We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Hotel. Not the condos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Sands South
Ranked #88 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Don't let the negative reviews scare you. It seems the condos are the problem. Not the hotel. The only issues I had were that there were no clocks in our room and none of the normal amenities provided by hotels (i.e. coffee, shampoo, conditioner). There is a coffee maker and full kitchen setup. The view was amazing from our private balcony. The suite we had was perfect for our family of four allowing our teenage daughter her own room so she could have some privacy. Parking is not ideal as we had to park across the street almost every night but it's not a long walk at all and the weather was great so we didn't really mind. The staff was friendly and the housekeepers were wonderful. The on-site restaurant had great prices for breakfast and a friendly staff as well. The pool at the hotel was great. The one at the condo property smelled. We would definitely stay here again but only at the hotel. Perfect for family vacation.

Room Tip: Ocean front and the higher floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mommy2divas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-Sands-South, Manager at Holiday Sands South, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to write about your experience at HSS. We really appreciate and respect all of our guests and love to hear feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a positive experience staying in the hotel side. In the future, you may request shampoo from the housekeeping department. We are sorry about any issues the the pools at the condos you may have experienced. I've mentioned your comment to our pool maintenance technicians and we will look into this. Please know that all of our pools are cleaned and maintained several times a day.

On another note, we also manage some of the condos with the same great service in mind. We really look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future! Again, thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 570 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We rented a special through Condolux for the $99 night, Thur-Sun, arrived early at 12, was told room was ready, was advised I was upgraded to an OCEANFRONT unit, drove the app. 3 miles back to property from Condolux, obtained our keys & were in our room by 12:30! The condo was app.700 sq ft., had a flat screen in living room, sleeper sofa, wall bed & wonderful view! Remotes didn't work, called Condolux (Not front desk as advised on check in procedures) & within the hour they brought 2 brand new ones along with sheets for wall bed sofa bed & extra towels I requested for my group of 7 that we had!! They also never hesitated to leave us extra towels, we didn't use housekeeping service because every time they came, someone was napping! Drains were VERY slow in shower (always are at beach)! The only thing I would advise Condolux to implement a change on policy of :would be to work with the front desk on certain after-hour situations....our toilet backed up..called front desk for a plunger was told they couldn't help & call after hours# @ Condolux, well didn't want to wait, drove 3.6 miles to Walmart, bought a plunger, JOB DONE, just think its kind of senseless to have to wait on a Plunger?? Anyway.. overall.....I am very pleased with Holiday Sands South, the beach was beautiful, my nieces & nephews loved the pools & lazy river ( I think they would swim 24/7 if we let them on vacay), plus we had alot of fun playing Bocce ball on the lawn out by the pool as a family!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowlergal300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The first day I get there it was nice .... very clean & its basically like any regular clean hotel ... some people would say its horrible but dont listen to them ... it was great for me and my family .... I recomend u to stay at hss .... <3

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brandyfenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-Sands-South, Manager at Holiday Sands South, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Holiday Sands South in Myrtle Beach, SC. We appreciate your time and opinion! We want to make each and every guest that walks through our doors as happy as possible. It means a lot to us when we hear people take a moment to let us know we've done a good job. Thanks and we hope to see you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

For $200 a night I expected an attempt at cleanliness and service but we were there a full week and they never even swept floor in our room. Pool area was disgusting hot tub had green water in it and no matter what you need they just say call condolux we will never rent there again beware! When I laid in the bed the first night there were broken sunglasses under my sheets and beds in other bedroom had bedbugs biting all my kids so gross!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosetat24me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-Sands-South, Manager at Holiday Sands South, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value each review as we are always working hard by making improvements to keep our property in high standing in the Myrtle Beach area. We are sincerely apologetic that you felt unhappy with the service at our Holiday Sands at South Beach. We recently have experienced a management change on many of the condos at Holiday Sands at South Beach. The management of your unit was transferred to Condolux of Myrtle Beach. With this change in management, there may be different policies and procedures in place.

Please keep in mind Holiday Sands South has always provided inexpensive rates, clean units, and great service with a friendly staff. We will continue to manage some of the condo units at Holiday Sands at South beach with these same great values in mind. It is our sole mission to provide the best accommodations and services at an affordable family rate to our guests and we will continue to work hard for your business. As always, thank you for choosing Holiday Sands South for your vacation in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. Feel free to contact our management team at 800-448-4439 with any questions and concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Check in was smooth and easy. Room was just as described online. Kitchen was supplied with all necessary items. Elevators were as quick as could be expected since there were no vacancies. The first night we called down for sheets for the sofa bed and they were sent right up. The next night called down for extra blankets and they were there almost as
quick as hanging up the phone. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean upon arrival and housekeeping was there everyday although we didn't need our room cleaned they left plenty of towels as we requested. We stayed in an ocean view room on 7th floor and the view was nice. The pools and hot tub were clean and enjoyable. The beach area was crowded and I was a little suprised I thought it wouldn't be as far south as we were. There were many grocery stores close to hotel. Wifi worked well. This is not a five star resort but for the price we paid we could not have asked for better accommodations. The first couple of days we parked in front of motel the rest of our time we had to park across the street but the lot was well lit.

The only bad thing was the tub didn't drain quick. When you showered the water backed up and took time draining, not really surprised in as much sand that goes down the drain.

Holiday Sands South keep up the great work and we look forward to returning again! We give you two thumbs up!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank BigTimeHokieFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-Sands-South, Manager at Holiday Sands South, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind words and taking the time to post a review. We always want to hear the honest opinions of our guests so that we know what people like and ow we can make improvements so that we can continue to offer clean, affordable family accommodations. We are really proud of the fact that we have a really high repeat business. We've become a home away from home to a lot of guests, and that really means a lot to us personally. Also, thank you for letting us know about any drainage problem you experienced. We want you know that you can tell us anything. no matter how small, while you're here! We will do everything in our power to make sure that you are happy! Again, thank you for choosing Holiday Sands South!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have stayed the Holiday Sands South 4 times and were pretty well pleased. We returned in May the weekend prior to Bike Week. On the 2nd day we returned after a day of shopping to see that the hotel side parking lot had been closed to the guests and reserved for special events (motorcycles). The parking was always one of the shortcomings at this hotel with at least 4 of the spots reserved for management who are in their thirties or forties while the senior citizens (me) must park across the street. I know the Bikers bring in a lot of money for one week and that outweighs losing my business twice a year. We all have priorities and mine is to find a new place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-Sands-South, Manager at Holiday Sands South, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

We want to apologize that you were unhappy about our parking during special events - namely Harley Bike Week, Memorial Bike Week, Mustang Week, and Fall Bike Week. We do block off parking strictly for these participants to encourage and welcome the groups. We do have handicap parking and we are more than happy to make an arrangement for you if it is needed - and that's true any time of the year. Again, please accept our apologies and remember all of the positive attributes of HSS like great rates, clean rooms, friendly staff, pool amenities and oceanfront! We really do hope to see you again! Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The pools are nice and well maintained. The staff of the hotel were helpful and very friendly. We always enjoy the restaurant on site. We had reserved a two room efficiency for 6 guests. I was a little surprised to see the rooms were really run down. I understand these rooms are being used routinely with a large turn around rate. However, I was a little disappointed. We previously stayed on the condo side and had a beautiful spacious suite. I guess I was expecting something like this and was let down. I am not sure if I would return or choose another location for our next trip.

Room Tip: Select a room on the 6th floor or above for a nice view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Staci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday-Sands-South, Manager at Holiday Sands South, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for choosing Holiday Sands South!! We really appreciate your business, and especially your time that you dedicated in writing this review. We're sorry that you felt the rooms to be outdated, but we do a a lot of yearly updating to keep our property in high standing in the Myrtle Beach area. This past year, we painted rooms, laid down new carpet, updated appliances as need, and put in brand new flat screen TVs in each room. We also gave our lobby a makeover! The condos at Holiday Sands at South Beach is a newer building and does offer more modern amenities such as washer / dryer in the unit and a dishwasher. It also costs slightly higher. We want to be able to offer a room type that fits the need of about anyone. Again, we really do appreciate you and your family very, very much. Thank you for choosing Holiday Sands South!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#75 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#108 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#140 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
2.0 mi away
Windsurfer Hotel
Windsurfer Hotel
#56 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Sands South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Sands South

Address: 2411 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4746
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $75 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Sands South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Sands South Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands South Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands Hotel South Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing