We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Sands South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Sands South
Ranked #67 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The newer condo part of the building is nice. The pool/lazy river area is great for the kids and a lot more than what you normally see at hotels in this price range. There's also a small onsite restaurant that has decent food at good prices. Nothing special but definitely good for a quick breakfast or lunch.

You really can't beat this hotel for the price. There's not a lot in this price range on the ocean front, and you'll be pleasantly surprised with the quality of Holiday Sands South.

Room Tip: Higher floors obviously better for the view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wesleybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    188
    79
    36
    43
See reviews for
242
116
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Statesville, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My race team recently had the pleasure of staying at the Holiday Sands South Hotel. The rooms were very clean, beds were comfortable, and the staff was EXTREMELY nice. Jeff, one of the front desk clerks, was very helpful, very polite and went out of his way to help in any way necessary. I would definitely recommend this hotel,

Room Tip: Ocean view room on the fifth floor was great !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RacinMom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in the new condo part of the hotel and it is the nicest and cleanest room we have ever stayed in. Look forward to visiting them again. The room is very up to date with flat screen Tv's and wifi internet. It's more like an apartment than a hotel room. Nice balcony over looking the ocean. The staff was very friendly and always ask if there was anything we needed. We were there for the Fall bike rally. They even supplied towels to dry the bikes off after a rain shower.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ericdjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was our first time to stay at Holiday Sands south, but will not be the last time to stay here.
We were pleased with the hotel and the staff. No complaints at all. Every thing was clean, well maintained, very roomy and comfortable.

Room Tip: Our room was ocean front which had a great view of the ocean , enjoyed the balcony, which was a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANIMALLOVERNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkin, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is a dump!!! We have stayed there in the past and never thought it would have been like this!!! We haven't been on vacation in awhile so we went this past weekend. Was looking forward to having a much needed relaxing weekend with my kids. Got there late at night got in the room and settled. Had to get them to bring sheets for the pull out couch that looked bad anyway but had to have somewhere for all of us to sleep. Got the sheets which looked stained an old. Didn't even bring us pillows but just as well. We had brought some from home. All of us went to sleep and got woke up before 8am with my son yelling there is bugs in my bed. OMG!! There were bed bugs all in the bed!!! I was furious it was so awful!!! It mad me so sick to think they had been in the bed with us. We had to call the front desk an they sent someone up to check the room. He said we had to leave the room and they would give us another room. We ended up getting our money back and leaving was not staying there no more!!! We had to go to the laundry mat and wash all our clothes. Had to waste most of the day with that and finding somewhere else to stay. So this was not the vacation we had hoped for!!! Would not ever stay here again!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in the condo building for 5 days in sept-oct 2012. Our expectations were consistently exceeded by this little oceanfront jewel. It is clean, well maintained, spacious, and comfortable. The staff was the best part to me. Everyone is friendly and dedicated to customer service. There is an onsite restaurant which offers breakfast and lunch options. The food is decent and the prices are very fair. I recommend the omelet and the gravy biscuit. Its nice to be able to get something to eat without getting in the car and fighting traffic. Or you can cook in your condo which is also nice. The heated pools, hot tubs, and lazy river were all nice and refreshing. And the oceanfront location is perfect. We observed dolphins and many schools of fish from our balcony. The toilet in the master bath leaked and was repaired within 30 minutes after the front desk was notified. Again, fantastic customer service. We highly recommend this condo hotel and will be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: The handicap accessible are on the lower floors of the condo building. Views are better from the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shanunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just got home last pm, after a weeks stay there. Great location, great prices and great amenities! The only criticism I have is the quality of the mattresses. Our backs hurt all week, and there were several other guests who complained of the very same thing. Holiday Sands South Owners, invest in some pillow top mattress and start systemactically changing them. We would have paid a bit more for a better mattress. The Cafe was great and the prices so cheap. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildcatswer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#77 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#95 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 875 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Seas Hotel
Tropical Seas Hotel
#127 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#133 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#39 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,039 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#93 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Sands South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Sands South

Property: Holiday Sands South
Address: 2411 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4746
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Sands South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Sands South Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands South Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands Hotel South Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing