We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will Probably Not Stay Here Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #69 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Will Probably Not Stay Here Again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Good Things :
- Rooms were clean and Housekeeping staff was nice.
- Check-in attendant (male) was very nice and helpful
Bad Things:
- Parking was not adequate, even heard other guests make that statement
- Two of three treadmills and one of three elliptical machines in gym were not working correctly
- Had a one bedroom unit with ajoining door, heard all conversations in the unit beside us on first night until 2:00AM, heard argument on Thursday from same room but different tenants
- Had reservations from Saturday to Saturday, but checked out on Friday
- Ceck-out attnedant (female) was not very nice, did not ask why we were leaving early or how our stay was

Room Tip: View from north side of new tower was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachfan1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We certainly take your concerns seriously and apologize for the inconveniences that we may have caused.

We have brought the your issues to the attention of management so that they may better serve you in the future. The fitness equipment is checked daily to ensure proper maintenance. A service request was placed and the equipment was repaired as quickly as possible. We apologize for this inconvenience. We appreciate your bringing this and the service at check out to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    363
    253
    191
    210
See reviews for
659
455
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little River
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We chose this hotel as it is close to the beach and downtown area. The pictures online are not what the hotel looks like. The rooms are dirty, the beds are unbelievably uncomfortable. They offer direct TV, which only had 13 channels that work sometimes. After we arrived my daughter got ill, when we decided she needed to be seen by a Dr and would have to leave, they refused to give me a refund for the night. There are cable cords running through the walls to the adjoining room. I guess they started upgrading the rooms but forgot to finish, as there is a flat screen tv on the wall, but they decided to leave the old tv and the falling apart armoire that they have it in, in the room. Not only that, but we needed adjoining rooms and the armoire was blocking the door to get to the other room. The heat has two settings ON and OFF. Nothing in the middle, so you are either so hot you can't stand it or freezing. Please do not stay here. Not even worth the great rates that they offer.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are very sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations by changing or refunding your non-refundable reservation. If you feel this was in error we would be more than happy to discuss the matter with you and encourage you to give us a call. While non-refundable reservations may apply for deep discounts or when third party reservations are paid in advance to internet booking agents, we are more than willing to be flexible whenever possible. Depending on the circumstances we normally can work something out unless a deadline from the third party has expired and we are not able to recoup cost from the booking agent.
Please by all means give us a call as we will take this under consideration.
Again, we are sorry that we inconvenienced you in any way as it is our desire to provide you with a quality vacation experience and to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Chester, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a great time at the Westgate! The front desk clerk, Camille, was very friendly and helpful! We loved our 1 bedroom accommodations! It was a beautiful suite. Great jacuzzi and walk in shower. The bed was very comfortable. Loved the decor and roomy space. We will definitely come back!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority so we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you "will definitely come back!!!!" Our staff works very hard to make sure that our guests are enjoying their stay so we appreciate your kind words in describing them as “very friendly and helpful!” and that Camille, made such a positive impression. We are excited that you will be back soon and we look forward to exceeding your expectations again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenansville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband made reservations here for an overnight stay. I read the reviews on the way there and was about to tell him I didn't want to stay there. I'm thinking former employees must have written reviews because they were angry. If I had known we'd be upgraded to a suite, I'd have asked him to reserve a weekend. We stayed in the Tower. We had a balcony with an ocean view and the room(s) were wonderful. We had two bedrooms, the master had a king bed with a jacuzzi and an awesome bathroom/glass shower. The suite also had a combo dining room/living room with a big screen TV, a complete kitchen with washer and dryer. The bed was so comfortable. I could have stayed much longer! I don't plan to purchase into their time share option but I wouldn't mind staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the tower. It's my understanding they are newer and cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are happy that you chose our property for your overnight stay. What a way to make a lasting memory in one of our two bedroom villas, with upgraded amenities. Thank you once again for your review and we are looking forward to exceeding your expectations again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Loved this place! We stayed here for the weekend with another couple. We originally booked a standard double room, but we were upgraded to a one bedroom villa that had a sofa bed. This was great but the sofa bed was very uncomfortable. So, We asked the front desk for an egg crate for the sofa mattress, but they gave us the adjoining room which was a standard room with a queen bed at no charge. Upgrades aside this is a very nice hotel. We were very pleased with the layout of the rooms and the overall cleanliness of it. They were very helpful when we asked for recommendations of restaurants and even called a cab for us. Thanks to Robert and Trevor at the front desk for the excellent service!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review and wonderful comments. We greatly appreciate your recognition of Robert and Trevor for their "excellent service". Guest satisfaction is our top priority and Trevor and Robert work hard to this end everyday. They take pride in providing our owners and guests with everything they need to create memorable vacation experiences. Thank you for choosing the Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront location to create those memories. We would like to say, " The pleasure was ours!" See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREENVILLE
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Beautiful, clean oceanfront 2 bedroom! Shower was amazing with 2 showerheads, 1 being overhead waterfall! King bed, jacuzzi with special light effects. Need i say more?? Huge balcony on the 11th floor, perfect view of the ocean. Heated lap pool and outdoor jacuzzi. We were in the new building, pet-friendly ( which is a must for us and our chihuahua). Went with 2 teenage boys and were able to send them to their own double bedroom and full private bathroom. Full kitchen and living room with everything needed. Thank you Westgate for providing an excellent beach experience, even in February!!!

Room Tip: Room 21111. 11th floor and pet friendly. Simply beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COURTNEY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property. Thank you for letting us know how much you appreciate all the amenities and our pet friendly policy. It's rewarding to know you were able to spend time with your family and that we played a part in helping you create those memorable vacation experiences. Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
247 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

So I've stayed at this location a few times, and like it, but there are a few things that need need attention. First the good though

Right on the beach, why you come and stay here usually. Right in the middle of some family attractions (during summer months at least). The off season prices are quite good. I've stayed in two different room types, basic lock offs for time share owners. Typical is a large 1 bedroom, very large bath/shower, full living and decent sized kitchen and dining area.. And this is Very nice. The room I stayed in this time was the smaller lock off room. It was 1 King also, but sort of too big almost for the size of the bedroom, felt cramped. Likewise for the bathroom, although the shower was rather large. One set of cabinets was the kitchen area, which shared the room with the couch and 2 person table. Two TVs, I'm guessing like 32"

The bad. There is seemingly no insulation in the walls between rooms or the outside corridor, quite annoying but not atypical of certain hotels. Parking is rather a bother, they have what looked to be some sort of parking desk, but it has been in the same state of incompleteness now for 2-3 years or maybe more. Not sure what they do during summertime, but even off season it can be tough to find a spot. And don't even consider using the pullout sofa as a bed, it's horrible.

Overall, stay in the bigger room, it's the nice pick of the location, with good view of the beach. If you can't get for under a HU red or so though, check elsewhere I'd say

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MacJoeFQV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback on our property. We are very glad that you found our location to be your best choice while in Myrtle Beach and that you continue to return.
We strive to exceed our guests expectations during their stay and it appears that we were able to accomplish that with you and your stay. We do understand and appreciate your feedback regarding the sleeper sofa and we have added padding while we share your opinion, a sleeper sofa is not built for an adult and is better suited for children. Our staff is here to assist anyone that requires anything at anytime. Thank you once again for your review and we hope that you will choose us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.8 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Property: Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Address: 415 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4053 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular Oceanfront Vacation Getaway Enjoy an amazing vacation with the entire family on the white-sand beaches of the Grand Strand at the beautiful Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, which lies in the heart of the bustling coastal resort of Myrtle Beach. Located across the street from Family Kingdom Amusement Park and just 2.5 miles from the bustling Broadway at the Beach venue. Each of the resort's spacious, beautifully decorated villas features a fully equipped kitchen or kitchenette, sleeper sofa and furnished balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing