We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bermuda Sands Motel
Ranked #158 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

After reading all of the bad reviews, I was nervous about staying here. But, from the time we pulled in to the parking lot, checked in, rode the elevator to the 3rd floor and opened the door to our room, we were pleasantly surprised. The outside was as clean as any public place. The elevator did not smell. The room was a little outdated, but very clean. The view from our balcony was amazing. It's close to everything, including the boardwalk which is 5 feet from the back of the building. I never felt unsafe or worried that someone would break in to the room. The fireworks on Wednesday nights are wonderful. The staff was very friendly and the cleaning staff was very good. It is pet friendly so the four legged family members can enjoy it as well. Although we didn't use the pool area, the pools were clean. We just prefer the beach. I will definitely stay here again. Had a wonderful, relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    97
    71
    62
    335
See reviews for
298
162
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I agree with the majority of the reviews about the poor conditions and uncleanliness of the building. Electrical outlets were hanging from the walls, mold on the bathroom ceiling. The conditions of hallways were awful. Every time I left the room there were beer bottles In the hallway. We had 6 people in a room that slept six but they would only provide 4 towels at a time. I was very upset about the conditions of my stay and wish I had read reviews before making reservations. Unfortunately all that was not the worst of my stay. My 13 year old forgot his cell phone in the room and was stolen (which had to be by motel staff). When reported to the front office they just said anyone could have taken it and was not apologetic in any way at all. Mathis has been the worst vacation experience of my life!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Well before we left home and reading these reviews I was scared of this place. But since arriving its not bad at all. I would recommend Bermuda sand if your looking for a good place to stay at an affordable price this is it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bradelindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Wonderful stay, very clean rooms and pools also were clean. Very friendly staff and very helpful. I read bad reviews on this site and don't know what they are talking about . We had no problems and stayed 5 nights.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Starboth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is your typical older, beach front hotel. Not a high-rise. It seems to be trapped in perpetual spring break. But if you aren't picky and not planning to spend a lot of time in the room, it's great. There Is an elevator but we only used it once. The room we had was equipped with three queen sized beds, a single bath and a ocean view balcony. Everything here is older and a little worn an dated. There was a kitchenette with an apt. sized fridge, microwave, small oven and sink. The cabinets had all you need for cooking basic meals. Soap, toilet paper and towels were furnished. We were on the third floor so it wasn't hard to walk up. The outdoor pool area has a toddler pool with waterpark style features like those mushroom/umbrellas where the water runs off of them and sprinkles down on you. That is encircled with a "lazy river". There are indoor pools also but we didn't use them. A generous deck has lounge chairs. Not all of them are in good working condition. Every single staff member I encountered was VERY kind and helpful. The hotel is located within easy walking distance of convenience stores, family attractions and some restaurants. Easy access to the oceanfront/beach was a plus for sure! The 2nd Ave. Pier is right next to this property. Parking in the lots next to the hotel was limited but they share a parking area across the street that was very easy to get in and out of. Just be very careful crossing the street! If you are looking for luxury, or are picky, skip this property. If you are ok with a basic place to sleep and shower so you can visit the beach and area attractions, this is your place. The rate was reasonable given the fact that we arrived a few days after July 4th. Housekeeping did a great job of keeping the room tidy and they were fast & friendly. In spite of being pretty packed when we arrived, we didn't have any disturbances or loud people around us. No kids running the "halls' This was a plus for us.

Room Tip: If you are looking for peace and quiet, do not get a room over looking the pool area. The pool stays...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Tn
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Families traveling to Myrtle Beach BEWARE of this motel. It is Nasty, unsafe, gross, one of the worst I have ever stayed at, ever. If you will take a quick look at my reviews, I give my honest opinion and almost all are positive reviews, so you can see that I don't just make things up about places. You really must BEWARE of this motel. Drugs on the balconies, broken doors, garbage not taken off for days, broken locks, the pool area nasty, trash laying in the same spot at the pool for days, a beer bottle in the same spot for four days! Loud, loud, thin walls, drunks everywhere. Teenagers drinking and smoking marijuana, NO SECURITY on weekends or any day of the week. Very minimal parking, only a few spaces near the hotel. If you are planning on staying in Myrtle Beach and you have any family values and take children or elderly people with you, DO NOT STAY HERE!! You will regret it from the minute you get to the room, or better yet when you see all the trash in the stairwells, smell the urine in the stairwells, see some of the people staying there. Please do yourself a favor and find a better place than the Bermuda Sands Motel in Myrtle Beach. There were cigarette ashes in the tissue dispenser (see photo), a small Baggie with either cocaine residue or meth residue in it (see photo) on the walkway in front of the room! Charged us 99.00 a night when we booked in advance, but while we were there, the same exact room was 45.00 a night! Must I remind you, NO SECURITY!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Filthy, old, nasty, smelly, dirty....just plain horrible. Do not stay here. The pictures will fool you, mold and mildew, doors that don't lock. AC units are half broke, this place is just plain nasty and needs condemning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandboxpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#77 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#90 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#137 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Windsurfer Hotel
Windsurfer Hotel
#63 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#152 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bermuda Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bermuda Sands Motel

Property: Bermuda Sands Motel
Address: 104 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4042
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bermuda Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Bermuda Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermuda Sands Hotel Myrtle Beach
Bermuda Sands Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing