We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good stay not bad stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #70 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Not a good stay not bad stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was our frist vaction with out the kids in 15 years. We had Not a good stay Room was just old bathroom was a mess. sink was lose water pressure would go up and down. i must say that most of staff were ok . When not trying to sell you a timeshare.We had a great veiw that we had to up grad to we were in room 616 it needed a lot of work. we would have to put shoulder get door open ( realy hard ) felt like i was a cop trying to break the door down . one time my wife could not get it open at all she had to go back to pool and get me to open it when we informed the front desk they said thats to bad and would get someone on it never was fixed or looked at. we had a good time because of the loction and we will be back to Myrtle beach love d the area and the beach And may have looked into a timeshare if rooms had a been little nicer and staff a litte more responsive to our problems . not just trying to sell when we are on vaction. So we loved the area and had a good time.just will have to stay elseware i wish that was not true this place could have a been great time not just a average vaction

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinacatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay and for any inconveniences they may have caused. We have taken note of each matter you have had and will pass them on to the appropriate members of our staff. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Guest satisfaction is out top priority and we regret that we fell short during your stay. The issues you experienced are very rare and we do hope that you will allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    362
    253
    190
    209
See reviews for
658
453
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Service: The service was very good. Jacqui at the front desk was awesome. She helped us over and over again. One day when the bar and restaurant were closed(the bar was supposed to be open but wasn't for some reason) she even went and took our pizza order to the kitchen for us. Well behind her required duties, but she did it in the name of customer service and consistently provided a friendly face representing Westgate Myrtle Beach. We did not find the timeshare people too aggressive, we talked with them, told them it wouldn't work for us to check it out this trip and we joked back and forth with them whenever we walked past them during the 4 days we were there. The rest of the staff from maintenance, to the cleaning staff, to the bartenders, etc were all friendly.

Room: we had the basic main building room facing the ocean. It was nothing special but was fine for us, and especially fine for what we paid. Beds were comfy, the fridge worked(need to fix the ice machine on the 6th floor).

Facilities: The lazy river needs to be fixed, it has a bit of thrust in about a quarter of it, the rest you basically have to paddle yourself because the current is so low. Be careful of the pool down by the tower building, the brick around it is boiling hot on the feet. They had a lot of spots in the main parking, so I didn't understand them having non owners parking in the further away lot. It appears they have done a lot of renos, looks nice.

Restaurants/Bars: The service was pretty good. The food at the restaurant was pitiful. Its one of the main reasons I couldn't give it a 5 star. We were the only people in the restaurant when we went for dinner and all 4 of our meals were stone cold when we got it.

Wouldn't mind visiting this resort again, maybe for a timeshare weekend this time.

Room Tip: The Ocean Breeze flowed perfectly into the oceanview rooms, try to get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g_skywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront. This always helps us to improve the customer service experience. We are thrilled to hear that Jacqui was able to assist you during your stay. Allow us to apologize for any issues you encountered. We always look forward to providing our owners and guests a memorable vacation. We hope you will visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I usually use Priceline to book hotels, but this time was my 5-year-old grandson's first time at the beach, and I liked the location on the beach across from Family Kingdom, so I booked through Hotels.com. The picture I saw was of the tower plus some amenities, and it looked good. I booked an "Amusement Park View" room, which was fine with me. It looked to me that the amusement park was right next to the tower. What we got was a "City View" (the resort's words, not mine). It was in a separate building from the tower in the picture and it was not impressive. We dealt with it, though, and our grandson had a good time. I put his extra clothes in a dresser drawer (which I never do with my clothes in the suitcase), so I forgot them when we decided to extend our stay by booking a better hotel in Surfside Beach. We called 3 times in 2 days to ask for someone to look for his clothes. Each person seemed like they couldn't care less. We told them we would be in town a few more days, and asked if they could please have a maid check room 503 for his clothes in the drawer. We insisted they take our number and of course got no call, so we had to buy all new clothes for him. We were told the maids "always" look in the drawers. Well, Westgate, either you have dishonest maids or someone is lying.
Would NEVER stay there again.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. If you felt dissatisfied with our new renovated hotel rooms, please accept our apologies. Regarding our location, our oceanfront resort, which is comprised of several buildings, is across the street from the amusement park. If our housekeeping team was not able to find the items you forgot, our security team would be glad to take a report from you and investigate. We thank you for your comments, as they allow us the chance to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

....is the message I received the entire week trying to get wifi at this resort. Let me start by saying when my boyfriend and I arrived around 5 pm on Saturday June 8th, 2013 we were relieved to finally get there, as we drove 11 hours from Pittsburgh. Upon arriving, there was no available parking and we had to circle around 3 times to find a spot. It was incredibly crowded, 90 degrees outside and we had absolutely NO help from the "bell hops" with our luggage, in fact, when we walked into the hotel lobby and asked where to check in, the concierge said "oh yes, go right over there" pointing to the front desk, at which time we got in line and were cut in front of by 2 other couples. After ten minutes of standing around having no idea where to go or how to get any service, I overheard vulgar profanity and was SHOCKED to look over and see one of the bell hops speaking to guests CURSING about how busy it was and how he couldn't wait until his shift was over. My boyfriend and I were in complete disbelief. For being giving the notion of being such a "high class RESORT" this place caters to a less than desirable crowd for sure. We finally found a luggage rack and when my boyfriend went to grab it, another bell hop told him it was being reserved for "owners", so we were left to fend for ourselves. Once we found one, we were disappointed to realize they BARELY fit through any doors in the hotel and, of course, our room was quite the distance from where we parked. We got to our oceanfront room, which was actually quite nice, minus the sticky floors and broken kitchen table... a few hours into our stay we decided we wanted to upgrade to the new tower, as much of the building we were in was rather dated. I called the front desk and spoke with Ashlin who told me to check back in the morning and she would try to get us a jacuzzi suite in the new building. The next day I did just that and she was able to upgrade us, for an additional $70 per night (totaling over $300). I was told that our new room was available, but since it was on the second flood, the view wasn't as great. We were just happy to get away from the madness in the building we originally were placed in, and packed our things to "move on up". While the new building is beautiful, we were practially disgusted when we realized we gave up our oceanfront villa for the second floor view of a parking lot and the building we just left. Sigh. The room was well equipped and very nice so we attempted to make the best of it. The days were nice, spent at the pool (although there was a mysterious white substance floating in the water which actually caused multiple families to remove their children from the pool) and at the ocean. The tiki bar was also nice, prices were reasonable, however twice I ordered a salad from the menu and was told it was not available. The bartender on our last day was either in a bad mood or overwhelmed by the patrons because she flipped out on one of the waitresses for taking someone's food order and not telling her, right in front of us. We made conversation with several other guests while waiting for our drinks who were equally (if not more) disappointed in the resort than we were. At night we found it difficult to sleep because Ocean Blvd was right behind us and we had to listen to the sound of mopeds, lifted trucks, screaming 18 year olds and blaring rap music at all hours of the night.... We called the concierge a few times for restaurant recommendations and found them to be of absolutely no help. Oh, and here's the kicker.... The beach access on the side of the new tower is apparently also a campout area for a homeless man who we had to walk past everyday going back and forth from the pool to the beach. It was totally uncomfortable and although we do not have any children I couldn't help but be concerned for the ones at our hotel, having to walk past this destitute individual and piles of human feces in the landscaping. (Not kidding.) I cannot express our disappointment and overall disgust with this joint. My boyfriend actually proposed to me on our last night there, being the ONLY "plus" of this trip. We will NOT be returning!

Room Tip: Stay Elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies that you were dissatisfied with your visit. We will share your comments with our team, as we are always looking for areas in which to improve. It's our hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Every year a group of adult age women (35 - 40 year olds) travel for a few nights without spouses or children. We look forward to the trip every year. This year we got a great rate at Westgate so we decided to book. Upon arriving one of the elevators were broken so the entire hotel only had one elevator. Within 30 minutes of being in our room our luck got worse. Our faucet in the sink was so loose that we had no cold water. We could not lock our valuables in our safe bc the safe was broke. Within 4 days this is the rundown.....had TV and remote replaced bc they did not work. Had the iron replaced bc it did not work. Had safe replaced and still did not work. Had to have card keys replaced 3 times bc we could not get in our room. The breaker in our room blew which then caused the entire wall to not work including tv and lamps. The breakfast buffet in the morning was cold and unappetizing. They say they have 3 restaurants. Pizza place not there and the pizza they offered we heard by staff was horrible.....the pool bar was very small and the food was mediocre at best. The fitness room had no weights. They had 10 machines and 3 were broken. They have a 45.00 activity fee to use the pool, fitness center and parking lot. We went through 3 service men and I had called the front desk about 7 times during our stay. When we checked out we told the manager about all our problems and they had our phone calls on record so they knew we had issues. They decided to refund our 45.00 (big deal) and then had the nerve to tell us that we paid cash when we had the receipt for the credit card for the fee in our hands. The manager kept insisting that we paid cash. Unbelievable. That's all they could do for us was refund the activity fee...we didn't use parking lot because we flew, we didn't use the pools bc we were on the beach and I used the fitness or lack of fitness center one time so we should not have had to pay the fee anyway. Worst stay ever! I read all these reviews before I booked and it seemed like a nice place...boy was I wrong!!!! Never again at the Westgate. Rooms were nice and clean however and the people there were nice just too many problems that were not addressed properly with the management.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. Please accept our apologies that some items were broken and needed replacing. Our engineering team is skilled and ready to address any repair issues you might have. We will share your comments with our team, as we are always looking for areas in which to improve. We are, however, glad that you found the rooms nice and clean and our staff friendly. We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Wow..we have been owners at westgate mb since 2005. Even upgraded last year. We come back every year but after this year not so sure. Beyond disappointed. They have done NOTHING in a year except some new pool furniture. Parking is worse then ever. The elevator situation in the tower is the worst. You wait forever for them (only 2) and they barely stay open to get people off yet alone let people on. Idiots working the front desk. Couldnt help with the crappy wireless problems. Couldnt itemize bill to see if we got owner discounts ( going to say no). One person working desk during checkout time. Anyone can access the resort and use it..no security. You have to carry and set up your own umbrella and chairs ( one poor woman got hit with an umbrella not secured) and apparently if they know that you are not going to upgrade because you just did..you are ignored!!! AC barely worked in tower. No stores opened in tower like they promised. No vending machines in tower. Teenagers screaming off balcony to passerbys until 3am. Apparently westgate mb is the ugly stepchild since all the stuff they promised is STILL not there. And they told us we would get an extra week to use in 2014. Yeah no..it expires next week. So glad we didnt bring friends!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank agpotr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments, as they give us an opportunity to improve. Please accept our apologies if you were dissatisfied with your stay. We hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirtz, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had an amazing stay at Westgate Resort.
Our 2br 2 ba suite was very spacious and Clean!
we have a full kitchen and washer and dryer
the jazucci tub in the master suite is amazing.
I loved how you can just walk right into all of the pools.
My 20 month old daughter had an amazing time also.

Room Tip: 2 br 2 ba suite is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacKenzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we're thrilled to read that you had a great stay. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.8 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Property: Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Address: 415 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4053 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular Oceanfront Vacation Getaway Enjoy an amazing vacation with the entire family on the white-sand beaches of the Grand Strand at the beautiful Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, which lies in the heart of the bustling coastal resort of Myrtle Beach. Located across the street from Family Kingdom Amusement Park and just 2.5 miles from the bustling Broadway at the Beach venue. Each of the resort's spacious, beautifully decorated villas features a fully equipped kitchen or kitchenette, sleeper sofa and furnished balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing