We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #71 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Buena Vista, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for the price”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The staff here was incredibly helpful and friendly. We had a problem with our shower. The control nozzle basically stopped working and water was shooting out. They came up to fix it very quickly, and even gave us four free breakfasts for the trouble. The breakfast was EXCELLENT. While the hotel itself is a little old, the staff was wonderful and the location was perfect! It was so mice to walk right out to the beach.
Timing-wise, we were a little late for the season. The weather was fine, but the water was cold. We wouldn't recommend planning on getting in the water after mid-October. But if you are looking to hear the waves, walk the beach, collect some shells and enjoy the locale....this is a great place.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are worth a bit extra- you can hear the waves...see the sunrise, etc. from the com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Westgate Myrtle Beach Resort. We are happy you were able to enjoy our convenient beach access and our tasty restaurant dishes. Our staff is trained to provide first class service to our guests and owners. We are happy to see you received that. We hope to see you and your loved ones again very soon for more happy memories.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    365
    256
    193
    211
See reviews for
660
459
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I want to make it clear that there was nothing really wrong with the Westgate. It was clean and quiet. The location is ocean-front and convenient to all Myrtle Beach attractions and across the street from the Family Kingdom amusement park.

With that said, it's only a value at the off-season rate we paid in late October.

At check-in I was surprised by a $25 activity fee I either didn't notice or was not mentioned when I booked on Travelocity. I was directed to a second desk to 'validate' parking, which turned out to be an 'opportunity' to attend a condo sales pitch. There was no additional pressure after I declined. I was told I was in 'VIP Parking', although in late October the lot was never more than half full. The desk clerk waived the premium for an ocean-view room because of my military affiliation, but why charge one at all when the place was obviously only 20% occupied at most?

The location is adjacent to a major storm drain discharge. I never noticed any odor or water discoloration and didn't hesitate to wade through this ankle deep outlet, but it hadn't rained in a couple of weeks; I don't know what it would have looked like during the summer rains. The beach itself was clean and well-patrolled.

The elevators are annoyingly slow, taking 45 to 60 seconds to get a car after pushing the button.

The breakfast buffet was good. Nothing unusual but what there was, was hot and tasty. While it isn't included, it's only $8.00 with tax, drink, and tips included.

On to the room itself. The bathroom was quite small, with minimal counter space around the sink and a shelf above the throne. The towels were on the small side, barely wrapping around my 37" waist. There was no ventilation fan; maybe I missed the hair dryer. The tub had obviously been retrofitted. As a result, you have to step up several inches more than normal and the shower head was much lower than usual. I'm 5' 6" but had to stoop to get my head into the water flow (or point the head so high there was water hitting the far wall). There was plenty of hot water and satisfactory pressure, and the shower curtain rod was one of the curved, 'no billowing' type. The linen services were satisfactory.

There were no chairs or anywhere to sit in the room besides the beds, although there were two plastic chairs and a small table on the balcony. The dressers were cluttered with more than the usual number of local-area brochures, hotel amenity guides, restaurant menus, etc. The cable channel guide was out of date, with basic channels only. The reception was poor two days out of three; think of Grandma's old rabbit ears with the foil wrapped around them. The mattresses were too firm for our preference, but that's usually impossible to predict in advance. The refrigerator worked well, although it was difficult to open and close because it rested in a large drip tray. There was a coffee maker but no microwave.

If you go out to the pool, you can't re-enter through the same door. You must pass from the pool area through the outdoor bar area to get to a door that can be opened from the outside. Mildly annoying, although this may be an issue for some parents.

As a base of operations for a few days the Westgate was adequate, but we've stayed at better values at MB in the off-season for only $10 or $15 more a night. If we were going to stay a week, I wouldn't put up with all the minor irritations. I can't imagine how a family of four would fit in here in the summer, or why they would think of paying the in-season rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are so happy you came to stay with us at the Westgate Myrtle Beach Resort. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. It is great that you were able to take your pet along on your vacation. Our goal is to accommodate the entire family in a beautiful hospital setting. Thank you for appreciating our onsite amenities such as the pools, Jacuzzi and sea views. Hope to see you and yours again very soon.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013

After booking my trip with Hotwire, I read the reviews and was mortified by all the negativity that swirled around this resort. Instantly, I became very upset Hotwire would have done this to me. I have used Hotwire on numerous occasions, and have been satisfied with all my stays thus far. Based on the reviews listed on various websites, it seemed as if Hotwire had booked me an nonrefundable moldy outdated roach motel by the beach! I was ready to cancel my trip and take it as lost, but I got over it, took a deep breathe, and gave the Westgate Resort a chance. Plus, I hate wasting money.

On October 29, 2013, I checked into the Westgate. The check-in process went swimmingly. The employees (Alex, Dawniel, and Trevor) at the front desk were awesome! They answered all my questions and were very friendly and personable. I was originally supposed to stay in the poorly reviewed older section of the hotel, but I choose to upgrade to the newer tower for an additional fee solely based on the bad reviews I had read prior to getting to the resort. The upgrade indeed was worth it! Out of courtesy, I was upgraded one step further to a side oceanview room with a jacuzzi free of charge. I only stayed for two days but I had a very pleasant and relaxing stay at the Westgate. I would definitely recommend staying in the newer tower, if that option is available to you. Beware, that the photos on the Westgate website are all photos from the rooms located within the tower. The rooms in the older section I have no clue what they look it, and don't really want to know based on all the bad and scary reviews. Just know when booking this resort staying in the tower is the best way to go!

Room Tip: When staying at this resort you should book a room in the new addition aka the Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunTraveller222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments on Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort. It is so delightful to hear that your vacation turned out to be a good experience! We love that you were able to receive an upgrade to your unit at the Towers. We hope you had a good vacation and can't wait to see you again soon! Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Had a 1 week timeshare rental to use by the end of October 2013 and we booked in February for Aug 30 to September 6. We were put into one of the newer units with an ocean-view. The room was clean and spacious. The beaches were nice and clean.

The area of the hotel was busy and had a good of amount of restaurants within walking distance which was nice due to the fact there was a lot of traffic in the area.

We never used the pool or the pool bar - we felt it was over crowded due to the fact it was small. The bar was over priced and outdated but most importantly, it looked clean.

Of course, we got the timeshare spiel that lasted 45 minutes or so - we were very firm on saying "no thank you" when it was offered to us. A timeshare does not fit our life style at this current time.

All and all the trip was fine but I prefer to stay in North MB as it is quieter and not as busy.

Room Tip: Ask to be put in the new building and request Oceanfront if possible. Or if you are an early riser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We love hearing back from our guests about their experiences. We are so happy that you were able to take advantage of our spacious villas. Our resort has many different activities for the entire family to participate in. We also love how you were able to enjoy the ocean view from your unit. We always strive to ensure that all our guests are having a fantastic time. Please come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We left an electronic item in our room and made it half of the way home and realized we had not gotten this. I immediately called and spoke with Mrs. McCray who is over this department. She was able to locate our "very expensive" electronic item and was able to ship it out Fedex the next day. Thank-you!!!!!! I cannot place a value on your hospitable service. As I told you in my email I appreciate your time immensely.

Room Tip: Ocean Front baby!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience regarding your stay at the Westgate Myrtle Beach Resort. We are very happy you were able to retrieve your electronic device. Our staff understands that providing honest first class service to guests and owners is our only standard of service. We also hope you were able to enjoy our resort amenities and beautiful views from your room. We look forward to seeing you and yours again very soon.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed 8 nights in October, 1 night in Hotel, and 7nights in 2 bedroom timeshare. Hotel room was OK but back of hotel no view, book Oceanfront room.
Timeshare was large and offered all you need for self catering. View was great we were on top floor, nice and quite with large windows overlooking beach.
There was 2 pools and a lazy river all heated to 85.
Plenty of free parking front of hotel.
Plenty of facility for everyone in Myrtle Beach within walking distance.
I enjoyed my stay and would return and reccomend to my friends.
Only one complaint I have $40 per week for Wifi that was not very good, all hotels in area were not charging. Over my 4week holiday I stayed in 7 hotels only Westgate charged.
Can Westgate join the rest of the hotels and offer free WiFi.

Room Tip: Ocean front room floors 4 to 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hap123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Your feedback is greatly appreciated! We are happy you were able to enjoy our onsite amenities such as the heated pools and lazy river. We see you also experienced the beautiful ocean views from your suite. This is a 5 Star Resort so our main goal is to ensure your comfort and happiness. We look forward to having you and your family back for more good times.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
205 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a wonderful time during our 5 day stay with our Lab. Great Oceanfront room, could hear the surf all day & night. Well kept property with 4 pools & a Jacuzzi. Very friendly staff. Rather hefty pet fee of $170 regardless of length of stay, but no pet odors on the pet floor. Limited dog walking area. Room service below average. Really great, wide beach. No one ever mentioned buying a time share, which was great for us. We just wanted a great, dog friendly hotel, which this is. The on site restaurant was average, but plenty of other options available nearby. Somehow during a renovation, no one installed a toilet paper holder. I called the front desk and a maintenance man was there in 5 minutes and one was installed within 15. We chose this over Sprigmaid Beach Resort because we couldn't hear the surf from their rooms and they had no Jacuzzi. Pet fee per day but about the same for 5 days.

Room Tip: Pick a room centered on the property, slightly closer to ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are so happy you came to stay with us at the Westgate Myrtle Beach Resort. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. It is great that you were able to take your pet along on your vacation. Our goal is to accommodate the entire family in a beautiful hospital setting. Thank you for appreciating our onsite amenities such as the pools, Jacuzzi and sea views. Hope to see you and yours again very soon.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.8 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Property: Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Address: 415 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4053 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular Oceanfront Vacation Getaway Enjoy an amazing vacation with the entire family on the white-sand beaches of the Grand Strand at the beautiful Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, which lies in the heart of the bustling coastal resort of Myrtle Beach. Located across the street from Family Kingdom Amusement Park and just 2.5 miles from the bustling Broadway at the Beach venue. Each of the resort's spacious, beautifully decorated villas features a fully equipped kitchen or kitchenette, sleeper sofa and furnished balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Vacatia, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing