We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend spent with the family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #75 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We choose the Westgate based on a recommendation from a family member. We were there in November for a girls softball tournament. Overall, the westgate had a very pleasant staff. I was extremely impressed by the room they gave us. The night manager, Trevor Jonas, had to be thanked for that one. He recognized a small incident during our check in process where a young lady was not using her etiquette, and cutting in line. Trevor noted this, and when it was our turn to check in, he apologized for her, and provided us with an upgrade. Very nice and un expected.
The pools were all heated outside, so the kids had a great time as well.
We ate breakfast in the hotel, which was OK, but again I was very impressed with the service. The lady running the buffet was very helpful and asked if we would like anything outside the buffet, which was perfect.
Overall, I would diffinately return to the Westgate. Note, there are going through and expansion of the development, so if you are going to stay there make sure you ask ahead of time if construction has started.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tower with an ocean view, 16th floor.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are happy that you were able to enjoy the lazy river and heated pools and that you took advantage of our breakfast buffet. All of our staff looks forward to the next time you stay with us.
Sincerely,
Lucía

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,668)
There are newer reviews for Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

903 - 909 of 1,668 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed at Westgate Myrtle Beach and had a great time. We stayed in November and had beautiful weather. The staff at the hotel is what impressed us. Everyone we encountered seemed as if they would be glad to go out of their way to help whatever issue we had. We had a nice oceanfront room (very basic), but suited us for the short 2 night stay that we were there for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbarawfxt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, it's always nice when the weather cooperates! We expect all of our staff to provide you with excellent customer service and make of your vacation a memorable experience. We would love for you to join us during your next Myrtle Beach vacation and look forward to your arrival.
Sincerely,
Lucía

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Let me start by saying that this was not a bad place to stay. There were just a few inconveniences/issues that would make us choose another place to stay if traveling to MB again.

The good: The location is convenient to the beach, and provides easy access to Kings Highway (Route 17). We stayed in the "North Tower" which appeared to be a newer section, and the room was clean and comfortable. There was an issue with our reservation (not booked directly through the resort, so not their fault) but the situation was handled quickly and efficiently by Trevor, one of the managers. The other staff members we encountered were also friendly and helpful.

The bad: The first night when we arrived we decided to order room service since we were exhausted. The pizza we ordered tasted like it had been frozen and reheated...not very good. The resort provides Wi-Fi access, but it cost us almost $40 for the week...many other places we've stayed provide this as a complimentary service. The "tower" rooms, which apparently are the condo type rooms, are in a totally separate building from the check-in area, with only a small amount of parking spaces. We were there in off-season (November) and the lot was full almost all the time. Also, the laundry facilities are in the main building, which was kind of inconvenient for us (maybe some of the larger condo units have laundry in the units...not sure). One evening we decided to find a vending machine to get some sodas. After trying 5+ floors, we finally found one that worked (on some floors, there were vending areas, but no machines) only to find that for $2 you get a CAN of soda or a SMALL bottle of water...kind of steep in my opinion. One of the days we were there was kind of chilly and not really an outdoor activity kind of day. After calling the front desk, we were told that movies were available to rent from the lobby. We went down only to be told that the machine wasn't in service (maybe the person we spoke to on the phone could have provided this information?).

Anyway, this was by no means a bad vacation. But if you're considering staying here, these are some things you might want to be aware of prior to booking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Allows to thank you for mentioning how well located our resort is. We are very glad that you enjoyed your accommodations and that our staff was able to assist you with your check in. Indeed our larger units do have washer and dryer in the room and as you experienced we do offer a laundry facility for guest and owner use. We are sorry if there were any challenges that took away from your vacation. We only ask for the opportunity of seen you back at the resort, so that we may provide you with the best vacation possible.
Sincerely,
Lucía

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

this is our second time visiting this resort. when we arrived our oceanfront room wasn't ready from an oversight, but thanks to excellant customer service of staff ( nyteli) , this oversight turned into a fantisy vacation, she put us in the north tower, in a wonderful, clean appartment size room, it was an ocean front condo with all the comforts of home, kitchen, living room dinning area, washer, dryer, walk in shower with a jacuzzi beside our kingsize bed. we spent a week enjoying everything the resort and the myrtle beach has to offer. the outdoor pools, lazy river, heated spa etc. that you see in pictures on hotel site are as amazing as they look. the outdoor swimming pool is surprisingly and comfortably heated to take a swim without shivering. (thats what we call truly heated pool). the breakfast buffet is good and reasonably priced ($7.99 and includes drinks).

the resort itself is very conviniently located with everything at walking distance. from what i can see the parking is limited but it was not an issue for us as this is not a peak season.

Room Tip: if you don't have oceanfront room reserved, check with the front desk how you can get an upgrade...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirleySandhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

We are so happy that our staff was able to not just meet but exceed your expectations of your stay at Myrtle Beach. All of our staff is there to make sure you enjoy and have the best time possible. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of our amenities like our heated pool and breakfast buffet. We trust it will not be long before we see you back at our resort; we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Lucía

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Westgate has always been and will always be one of our favorite places to stay.
The atmosphere was pleasant- home away from home. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Joe Baxter and team displayed professional and skilled customer service.
Suvash and his team along with all in guest services and housekeeping were very responsive and helpful.
Appreciate you all.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Depending on your taste, but I enjoyed the higher floor.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

We really appreciate and value your review on Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort. We feel honored to be one of your favorite vacation destinations. All of our team members are expected to provide you with excellent customer service at all times. It is fantastic that they were able to assist you and help make your vacation more enjoyable. We are delighted that you will be returning and look forward to having you back.

Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and myself stayed in oct... The place was clean and the staff was amazing....especially trevor the nightshift manager and Debbie S yhe bartender... they maid our stay great...I would highly recommend this hotel clean, affordable, and great staff...

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank dd6024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We enjoyed having you at Westgate Myrtle Beach Resort. Thank you for appreciating the cleanliness of our facility and for referring to our staff as “amazing”. We always look forward to providing the best customer service to all our owners and guests. We hope that you will come back to visit soon.

Josie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at the resort on 10/25-26. We were in the tower on the 14th floor. The unit was very clean, nice and stocked with your basic supplies. The staff was very friendly. We received VIP concierge service (a surprise to us) named Matthew. He gave us his personal cell phone number for us to call him “anytime” for any reason. We tried to tip him for his help with our luggage and such, but he refused (thought that was a little strange). We were offered a free lunch the next day because they wanted to “look after their exchangers from other resorts”. We asked was this some kind of sale pitch or a seminar that lasted 1-2 hours and was told “No” by Matthew, just a “friendly welcome lunch and a thank you for staying at our resort”. The next day we went down to the lobby to meet Matthew like we were supposed to. Matthew took us to the area for the free lunch. As we were walking around we noticed that there were people at tables who had a bunch of papers and name tags on talking with the other “exchangers” and we could hear sales pitch going on. The free lunch consisted of penne pasta with plain sauce or meat sauce that was dumped from a can and bread sticks with sweet tea to drink. Needless to say that we left before anyone had the opportunity to talk with us. Matthew was supposed to get our internet complimented, but since we did not stay for the lunch we had to pay $9.99 for 1 day use. Now we know why he did not accept our tip, guess they get kickbacks from somewhere for those that stay for the “free lunch”. Just “beware” of VIP service or “complimentary offers”.
The resort is within walking distance of attractions and restaurants. It has heated pools with a heated lazy river and is ocean front. They are in the process of building a parking deck which will help with some of the parking issues. They also have 24hr security that patrols the resort. We would stay there again without any questions.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower are very nice
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Westgate Myrtle Beach Resort. It was our delight to have you stay us. Guest feedback is vital, so that we can provide the best service we can. We understand you had some concerns regarding the presentation. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of the sales staff. It is definitely not our intention to make you feel pressured in any way from anyone on our staff; however, we do offer the opportunity to all of our guests and owners to take a tour and with that, receive certain incentives, with no obligations. We appreciate you choosing us for your stay and hope you provide us with the pleasure again in the future!

Josie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,251 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
2.2 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,991 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Address: 415 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4053 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $74 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular Oceanfront Vacation Getaway Enjoy an amazing vacation with the entire family on the white-sand beaches of the Grand Strand at the beautiful Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, which lies in the heart of the bustling coastal resort of Myrtle Beach. Located across the street from Family Kingdom Amusement Park and just 2.5 miles from the bustling Broadway at the Beach venue. Each of the resort's spacious, beautifully decorated villas features a fully equipped kitchen or kitchenette, sleeper sofa and furnished balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing