We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Sands South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Sands South
Ranked #67 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Read mixed reviews before staying here...very skeptical about it initially. It decent. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo with ocean view. Huge balcony, 2 bathrooms, washer/dryer, kitchen with dishes, flay screen TV in living room area. The beds were not comfortable. The lazy river, hot tub, and kid super shallow pool and pool located on the ground floor are really nice and convenient. The beach in this area is pretty crowded but people were friendly. Overall, I enjoyed my trip. We ended up booking an extra night and paying for one night separately made me realize what a bargain we got for an entire week.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shortstuff33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    188
    79
    36
    43
See reviews for
242
116
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shelbiana, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Have always stayed at Holiday Sands when vacationing in Myrtle Beach good prices and lots to do clean very handy close to every thing love staying there.
Have stayed there for years. Have taken a lot of friends to this Motel they all have very satisfied with the service they have recieved while visiting there. Thanks Holiday Sands for making my vacaton very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Any ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Rooms and furniture are old and falling apart. Rooms with side view (what side view except of next building) are so small! Staff treated us like they were doing us a favor to take their time to check us in instead of treating us like welcomed guests. Beware - you really do get what you pay for if you stay here. This will definitely be the first and last time we stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taterbaby216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife was looking for a 2 bedroom condo with some indoor water areas for our children and told me about Holiday Sands South. I looked up the place and the reviews were mixed but we booked it anyway. Wow!!! Our 2 bedroom ocean view condo was great. Very up to date and was clean. The beds were not the greatest but nothing is ever as good as your bed at home. We will definitely be back again. What a bargain.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilhoit23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I went for a bike week event May 25- May 27 2012. It was a great location. Budget friendly. Very nice staff. The room was average but it was clean. One of my roomates said she seen a roach run across the stove but i didnt see it. The only other thing was the elevator smelled (of throw-up) on the 2nd day but was cleaned by the 3rd day.<i guess someone had a accident>. Other than that it was nice. Multiple pools and Heated pool (Jacuzzi) was great!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamaican_dyme06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

After staying at the condo for 3 years, this last experience may be our last stay. We love the location and have previously had positive experiences, but it appears that some things in the condo are not updated well year-to-year. The mattresses in the room in which we stayed were very worn. You could actually see the indentions in the mattresses. It did not bother us until after the second night. Mine and my husband's back hurt so badly that we used the pull-down bed for the following 3 nights of our stay. We also had an issue with the lock sticking to the balcony door to the point that we could not open the door. We notified the front desk and they sent someone up to "fix" it, but it only ended up sticking several times after that. The wireless internet also stopped working after the 3rd night. Again, we notified the front desk and someone came up to "fix" it. It worked fine for about 15 minutes and then did not work again. Out of frustration and not wanting to be bothered with another repair, we just let that issue go. Other than these issues, I do feel that this is a nice place to stay for the price. But, I will plan to actually look at my room in person before booking an entire week again. We just can't endure the poor maintenance, especially since one of the issues was the mattress.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The newer condo part of the building is nice. The pool/lazy river area is great for the kids and a lot more than what you normally see at hotels in this price range. There's also a small onsite restaurant that has decent food at good prices. Nothing special but definitely good for a quick breakfast or lunch.

You really can't beat this hotel for the price. There's not a lot in this price range on the ocean front, and you'll be pleasantly surprised with the quality of Holiday Sands South.

Room Tip: Higher floors obviously better for the view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wesleybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#77 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#95 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Seas Hotel
Tropical Seas Hotel
#127 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#133 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#39 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#93 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Sands South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Sands South

Property: Holiday Sands South
Address: 2411 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4746
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Sands South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Sands South Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands South Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands Hotel South Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing