and are thrilled we were able to help make this stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WILMINGTON
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I wanted to spend a get away weekend where we could sit and watch the ocean. The 17th floor of Ocean Reef was perfect. All windows facing the ocean. The room was huge, beautiful and so comfortable. We had nine sets of towels! The hot tubs and lazy river were well taken care of. We will return often!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank DEBORAH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Deborah H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.com! We are thrilled you were able to enjoy all of our wonderful amenities and hope you had a chance to enjoy a long soak in our hot tub after a day of sight seeing and enjoying the beach! We look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future!

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Service is top notch. Rooms are clean. We have been staying at ocean reef for 8 years now. Food is spectacular. Kids love the pool activities. Love looking out over the ocean. We have tried a few others but none compare with the outstanding amenities provided us at ocean reef. It is certaintly advantageous that the price is always affordable, no matter time of year.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yalchy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Yalchy67,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of us on tripadvisor.com! And I completely agree, there is nothing like looking out over the ocean while relaxing on one of our oceanfront balconies. It does a great job relaxing you! We look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed just for the weekend and our room was the King Suite and it was huge and we had a beautiful oceanfront balcony as well as a side balcony. We just loved it! Our room came with breakfast and that was excellent as well.
The front desk staff was very efficient and very friendly.

I would recommend this for a week long stay as well as they have wonderful pools, both indoor and out, great beach and close to everything Myrtle Beach has to offer as well as restaurants right on the premises.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbiejean57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear debbiejean57,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of our facility and staff! We strive to provide superior customer service at every interaction and I am more than pleased our staff helped make your stay a great one! We are alos pleased you enjoyed your room and the amenities. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the near future!

Regards,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have been coming to Ocean Reef for 7 years. Best breakfast buffet-oceanfront, home cooked food, very friendly cooks (thank you Walter) and wait staff. Wide expanse of beach and not crowded. Rooms are nice and inexpensive. Bathrooms are clean, but not brand new. Outdoor heated pool for year round use and new lounge chairs. Indoor lazy river and pool also clean. Game room. Our kids love it all. Close to Broadway on the Beach shopping.

Room Tip: Two elevators to serve efficiently. Corner suites are all windows. Just need to replace sofa bed mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summertime00_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Sumemertime00_8,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us! We appreciate you choosing us as your destination hotel and thank you for reconizing some of our staff. They work hard year round to give our guests the ultimate vacation experience. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Hey Crystal,

I will be visiting your resort from March 21-26 and I want to make it a really special trip being this will be my first trip to Myrtle Beach. I hope my girlfriend doesn't see this, but I was wondering if you could help make my experience special by providing us with a nice room and maybe some recommendations for what to do in the area? Please let me know if you have any ideas. I appreciate your help!

Thanks,
Kyle

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KyleVandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Hello Kyle!

It would be my pleasure to help plan your trip! Please feel free to give me a call @ 1-843-449-4441 x 7029 and we can go over everything you are looking for. Look forward to speaking with you.

Crystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,866 reviews
3.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#48 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,972 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
4.0 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#29 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
4,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Resort
Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing