We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redemtion”
Review of Ocean Reef Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Reef Resort
Ranked #16 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

After a bad experience last year, I was contacted by the managment to appoligise and an offer to come back. We gave them another chance, and they made it right. The only complant i still have is, when checking in and out, there was only one representative at the counter. When there are a lot of people in line, it seems they need more people to help, rather than have everyone standing arround, waiting.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wktg128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

I sincerely thank you and your other travelers for allowing the Ocean Reef to make right by you and give you the vacation not only expected the first time with us, but more importantly the one you deserve. We regret immensely when a guest of our resort has a less than satisfactory experience, especially is it's something we can do to prevent this. When an opportunity presents itself to not only redeem someone's expectations but exceed them, we try everything within our power to accomplish this. I am unsure at this time why there was not ample staffing available at the front desk, but I assure you this will be fixed immediately. The believe the expression is "Third time is a Charm;" yet, I'm so happy we were able to attain this on the second trip! We hope to see you again soon for the third, surpassing yet again your idea of a perfect vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,269 - 2,275 of 3,214 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just returned from spending three nights at this hotel. We have stayed at hotel before and they have great fall and winter rates. Hotel is clean and in a good location convenient to restaurants, etc. The only thing I noticed was that bedspreads needed to be replaced as is the case in so many hotels.

Room Tip: Special rates are available for fall and winter on ocean front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zooland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you for returning to the Ocean Reef Resort again, this time for what sounds like a long weekend. There is a standard for our resort, being that you will always get a clean room, wonderful service, and superb amenities that are hard to beat anywhere in the area. We hope you will continue the tradition with us for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked a 3 bedroom condo at this resort a few months back, for a golf getaway for two couples (men wanted to golf...us women wanted to relax!). After receiving some great tips from another TA reviewer (thank you.......you know who you are) we felt prepared for our stay here. Our 3 bedroom angled condo, was located on the 12th floor...and had a beautiful view from two balconies, of the beach and ocean. Really nice to sit out in the morning and have your coffee while watching the dolphins play in the water. Check in was efficient, the price was excellent, and housekeeping took care of us daily with fresh towels and anything we needed by request. Maybe because it is the quieter time of year, we had no problems with noise around us. Something that was important to all of us...FREE WIRELESS! And, even being pretty high up (12th floor) we had no problem connecting and using our computers. I travel a lot, and this is a BIG BONUS. Thank you Ocean Reef!

The condo was equipped well enough for us, as we had no desire to do any real cooking...just breakfast and lunches here in the condo. If you want to really cook dinners, you may need to bring some items from home, as there was not even salt and pepper shakers here. Just enough plates, glasses, cups and a few pots and pans and a pitcher. Again, that was fine by us.

Walking the beach every morning at sunrise became my favorite thing to do, and what I miss the most! Being that it was October, the pool area was quieter than during the summer, which allowed me to get in the big pool and swim laps in the morning undisturbed. The pool opens officially at 9am, but I was able to get in a swim alone at 8am, which I appreciated. There were also some nice kiddie pools and a hot tub, which we did not use.

The resort is located in a string of many resorts, so there really isn't any shopping within walking distance. There is a Food Lion store within driving distance for groceries, which was great...but other than a Starbucks nearby, there was not much opportunity for us women to shop when the guys had the one car at the golf resorts. It was ok for us, but if you are looking for something to do during the day, and have no car, there is not much available nearby. If you want to just lay on the beach or laze by the pool, you will not be disappointed. (By the way, the pool is salt water, but it was sparkling clean every day...and I am picky about where I swim.)

This was my first time in Myrtle Beach, not being a golfer myself I had no real desire to come here, but I have been pleasantly surprised. Nice beach, some pretty good restaurants nearby, and the opportunity to just take a deep breath and be away from work made this a great little getaway.

Room Tip: I think higher up would give you a better view of the water. We stayed on the 12th floor overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francefantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

We are delighted you had a terrific stay with us here at the Ocean Reef Resort during your first trip to Myrtle Beach. We are the ideal resort for golf packages, and vacation packages for that matter, considering how close we are to all the golf courses and restaurants in the area. If you go one street West to Highway 17, you can easily find food, grocery stores, gas stations, entertainment and basically everything and anything someone would need when they are away from home. In all actuality, we have a restaurant on site, as well as a gift shop, game-room, and a fitness center, so this could even be your home away from home! The next time you are able to getaway from the hustle and bustle, we hope you will come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The 3 bedroom condo was great. We had 6 adults and plenty of room. The pools are superbly, kept and every amenity they offered was well taken care of. Now our room was not superbly lavish, however everything worked and the beds were great. The only thing dated was the living room furniture. Plus a kiddie pool heated area, a large outside pool, an inside/outside lazy river heated, and a smaller kids play pool that was shallow inside that circle. The best thing was 4 elevators on each side, so it didn't take 20 minutes to get downstairs. I must admit we always have a hard time planning our annual fall rally trip with just the adults. We wanted somewhere that had a lot of activities, not only for kids. We found it this go round. Normally I make reservations for a house, this time we decided to try another hotel, and I'm glad we did. This place is more like a golf resort with many elderly people, but we had a lot of fun. Our misconception that every elderly golfing couple was stuffy and boring was well put to rest on this trip. Even the other guests were great to be around. Our 3 bedroom condo, which yes did have a little dated furniture, was still wonderful. Air worked great, and we used it a lot it was HOT. Everyone from check in, to restaurant help, to pool guards (and yes Adults are allowed to use the waterslide too), to our maid was super helpful. They went out of the way to do everything possible to make our trip great. We loved this place. I would not hesitate to stay here for another bike rally, to stay with the kids, or to even use for a family reunion. It was just a welcoming friendly hotel to all. I booked via the internet website and got a much lower rate, and was very happy. www.oceanreefmyrtlebeach.com

Room Tip: Angle ocean views have very large balconies angle ocean views allow privacy in the bedrroms from o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgreeneofnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you for sharing your wonderful Fall Bike Rally experience with everyone online, and especially with the management and staff of the resort. I know that a vacation is so much more than just a comfortable room; there is an experience attached to that room. We offer a unique and comforting experience from the moment you arrive. We take hospitality very seriously, and I am absolutely delighted this ideal was reflected to you during your stay. Everything within the resort is accessible internally without going outside, which is a huge benefit in the off season when the weather is a little cooler. We hope to see you and your other guests in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We've vacationed at Ocean Reef Resort four times in the past two years. Their rates on shoulder season (May/Oct) are amazing - we got the 3 bed room/2 bath condo for $99 a night +tax. 3 bed rooms with ocean view, huge balcony, kitchen, and washer/dryer AND we had the pools practically to ourselves (Sun-Tues, early Oct 2012). The kids love the variety of pools. Being on the beach is really convenient with young children (no trouble if they tire early and then want to go back later). The location is very walkable for restaurants, grocery, ice cream, etc. The reason I didn't give 5 stars is that it's not a top-of-the-line resort. There is a little cosmetic "tiredness" at the resort, but overall, it's a fantastic place at a very good price for a family vacation.

Room Tip: The 3-bedroom rooms are in the angled tower - if you get one on a higher floor and a number closer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24JE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Thank you first and foremost for your continued loyalty to the Ocean Reef Resort. The fact that you have returned four times in the past two years says something about the product and service being offered. During the varying seasons, we offer some of the most competitive rates on the beach, and considering the amenities that are attached to this amazing prices you really can't find a better deal. There are some necessary upgrades that will be performed in the coming off season that I know will set us further apart from the competition. We would love to have you back with us here at the Ocean Reef for your fifth trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was the 4th time staying their and had a great time. The view of the ocean from the room was nice. Customer service was great. They treat us like we were a part of their family. The privet balcony was great because you don’t see anyone standing out on their balcony. You only see the beach and the people on the beach. I will stay at the hotel again and you should too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mont2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

We are so pleased you had a great time with us while staying at the Ocean Reef Resort. You mentioned you felt our staff treated you like family; that's because you are Family! We consider all of our guests part of our extended family. From the moment you arrive you are greeted promptly by one of our customer service experts, and that is just the beginning of the superior service and the hospitality experience offered by our team! We sincerely hope you are able to make it back to Myrtle Beach soon, and when you do that you stay with us here at the Ocean Reef!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Last summer my husband & I stayed at the Patricia Grand in Myrtle Beach which was just "ok"- this trip, we were VERY pleased we went with Ocean Reef Resort! We had gotten an unbelievable deal on our 2-Queen Oceanfront room through bookit.com (we're talking after their rate plus additional discount from signing up for the bookit.com newsletter we paid $50/night for our early October stay!)...we didn't even have to sit up in bed to be able to see the ocean- great views! As with any beach hotel, the decor was a bit outdated & the sliding door to the private balcony (a plus though!) stuck a bit...only other "gripe" was the bed was definitely not the most comfortable but overall it was a great room for the value. The parking situation was much more favorable than other hotels in Myrtle Beach- there is a good sized lot directly acroos the street via a crosswalk plus a covered garage next to the lot. The staff was very friendly and efficient- we have never had a simpler check-in nor check-out process, but I largely attribute it to having booked through bookit.com...everything was taken care of on my end prior. We did not eat or drink at any of the hotel restaurant or bars, but we did take advantage of the Starbucks in the mornings which is just a couple hundred of yards walk at the next hotel over. The indoor & outdoor pools were huge with very generous hours- 9am-11pm. The hotel is on more of the "quieter" end of the strip which was nice- just a short drive to the boardwalk area. Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay and couldn't have been happier with the great price!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJP2386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillPennauchiOR, General Manager at Ocean Reef Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

We are so glad we were able to "rescue" you and keep Myrtle Beach, SC in your favor when planning a Summer vacation. We offer the ultimate vacation experience, with everything you could possibly imagine within your reach. I agree that being able to wake up and look right at the beautiful Atlantic Ocean every morning is absolutely breathtaking! We would love to have you back with us next Summer, or sooner if you ever want to make the short trip. Keep in mind we do also send out mailers and emails to our repeat guests that offer more than competitive rates. We love our repeat guests and will stop at nothing to make sure they have a great experience time and time again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,923 reviews
3.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,005 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,267 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Resort

Address: 7100 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3646 (Formerly Myrtle Beach Martinique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $71 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Reef Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Reef Myrtle Beach
Beach Myrtle Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Sc
Beach Mrytle Ocean Reef Resort Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing