We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the $$”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Affordable Family Resort
Ranked #181 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not worth the $$”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My daughter got a 2 bedroom for a weekend to take my grandson before school starts back. I went along as a guest. She paid $135 a night for the room. It had one room with queen size bed and a room with 2 double beds. My grandson took a friend. I would never pay that kind of $$ for what she got. The room was very outdated with wall unit AC. The carpet looked like it really needed cleaning & felt like it too. We had WiFi but the free WiFi hardly worked and when it did was very, very slow which was not good when you have two 15 yr olds that want to be on the internet all the time they are in the room. This hotel was advertised with a water park, I saw 2 slides but never anyone on them so assumed it wasn't open or not working. The towels were thin and looked very old. When we returned to our room about 10:30 on Sat night, there was a leak in one bathroom from the ceiling light fixture. There was water all over the vanity and floor. We called the front desk to report it and they said they would call the room above to see if they had water running or something overflowing. They called us back and said they would "call around" to see if there was something they could do. They never called back and when we got up the next morning, again the water was puddled on the vanity & floor. I would never stay here again and if anyone does they shouldn't pay this kind of money. I have stayed at Myrtle Beach a lot and this was very expensive for what we got.

Room Tip: I would look at the room before you pay to see if you think it is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SatisfiedtravelerApr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    15
    14
    49
See reviews for
74
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

When we first arrived, the door key would not work. We would call the front desk and one of our teenagers had to run across the street several times to grab new keys. After several unsucessful attempts, the batteries to the key card entry were changed. It took us more than 20 minutes to get into our room. As my husband was putting stuff away, he found a half smoked joint or cigarette. I pulled back the bedspread and there was dried, green mucous on the sheet. We immediately called the front desk and asked for the manager to come over and look at it. The attendant at the desk came over and changed the linen. The manager came over and looked at what was found. He said that he would speak with housekeeping and have them come by the next day. He also said the owner would be contacting us. The next day, housekeeping stopped by and brought a few towels. She didn't talk to us about any issues.No one ever came back and cleaned the room. The owner never contacted us or stopped by. My husband killed several roaches in the room during our stay. The last morning we were there, my huband noticed that the pillow that we had been sleeping on had some dark spalttered substance on it. It was disgusting. Upon checking out, my husband asked to speak to the owner. She said they corrected the problem when they changed the sheets. She would not give any refund back. She also told us that we were suppose to contact her the day before. When I am told that the owner would contact us and someone from housekeeping, I expect that. This place has bad customer service.. This was one of the worst vacations of my life. Vacation is suppose to be a fun and relaxing experience. I spent time cleaning the room, calling the desk, and waiting on problems to be taken care of. I went out and bought a can of lysol to spray all over with. The carpet was dirty. I will never waste my money there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melaniern1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Asheboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

1st I took pictures and video of room metal pieces sticking out under boxsprings holding bed up sharp edges kids get hurt. Sink does not drain well. Dresser was lost cause 3doors don't close all the way. Stove bottom doesn't close all the way. Mayoress and box springs stained and old.wood rot by the door. Really out dated and most 60 nite hotels just as good. Nice lady working. Pool nice and slides. My last trip here hope this helped

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family found this place after a horrible experience with "false advertising" from the resort across the street.
We have 5 children and brought our little Chihuahua, and the resort we had booked MONTHS in advance.
We were happy to find this cute little resort that accepts pets and had a room big enough for all our family. The staff were absolutely more than hospitable. Very friendly and accomodating. I was really happy with the availability on such short notice. It was centrally located, clean and convenient to the beach. The grounds were well maintained, and the pool and water slides monitored well too! We were able to watch the kids from the balcony.
The only issues we had at all were with the "guests" who were staying in the hotel, they were a little "shady looking" and a little loud. They hung out on the walkways surrounding the pool "learing" at whoever happened to be swimming, we were thankful that they were gone by Sunday morning.
The resort is a little run down and outdated, but very clean and the staff extremely friendly. We were very satisfied.

Room Tip: 3rd floor in the front is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdwalker71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conover, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

General overall condition poor > office staff poor attitude > because of our dog we didn't want the cleaning staff in the room so they didn't feel we needed new towels when ask for them later. Rooms run down and dirty > play ground for the kids not mowed or kept up

Room Tip: dno't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roger s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noyb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

i will never come back and i would never recommend this "resort" to any one not even my worst enemy! my first room the carpet was soaked with moldy water and the wall was filled with black mold!!!!!!!! It was the 1st floor the honey moon "sweet" but hold your noise its not sweet smelling at all. the 2nd room did not have mold and was kinda nice but when i wanted to go back into my old room the lil man at the front desk had such a bad attitude with me. If you want to have a stress free vacation with out having to go through the hassle of making sure you have a clean room and nice people who greet i would say go somewhere else!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: none at this "resort"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kookienoyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennettsville, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Nice hotel, friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms, nice price and family orriented.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg1555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.0 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#138 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef Myrtle Beach
The Reef Myrtle Beach
#158 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
#61 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
224 reviews
3.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Clarion Hotel & Conference Cente...
#129 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#115 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Affordable Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affordable Family Resort

Property: Affordable Family Resort
Address: 2300 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4745 (Formerly Monte Carlo Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#101 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Affordable Family Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything located on one city block between 23rd Ave South and 24th Ave South. Now even closer drive to Airport since the extension of Harrelson Blvd. Less than 2 miles from Myrtle Beach Internation Airport. Just accross street from ocean with serval condos we manage in the building in front of us. We check and inspect all complaints. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Affordable Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affordable Family Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing