We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Believe The Excellent Reviews !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Sands North
Ranked #79 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Believe The Excellent Reviews !”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Place was Horrible! Rooms were Nasty! There was still food crumbs in the floor. Room was Musty and Dusty! Could not hardly sleep due to allergy problems. They have drop ceilings in the bathrooms. I did not look but those are not to be used in wet environments. Mold Will Grow There! Beds were Rock Hard. Loud Music and "Pimped Out" cars with loud exhaust covered the roads and were trying to "show off" and Noise was constant. Constant yelling and hollering from balconies, and between hotels. Will Never go back again. They are happy to take your money, don't expect to see it again. You will get a run around from the people at the front desk saying that have to check with "Management". Pool facilities were Nasty also. You could see the gunk floating in the pool. Never again. All of the good reviews must come from employees or owners. No way anyone would think this is an excellent place.

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 219JamesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garett W, Manager at Holiday Sands North, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear 219JamesB,

Thank you for your recent stay at Holiday Sands North. We take great pride in dealing with our customers in a friendly, polite and efficient manner.

Thanks for taking the time to post a review on your most recent experience at Holiday Sands North “On the Boardwalk”. In trying to comment on you review—our property is located in Downtown Myrtle Beach along the 1.2 mile Myrtle Beach Boardwalk and Ocean Boulevard, so there is an increase in street noise as the Summer Season approaches. Many times some of these issues can be avoided by doing some research prior to making a reservation and determining which area of Myrtle Beach you are interested in vacationing—for example, Downtown Myrtle Beach, South Beach area or the northern end of Myrtle Beach. As far as “constant yelling and hollering from balconies, and between hotels” we have private on site security that is contracted and this helps to alleviate these situations as we make every effort to keep a quiet, family atmosphere for our guests/patrons. However, even these measures will not stop every situation and sometimes other steps may have to be taken. Our pools and pool decks are checked multiple times daily and if a situation arises it is dealt with in a timely manner. The water quality and surrounding pool deck areas are monitored and checked a minimum of 3-4 times daily and are checked more often as the season gets busier and we have more guests/patrons using our pools and pool decks. As far as “gunk floating in the pool”, the only thing floating in the pools may possibly be pollen, which would be skimmed, during the spring months and on occasion the hot tubs/spas will need a de-foaming agent added to the water. As far as our staff, from housekeeping, front desk to management, we have some of the best “Southern Hospitality” you will find in the Myrtle Beach area and they are second to none. As far as “you will get a run around from the people at the front desk saying that have to check with “Management”, I personally work the front desk from 8:00 AM until 4:30 PM daily (excluding Tuesdays and Sundays) and Tommy is available at the front desk on those two days. A manager is readily available every day for a guest/patron to speak with from 8:00 AM through 4:30 PM and at many other times outside of these hours. Our rooms are clean, updated and affordable and we are constantly making improvement to our resort. As far as the accusation “All of the good reviews must come from the employees or owners. No way anyone would think this is an excellent place” says a lot about the type of individual with which we are dealing.

We are very open to comments and suggestions, as there is always room for improvements so long as they are factual.

Thanks again for choosing Holiday Sands North “On the Boardwalk”.

Sincerely,
Garett Williams—Manager
Holiday Sands North “On the Boardwalk”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    149
    93
    68
    76
See reviews for
255
156
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taylorsville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been staying at Holiday Sands North for several years and have never had an unpleasant experience. From Gaye in reservations, Eva who is an excellent housekeeper on the 4th floor, to Garret, Jeremy, and Jason in the front office we are treated just like family! Our rooms have always been clean - not fancy or lavish but certainly clean and well stocked. We just returned from our annual Easter trip and again were pleased with the service we received. We return to Holiday Sands several times a year and are pleased to recommend this hotel to others!

Room Tip: We have stayed in both buildings and wouldn't say either was better than the other. Our persona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Libby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garett W, Manager at Holiday Sands North, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Libby P,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review on your most recent experience at Holiday Sands North “On the Boardwalk”. We frequently print these reviews for our staff to read and make the necessary improvements for your next visit. These reviews quickly remind us what we work so hard to achieve—providing our patrons with a wonderful, unforgettable vacation at an affordable price. We really want to know about each guest’s experience with us. We are very open to comments and suggestions, as there is always room for improvements. We also appreciate your kind words.

Thanks again for choosing Holiday Sands North “On the Boardwalk”.

Sincerely,

Garett Williams - Manager
Holiday Sands North “On the Boardwalk”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I actually just came back this morning, overall I thought it was pretty clean and comfortable. Everyone stayed to them selves but were friendly,I love the fact that it even smelt bleachy(proof of clean)of course the TVs were old but at least they had cable. The price was awesome. I overall loved it, I also loved the fact that it wasn't a five star but it was an average quality hotel. They have my business

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princesszx1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garett W, Manager at Holiday Sands North, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Princesszx1127,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review on your most recent experience at Holiday Sands North “On the Boardwalk”. We frequently print these reviews for our staff to read and make the necessary improvements for your next visit. These reviews quickly remind us what we work so hard to achieve—providing our patrons with a wonderful, unforgettable vacation at an affordable price. We really want to know about each guest’s experience with us. We are very open to comments and suggestions, as there is always room for improvements. We also appreciate your kind words.

Thanks again for choosing Holiday Sands North “On the Boardwalk”.

Sincerely,

Garett Williams - Manager
Holiday Sands North “On the Boardwalk”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is so far down the strip we had to drive everywhere which sucked, they offer two diff pools but you have to walk outside to get to the other pool (this was March) so you freeze if you choose to do so! We also had a problem with ants in the pool, my 11 yr old was bitten several times and when we went to the management the guy just came out and brushed the sidewalk around the pool but never skimmed the pool to get the ants out! Then said it was because of the construction going on in the pool area, no excuse for my child being bit! The elevator still moves while the doors are opening which is dangerous to me! The hotel was as clean as one this outdated could be I guess, but was just not impressed with the condition. The staff was never friendly when you come in or out and you have to pass through the lobby every time! I personally will never choose this establishment again unless they put the TLC in it that is needed!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adwaters79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garett W, Manager at Holiday Sands North, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Adwaters79,

Thank you for your recent stay at Holiday Sands North. We take great pride in dealing with our customers in a friendly, polite and efficient manner.

Thanks for taking the time to post a review on your most recent experience at Holiday Sands North “On the Boardwalk”. In trying to comment on you review—our property is located in Downtown Myrtle Beach along the 1.2 mile Myrtle Beach Boardwalk, so as far as the comment of our property being “located so far down the strip we had to drive everywhere” I’m not sure how to answer? Our resort is centrally located in Myrtle Beach and, as with most of the resorts in Myrtle Beach area, driving is required to get around—everything is NOT in walking distance of the resort and we do not advertise that it is. The weather in March can be very unpredictable and quite cool or cold—it is still winter. Our pools, which are heated, are located in both buildings and if you chose to use both pool areas you will have to walk between the two buildings that are approximately 25 yards apart. As far as ants in the pool area I am not aware of any situations involving ants. Our pools and pool decks are checked multiple times daily and if a situation arises it is dealt with in a timely manner. The water quality and surrounding pool deck areas are monitored and checked a minimum of 3-4 times daily and are checked more often as the season gets busier and we have more patrons using our pools and pool decks. As far as our staff, from housekeeping, front desk to management, we have some of the best “Southern Hospitality” you will find in the Myrtle Beach area and they are second to none. Our guests or patrons can come through our lobby or office in either building each and every time they enter and exit our resort; however, you do NOT have to pass through the lobby or office when entering and exiting our resort, which is stated in this review. As far as TLC, we are constantly making improvement to our resort. We frequently print these reviews for our staff to read and make the necessary improvements for your next visit. These reviews quickly remind us what we work so hard to achieve—providing our patrons with a wonderful, unforgettable vacation at an affordable price. We really want to know about each guest’s experience with us. We are very open to comments and suggestions, as there is always room for improvements.

Thanks again for choosing Holiday Sands North “On the Boardwalk”.

Sincerely,

Garett Williams—Manager
Holiday Sands North “On the Boardwalk”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, TN
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband went to this hotel for a week on our honeymoon. I was a little scared because of reviews. The stay was good. We didn't any problems. There was some renovations going on, we were hardly ever there during the times so it didn't bother us. The cleanliness was good. I will defiantly be back. It was a great for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tn423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garett W, Manager at Holiday Sands North, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear tn423,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review on your most recent experience at Holiday Sands North “On the Boardwalk”. We frequently print these reviews for our staff to read and make the necessary improvements for your next visit. These reviews quickly remind us what we work so hard to achieve—providing our patrons with a wonderful, unforgettable vacation at an affordable price. We really want to know about each guest’s experience with us. We are very open to comments and suggestions, as there is always room for improvements. We also appreciate your kind words.

Thanks again for choosing Holiday Sands North “On the Boardwalk”.

Sincerely,

Garett Williams - Manager
Holiday Sands North “On the Boardwalk”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We went to get away for a few days and relax and all we got was racket and rudenesss! We were woken up in the morn to jack hammering coming from the room next door! And it continued for hours! And when we complained about it, we were met with "Oh well," "you can leave," and made to feel like I wasn't welcome. I'm telling everyone I know to stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucky485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garett W, Manager at Holiday Sands North, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Lucky485,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review on your most recent experience at Holiday Sands North “On the Boardwalk”. We are in the process of working through some renovations (for example—new flat screen HDTVs, new ranges and new refrigerators) to improve our property which, will in the end, allow us to offer our guest more. We make every effort to do these improvements during the off-season, which is the case now. In addition, we also do not start these improvements daily until after 9:00-9:30 AM in the mornings and stop around 5:00 PM in the afternoons (Monday through Friday), as is the case here. When I spoke with you on the telephone I apologized and tried to explain the situation—you weren’t interested. In addition, I made two offers to you to try and remedy the situation—1st I offered to move you to one of our ocean front jacuzzi suites in our south tower where we are not doing any improvements at the time (in which you were not interested) and 2nd I offered to refund your money for the stay (in which you were not interested either). I feel I make every effort to remedy the situation and again I apologized for the inconvenience. We only have 4-5 months to make our necessary improvements to our property and we know that it does inconvenience our guest at certain times, but we do make every effort to keep the inconveniences at a minimum. Thanks again for choosing Holiday Sands North “On the Boardwalk”.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this review, you can contact me directly at (800) 448-1091.

Sincerely,

Garett Williams—Manager
Holiday Sands North “On the Boardwalk”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I took a weekend get-away trip to Myrtle Beach, South Carolina and stayed at the Holiday Sands North. Woke up Sunday morning to several bites from a bed bug. Huge welt and all..found bed bug in pillowcase. Reported to Thomas, the manager and brought the bed bug in a cup so manager could see. Manager admitted it was a bed bug, but refused to refund our stay, however, he called his maintenance crew to strip room, headboards, etc., and told us to call back regarding refund after he got the exterminators in to rid the room of the "blood suckers." Horrible management, dirty rooms, and bed bugs. The oceanfront room could not compete with the bed bug bites!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the older building (building without pool). Hotel room was dirty, floors (carpets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank mts2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garett W, Manager at Holiday Sands North, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear mts2007,

Thank you for your recent stay at Holiday Sands North and thanks for bringing to our attention the frustration you have experienced at our resort. We take great pride in dealing with our customers in a friendly, polite and efficient manner.

In order to offer our patrons a bug free environment, we outsource our exterminating to professionals, Lane’s Professional Pest Elimination, Inc., who are considered the best in the area. Here at Holiday Sands North we strive to keep our property free of all bugs, whether it is a bed bug, roach, ant or any other type. Our property is treated monthly and we are very proactive in our efforts to keep our property bed bug free. Our staff, from housekeeping to management, is trained to recognize bed bugs and educated in the process of inspecting each and every unit for the presence of bed bugs, which is still the best method for detecting them. We have a very detailed protocol for the inspection (proactive approach) and the treatment (reactive approach) of bed bugs. We are confident that our process is very detailed and very effective and any issue we may have is isolated and exterminated.

In response to your concern, we contacted Lane’s Professional Pest Elimination, Inc. on Monday morning to inspect the unit in question. After a thorough inspection of the unit, the results of the inspection were negative for bed bugs as well as all surrounding units. Again, we take great pride regarding the cleanliness of our property and would never let any guest stay in a unit that could potentially be unsafe.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding this review, you can contact me directly at (800) 448-1091.

Sincerely,

Garett Williams—Manager
Holiday Sands North “On the Boardwalk”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,203 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Sands South
Holiday Sands South
#84 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windsurfer Hotel
Windsurfer Hotel
#59 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#138 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
688 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Sands North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Sands North

Property: Holiday Sands North
Address: 400 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Sands North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-oriented oceanfront resort that caters to families and couples. Centrally located on the Myrtle Beach Boardwalk & Promenade the Holiday Sands North is located near numerous entertainment venues, golf courses, shops and restaurants. Come and enjoy the best Myrtle Beach has to offer at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Sands North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Sands North Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Sands North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing