We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUNTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #75 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed May 19, 2010

A great family place! we traveled as two adults,2 teenagers, and 2 infants and there was something for everyone! We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo and there was more then enough room for all 6 females and there STUFF:) The Resort was clean and the satff was very friendly. It was easy to get to any store, everything was close by. The beach was clean and beautiful and there was a watersport rental right next door. Unfortunatly when we where there the closest pier was closed. Directly across the street there is a small amousment park that is only open on the weekends (It was a little noisy and bright those nights). My only complaint (if you can call it a complaint) was that there were not enough lougage racks and that at check inn time the need more staff on site, even if its just to answer the phone the clerks can focus on the guest in front of them.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSG9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what more we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,558 - 1,564 of 1,686 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2010

Before reserving my vacation at the westgate myrtle beach I read all the reviews possible and had mixed feelings about my decision on staying there. To my suprise all of the reviews were crap and I totally enjoyed my stay at the westgate, we stayed in a one bedroom studio and it was beautiful with granite countertops, walk in shower, flat screen tvs, etc. I think the reviews that were negative were people that stayed in the hotel side which may be a little run down, not sure, but my vacation was great and I would recommend the westgate anytime!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1OneLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what more we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

We spent the majority of our vacation at Baywatch Condo's in North Myrtle Beach. It was wonderful. .The beach was quiet the area was nice and clean. Like two different worlds. We then went to NC to meet with our realtor and stayed at the Franklin Hotel in Chapel Hill, NC , which is 5 star and just beautiful. Since we had to fly out of Myrtle we decided to get a hotel closer to airport for last ngt there. What a MISTAKE. This place was nasty...the location is nasty the rooms were old with loud wall air conditioners. The balcony's were right on top of each other with no privacy. The beach was crowded and all ...Not Good!! If I were you , stay in North Myrtle at Baywatch or somewhere close to that or stay all the way South near Merles Inlet (spelling??) where they have some nicer upscale high rises.
Good Luck and enjoy your Vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rozy288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what more we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

Front desk manager was rude, argued, and did not manage problems that arose in our condo. Pull out sofa beds were very uncomfortable so if you need extra sleeping space, don't plan on being able to sleep extra people comfortably. Front desk folks said things like "we tell people to bank the beds with extra blankets".....obviously it's a problem they hear about often.

After acknowledging that the pull outs are a problem, they would not offer any solution other than padding the pull outs with extra blankets. We discussed adding another hotel style room to our week but the cost was extraordinary and Westgate refused to provide additional comfortable sleeping quarters.

Other front desk staff were geneally uninformed or just too busy to know what was going on. We'd call to ask the concierge a question and the front desk staff would say there is no concierge in. We'd go to the lobby a few minutes later and there would be two of them right there.

The oddest thing is this hotels frugal dispense of toilet paper. It's almost silly to mention but the rolls must be the tiniest rolls we've ever seen. We'd have to call to have them replaced they would either not bring up more rolls or it would take hours.

It was very frustrating that Westgate was not concerned with our discomfort or our frustration with their organization. We've been at other Westgate resorts before and by far, Westgate Myrtle Beach was bizarrely off what we've been accustomed to in a Westgate Resort.

Most importantly, if you have your heart set on Westgate Myrtle Beach...bring your own toilet paper.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what more we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Smooth check-in, clean spacious rooms were just the beginning of our family vacation. The staff was fabulous, especially Jackie at the fron reception counter. She was always pleasant, and helpful to each and everyone who came to the desk for help. She did everything possible to help make our vacation a fun and worry-frree time. Danielle in activities was always smiling and a helpful resource, as well. These two ladies are an integral part of the total Westgate holiday experience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annmhawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what more we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

I booked this hotel online after much deliberation (there are so many choices!). The beds are very small. My fiance and I had to sleep in separate beds because he was so uncomfortable at 6'3" (so much for romance!). The place was dated, which is fine, but the housekeeping was very poor, eventhough we left a large tip each day. The concierge was clueless, but very friendly and printed our boarding passes for us, which saved us a huge hassel.

Best feature: We slept with the doors to the oceanview balcony open. I loved hearing the surf and seeing the sunrise.

Worst Experience: I asked the concierge where are the best grits in town (I am from the south and make my own, but thought surely there would be a great home-spun spot to visit), and he said to stay at the hotel, the grits are as good as any. Well, my fiance believed him. It was an okay breakfast, but not home-made or anything great, and for $7.95 each I thought we could have found SOMETHING better?

It wasn't horrible. Things on the beach are going to be more run down because of the constant humidity, which I understand, but I don't get the poor housekeeping. I wouldn't stay here again, I would try my luck with another beachfront, as there are so many to choose from.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what more we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

I was travelling with my 17 and 13 year old kids, along with my friend and her 18 year old daughter. The husbands were travelling on business and it was spring break, so we thought we'd indulge the kids and with a trip to their favorite (my least) beach. We were put in the South Tower, which was just built. We rented a 2 bedroom condo and a 1bedroom condo that were connected. I was leery because of my recent visits to Myrtle Beach, and because the price was so reasonable. We were all blown away by our accommodations. Granite counter tops, tile flooring, beautiful bathrooms and views. We ended up extending our stay. I could actually forget where we were while in the hotel and on their beach. I'm trying to find a weekend that I can return with my husband, who is a true hotel snob - he'll be impressed. The staff was great - couldn't have been friendlier.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jschris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2015

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what more we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.5 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
0.8 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,278 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#66 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,369 reviews
6 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#21 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Address: 415 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4053 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $73 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular Oceanfront Vacation Getaway Enjoy an amazing vacation with the entire family on the white-sand beaches of the Grand Strand at the beautiful Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, which lies in the heart of the bustling coastal resort of Myrtle Beach. Located across the street from Family Kingdom Amusement Park and just 2.5 miles from the bustling Broadway at the Beach venue. Each of the resort's spacious, beautifully decorated villas features a fully equipped kitchen or kitchenette, sleeper sofa and furnished balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing