We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably be ok if you get a good room.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
Ranked #18 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sicklerville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Probably be ok if you get a good room.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I had a horrible experience. The only thing nice about my stay was the view from my room on the 15th floor (room 1515). I had made a phone reservation and had requested the King Oceanfront suite and instead got the King Parlor. The furniture and fabric was old and worn and stained. The curtains had holes in them. The counters were dirty-had old food and coffee stains on them as did the end table, which even after 5 days was never cleaned. There were also stains on the bathroom mirror which were never cleaned. There was no hot water in my room. I turned on the shower as hot as it went and it was warm and after 15 minutes turned cold. They assured me that they adjusted the boiler but there was no change. The toilet ran constantly, filling every 7 minutes. Even with the door shut and TV on it could still clearly be heard. They came to fix it twice and then it refilled every 60 seconds. Finally on the 3rd try they fixed it. It took 2 days for that to actually happen. There was no toilet tissue in my bathroom and after calling for it to be brought to my room it took an hour for them to do so. The towels smelled-I went to the store and bought my own to use. I took a blanket out of the cabinet and it was covered in dirt-Like someone had wiped their feet on it. The cabinet itself was half shoved against a door and tilted way over and there was a missing drawer. In using one of the luggage carts to bring my stuff up to my room, I tried coming through the doors closest to the elevators and my room but the handicap button to automatically open the doors did not work-either from the inside or outside so I had to struggle with the doors and the cart. Also, all of the doors to the outside that you need to use your room key to reenter were just left open at all times so anyone could walk in through any of the doors which is very unsafe. The tv was old and a 27inch and screen fuzzy. There was also no easily accessible outlets. All were behind furniture. I had to move aside the heavy beside table and unplug the lamp to plug in my phone and computer charger. They provided a coffee pot (with no complimentary basket of coffee or tea that you find in even the cheapest motels) and a toaster but there was no where to plug them in. I had to take them into the bathroom to use them. I was on vacation with friends. One couple had a room on the 15th floor and it was so dirty they asked to switch rooms and they got a room on the 5th floor but they only stayed one night before leaving. The other group had the 4 bedroom suite on the 2nd floor (226) which was very nice and updated with large flat screens but the dishwasher didn't work and there were loose tiles falling out, Neither of which were addressed during their stay. I meant a lady in the elevator and she was upset because she had requested a room on the 1st or 2nd floor because she had a young child and felt safer because of the balcony's and they put her on the 14th floor. The downstairs lobby area is very nice but the rooms need work. Also, the bar and restaurants were not open. We stayed between Christmas and New Years. I do not know if it was just closed that week or if it closes for the off season. There was nothing at the hotel or on the website indicting the closing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AGK26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear AGK26,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience. We strive to provide superior customer service to all of our guests and I do apologize that this fell short during your stay with us.

In regards to the room type booked, we do send confirmations out once a reservation is booked so the guest can look over their information. It would have been our pleasure to move you to the desired room type, but unfortunately we just did not have it available during your stay. We did offer a move to another room the day it became available, but you had declined.

In regards to the housekeeping service, we were more than happy to send our Housekeepers up to correct any part of service you were not happy with the mornng it was reported. When you had called to let us know it had not been resolved, the Housekeeping Supervisor came up and was turned away stating the issues had been resolved.

Things do happen,sometimes, that are out of our control and we do give 100% to resolve them as quick as possible. Due to the nature of your issue, it did take us longer than we had hoped to resolve it, which is why we did feel it was the right thing to do to compensate for your troubles, but again, this is no where near our standard.

I apologize if your friends had issues during your stay. It was not mentioned during our conversations, or I would have been more than happy to address these as well.

We do thank you again for your review and please feel free to contact me with any additional questions or comments.

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,560
    955
    308
    129
    95
See reviews for
1,523
686
64
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our 2 night December visit to Ocean Reef. Room was very clean. Ocean front room had GREAT view (we were on 8th floor). Did not eat in cafe because it was only open for 2 hrs in the morning. Indoor water park was very nice. 3 hot tubs to choose from. Only one word of caution: bring a long, warm robe of some sort to wear to and from the water park when its cold. Most of the rooms have outdoor entrance so the walk back to your room will be chilly! Would still recommend as a place to go in MB!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imcosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear imcosmo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us here at Ocean Reef Resort. We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us and we were able to help in making your vacation a great one. And you are right, since we are right off the ocean, we do get that cool breeze! We look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future!

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Really enjoyed our trip just befre Christmas with our 3 grand children. Ocean Reef is a neat place to go. There room Classification is not so good. We had "1 BR Angle OF Condo S.Tower" When we booked the room we took for granted that the room would be OF (ocean front) but it wasn't it was only an ocean view. It was the last room on the floor. all the way to the end. Also the breakfast buffet was not up to par. Could have been that the hotel was not booked up. In that case they should have closed the breakfast buffet like the bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKD03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear DKD03,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit with us here at Ocean Reef Resort! We are happy to know that you and your grandchildren had a wonderful time! We apologize for any confusion there was in regards to the room classification. Please always feel free to contact our reservations department at 1-855-571-0904 if you ever have any questions and they would be more than willing to assist you! Again, thank you so much for your input and we look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future!

Sincerely,
Crystal VanderSchans
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

This has been a great stay for our kids Christmas present. Got a great price on the one bedroom condo ( S.tower)
And they gave great reduction on Cyber Monday.
The resort is a great place for a family close enough to broadway on the beach and restaurants.
Minor issues are the lack of instructions for some items in the Kitchen and there is a lack of utensils in the kitchen. The room is functional but some parts are needing updating.
The indoor pools have been fun in the colder weather but we have also enjoyed the outside pools too.
The peeling paint on the ceiling in the pool area shows it needs work but does not take away from the use of the pool. The lazy river is fun but maybe because the water from the bridge is not on it is not running as fast as it probably should. However the kids love it and I would definitely return again. Views were good and access to beach is easy and added to the fun.
Thanks for a good holiday

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear KAVG,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about you rrecent stay with us here at Ocean Reef Resort. We are glad you were able to take advantage of one of the many great specials we had available for Cyber Monday! Please know we are continuously updating our facility and we look forward to your next visit to show you the many updates and improvements we are currently working on. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We go several times a year to the Ocean Reef, sometimes as a couple, and sometimes with our children and grandchildren. The rooms are comfortable with great views. The front desk is outstanding. We love the heated pools, hot tubs and lazy river. We were swimming in the outdoor pool in December.

Room Tip: Get an efficiency in the South Tower high up for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KathyJ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear KathyJ26,

Thank you for your great review and for choosing Ocean Reef Resort as your vacation destination resort! It is a pleasure to see all of our returning guests and we particularly enjoy seeing new generations enjoying our resort! We look forward to seeing you and your family on your next trip!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We've stayed here twice, two different floor plans. The Queen's Parlor is by far the best room I've stayed in at the beach. There's more balcony room than we could possibly use and the views are amazing! Everything was clean and maintained. GREAT for a couple's getaway! The price was fantastic and the parking isn't a pain like other hotel's at Myrtle. There's several Jacuzzis both inside and out. The WI-FI service is WAY faster than other hotels...even got WI-FI service sitting out on the beach! Cannot say enough about this hotel!

Room Tip: The Queens Parlor is the BEST if you like big, roomy balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear amandaS,

Thank you for your great review of our resort! We strive to provide all of our guests with an enjoyable and relaxing enviroment and we are happy to have succeeded! We look forward to seeing you and you family in the future..and you are right, the Queens Parlor room is definately worth the amazing view!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Roch-des-Aulnaies, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent 2 weeks in December. THIS is avertir clean and quiet resorts. We rented a condo.
It is not high end luxury but you get a great resort with very clean pools lazy rivers and spa.
The lobby is nice and the staff is very friendly.
Overall we will come back for sure this is worth while

Room Tip: We had a 1 bedroom condo by the side the street. Still you get 2 balconies and a patio door in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lupi-Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal V, Front Office Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Lupi-Anna,

Thank you for choosing Ocean Reef Resort as your vacation resort. We appreciate your kind review and are happy that you were able to utilize the pools and other wonderful amenities we offer. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the future!

Sincerely,

Crystal VanderSchans
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,983 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
6.4 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#9 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Resort
Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing