We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
Ranked #17 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a King Suite Ocean Front with Jacuzzi, the room was OK for the price, disappointing was the Jacuzzi, it should be have been cleaner, it really would need a good scrub, special beneath the handles, other than that the room was clean, breakfast great, view awesome and staff very friendly.

Room Tip: If you looking for a great value hotel it's the spot to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkymissidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with our establishment. I am pleased you found the room accommodations to be satisfactory with your expectations. These rooms are located on the seventeenth floor of our oceanfront tower and offer some of the most breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean one will find in Myrtle Beach. I am very apologetic that your jacuzzi tub was not up the cleanliness standard embodied within the Ocean Reef's standards of excellence. This rueful information has been given to my Director of Housekeeping, and I assure you the matter has been dealt with both assertively and with the utmost of urgency. I am glad there were other factors influenced throughout your stay that seemed to make the overall visit here pleasant. We certainly hope you and your guests will continue to stay with us here at the Ocean Reef Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,597
    974
    316
    132
    98
See reviews for
1,567
701
65
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ladson sc
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My family and i had planned thanksgiving at the ocean reef resort.it was a very nice ,clean.we had excellent service.the food at the restruant was excellent.the lazy river was great.everything was excellent we have no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allaboutval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
I am absolutely delighted that you had such a great holiday with us at the Ocean Reef Resort over Thanksgiving. I hope you were able to take advantage of the wonderfully delicious Thanksgiving feast our Food and Beverage Directors offers each and every Thanksgiving. This has been a local's favorite for years and years, and will continue to into the future. We hope you and your family can make it back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

3 generations stayed over the Thanksgiving weekend, all of us enjoyed the lazy river and indoor pool/jacuzzi and the closeness to the beach. The view from our room was amazing but being on the third floor too close to the outside jacuzzi if you want to let the fresh air in...you can hear everyones conversation. Our room was listed as non-smoking, but you could smell smoke in front bedroom, burn marks in bathroom, ashtray was found amongst the dish ware and a smokers butt extinguisher on the patio. We aren't sure if the owners smoke when they are there but thought it shouldn't be listed as a non-smoking room. I'm sensitive to smoke so dealt with headaches/migraines most the weekend. Otherwise it was a nice stay, beds are comfortable and if you can understand them, housekeeping was nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for something higher up for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
On behalf of the Ocean Reef Resort, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to offer three generations of your family members a great Thanksgiving holiday at the beach. I am glad you enjoyed the room and the view, but regret that you were not given a room on a higher floor. All of our Ocean-view Condos on the South side of the resort are available on each floor, ranging from the second floor up to the fifteenth floor. Although we may not be able to guarantee a specific room number and floor, our staff members work diligently with management to ensure all requests are met by each individual guest. In the future, please simply request a room on a higher floor and we will surely gratify. While all of our units are non-smoking, we do permit our guests to smoke on the balcony only, if they do partake in smoking. They are required to close the balcony doors, hindering any smoke from entering the room. Had these issues been addressed with our management team, we would have gladly found more comfortable accommodations. Please feel free to contact me for any further information, and we definitely hope to see you and your entire extended family again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Mills, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our last visit was in August after most kids were back to school and we are going back in December. We love the rooms and the housekeeping staff are always very helpful. The indoor pool area is our favorite thing about this resort for the cooler weather. They have a nice little kiddie swim area indoors for the times its too cold to be outside.

The one drawback to the rooms for us are the concrete walls on the balcony that block my toddler's view of the ocean. She wants to climb on the chairs to see over the wall. Of course we never allow her to do this and watch her like a hawk. If it was a wall with bars she could see in between the bars and wouldn't feel the need to climb.

The children's pool area is great for little ones except for that new slide which is too fast for my 2 1/2 yr old. She loves slides and was going nuts to go down this one. She went once with me holding her and it scared her to death. Its a cool slide for kids maybe 6 and up but kids that old aren't likely to be in the shallow outside kiddie area. I wish they would make a smaller slide for the younger ones.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
I'm so glad you were able to make it back here in the "off-season" and enjoy yourselves as you normally do. We definitely have plenty of indoor and outdoor water amenities to keep children and adults of all ages having fun the entire time you are here. I want to share with you that not all rooms have closed balconies. To make the building aesthetically appealing from the outside, the floors alternate with open and closed balconies. With that in mind, the next time you reserve a room with us, please make sure you request one of the open balconies with one of our vacation specialists. We definitely want to make sure your little ones are safe while utilizing the oceanfront balconies. We hope to see you and the whole family again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, SC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Excellent value and good service. Room was clean and comfortable. The food provided for our Friday evening reception and Sat. breakfast and lunch was excellent! I will consider Ocean Reef Resort for a future stay. Excellent location on north Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandhillsmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Ocean Reef from your most recent conference in Myrtle Beach. We have hundreds of rooms that can accommodate the largest of groups, while still giving that personalized experience to our vacationers. Our conference rooms is perfect for small and large functions, any time of the year. I will be sure to share with my Food and Beverage director your kind words regarding the food provided for your functions. He and his department work very hard to provide the best dining experience possible for our guests. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our 23rd anniversary in Sept, for 5 days. I was impressed by our room, which was very clean and situated ocean view just like we wanted. My only complaint, it not being the hotels fault, was that I wish it was located a little nearer the "action" of Myrtle beach. It was out first time to to SC and wasnt quite sure as to where to stay. The beach was wonderful and clean, as was the pool. The breakfast buffet was cheap and very good and fresh. If you do not have a car for your outings, plan on walking or waiting(long long wait) for the public transportation. All in all we loved our stay and I would stay here again if I couldn't get something a little closer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
I am so happy you had such a great time on your first trip to South Carolina! We are located on the Northern part of Myrtle Beach Our location offers a little quieter experience while still displaying the beautiful ocean-scape. That aside, we are still are so close to the local attractions, restaurants, and all other options vacationers may want to see while visiting. Please come and see us again on your next trip to beautiful S.C.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We had another great stay at Ocean Reef for a quick weekend away. We have stayed at Ocean Reef previously and returned as we knew it was a good hotel for a good price.

- clean. Lobby, pool, room all were clean and kept in good shape even though overall property is on the older side. Did find past patrons laundry in the dryer...c'mon cleaning crew!
- staff was all very friendly. Easy check in, quick, and up to room in no time.
- amenities were good. They were working on winterizing the pool to make it an "indoor" pool. Pools were heated so overall not too bad.
- don't know why, but I always find it funny when hotel rooms still have tube tv's. Really not the end of the world, and this may be each units owners responsibility. Would not deter us from staying again.
- would LOVE if they would put up a parking garage. This is one thing we have really started looking for in hotels in MB. They have the room for it across the street, just need to put it in. Parking in the evenings can be a little hairy, and sometimes very hard to find a spot. Would feel car is safer in a garage.

Overall a very good stay, and we would probably stay again in the future. We do like the northern area Ocean Reef is located in. Very quiet with less traffic and hustle/bustle.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyFourPack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your most recent experience at the Ocean Reef Resort, and I'm glad that we were able to give you another good family vacation with us. We know our guests travel far distances to come stay with us, and we do our absolute best to get them through the check-in process as efficiently as possible. I sincerely apologize about finding another guest's personal items left behind in your room. There is no excuse for that, and the housekeeping department has been notified of their unsatisfactory work. We have recently put up the pool enclosures at the resort, making the pool, hot tubs, and lazy river indoors and awfully warm and exceptionally perfect for the cooler months. Please know that we do have a large parking garage located diagonally across the street from the resort. I love knowing that you would consider staying with us again. We hope you can make it back to the beach in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#43 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,466 reviews
3.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,954 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
4.0 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#29 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Property: Ocean Reef Resort
Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing