We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Shores Motel, Oceana Resorts
Ranked #87 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
east coast
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cute and comfortable”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We booked based on price and reviews and were not disappointed. This is not a new high rise, but a cute, small, old school motel. We have stayed at other Mom&Pops in the area but this one really outclasses them. It is old, but bright, cheerful, well-kept and most of all-clean and Kathy is sincerely friendly and nice! Some small niceties impressed me: towels are not skimpy, but more like towels you would use at home, beds were comfortable (felt like memory foam but I didn't take them apart to see), the efficiency actually had an oven (usually only see cooktops), bathroom was a good size for a small motel, balcony was large enough for 3 chairs and a side table with room to spare. In fact, the efficiency had a total of 8 chairs so somebody wasn't always having to sit on the bed. Motel rules refer to quiet time at night; didn't see a need for enforcement, but I believe it would be. I booked through Oceana online reservations, and check in was smooth. We appreciated the free Wild Water & Wheels passes--look at their website and check out the admission prices there-great value to get free with the room. The only drawbacks have to do with the age of the property and, although they didn't bother us, they might be a concern for someone else so I'll mention those: no elevator (but the motel is only 2 floors), not many accessible electric outlets (and one of those was not a ground plug) so you might have to be creative with charging electronics, showerhead was low and bathtub is small. Overall, we loved it and will return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    25
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
60
25
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My hubby & I were trying to find a place during May 2013 that wasn't too expensive and came upon Holiday Shores. We checked out all the reviews that we could find--even checking Holiday Shores out with the Better Business Bureau---only found 1 bad review in 5-10 years worth of reviews. We realized that the time that we wanted to go was during Spring Bike Rally 2013 and were a little bit leery of going. We went ahead and made our reservation---and boy were we surprised! We arrived before lunch time and were able to get into our room shortly after 1p.m. We couldn't have been more pleased! Instead of dreading our stay--worried beause of motorcycle noise--we had peace and quiet, with only the occassional motorcycle noise. We arrived on Thursday, May15th, and stayed til May 19th. Our room was very neat and clean, beds were confortable, air conditioning was good and cold. While we weren't right on the beach, we were close enough to walk to it in less than 2 minutes. The location of the motel--being on the upper end of Ocean Blvd--was better, as was the price for our stay. We were both so happy with our stay that we are planning on returning in September for at least 10 days for vacation. This trip was a great stress reliever for us--Kathy & the staff were awesome. We are counting the days until September!!!

Room Tip: Upper floor room (overooking the pool area) was great--even having to climb stairs (which actually w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville,NC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently stayed for an Easter weekend getaway and really enjoyed the new flat screen tv's now in the guest rooms......Everything was just beautiful....the grounds were lovely and we look forward to returning soon! Kathy and the staff are super friendly and so accomodating.....our vacation spot of choice! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JesseGreenville_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very clean rooms. excellent guest services, ample parking area, great pool,kid friendly
courtyard Cathy the onsite manager is most helpful with any questions regarding
area attractions.The location was great.
John& Zoey N. VA

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Thanks to Trip Advosor and all the great comments, we decided to book this motel. It took us 2 1/2 days to drive from Montreal so we really hoped the trip would be worth it. It certainly was! The room was very very clean, the pool too and the grounds are very well kept. Cathy was more than helpful as were the maintenance and cleaning staff. Thanks to Linda and David for their quick, efficent and friendly service. The beach is amazing (only 1 block away) and the area is lovely. Far from the busy, bars and souvenir stores yet close enough to go there if you want to. We could walk a block in the opposite direction to the Bone Fish Grill restaurant. Great quality and service for the price. All in all, I would recomment this motel however I don't know what is is like in high season as it is close quarters -, so less intimate when fully booked. Very family-oriented. Hope this helps.

Room Tip: We were in room 104 which is in a corner so a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

NIce and clean place . Jus beware when youre out at the pool someone may have the grill fired up and the aroma's will starve you lol . Yes they have a place you can even cook out . Also have bicycles for your use . Great value for the money

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dancininthesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at the Holiday Shores Motel and had a very good time. The staff was very friendly and the housekeeper Linda was great. She always had a nice smile and are room was very clean. The atmosphere was very relaxing. The location was great at the north end of Ocean Blvd and still not to far from everything. The walk to the beach was very easy. We would definetly stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Villas Beach and Racquet
Ocean Villas Beach and Racquet
#156 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
18 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#72 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
#80 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Northwood
7.2 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.2 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Shores Motel, Oceana Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Shores Motel, Oceana Resorts

Property: Holiday Shores Motel, Oceana Resorts
Address: 7501 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4246 (Formerly Atlantic Dunes)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Shores Motel, Oceana Resorts 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Shores Motel in Myrtle Beach is a nostalgic, well maintained property located just one block from the beach. Holiday Shores is ideal for families and budget minded Myrtle Beach vacationers. We are an economical and family-friendly cozy little getaway. We have laundry onsite, shuffleboard, outdoor grill and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Shores Motel, Oceana Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Shores Motel, Oceana Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Shores Hotel
Holiday Shores Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing