We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tima's Short Myrtle Beach Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #75 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our OceanView was the Bomb!!!!!!!!! Clean, Roomy, 12th Floor.. Seen water and the Road :) Only there one night b 4 our drive to Charleston for our cruise.. (Nov 13,2012) Had a Hot tub and of cousre it was in the NEWER tower. LOve LOve LOVe.. Must go to Margartivalle to

Room Tip: Newer side if U can (we are Owners)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tima1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for describing Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort as “the Bomb!!!!!!!!! ”. We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations "LOve LOve LOVe". We love that you will return the next time you are in Myrtle Beach! We all thank you and look forward to welcoming you back so that we may exceed your expectations once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,192 - 1,198 of 1,676 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

We exchanged Time Share points via Interval Int and were delighted to get a 15th Floor 1 bed apartment with a stunning view, right on the beach, arriving Friday. This was in the new tower block in a 4 part redevelopment of the old Holiday Inn. At first very pleased with the decor and equipment, we then started finding problems. The most dire were NO SCREENING on the Balcony, plus easily moveable chairs for a small child to move and climb over the concrete rail. Handles on the Jacuzzi Bath which CAME AWAY, causing a fall. Faulty toilet light switch. We created a list of +'s and -/Needs, and on the Monday gave it to the Sales Manager .... no response.... Wednesday we wrote to the Location Manager (we weren't told he was gone for 2 days). On the Friday we left he wrote to us... a meagre apology and list passed to maintenance. There were other missing items (no coasters or water boiler), needs non-stick pans but there is plenty of storage and mostly everything you would expect from this quality of hotel/time share. The washing machine and toaster were cheap with flimsy controls, the dish washer worked well. For a 4 sleeper, there were 4 chairs and a wrap round bench seat at the dining table which overcrowded the room. Once fixed, it will be a first rate location and that room will be nearer to the quality of show rooms that we saw!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Ocean, we chose off-season which suited us. If you have children, check wheth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Power4good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves in exceeding vacation experiences and understand how important it is for our guests to have a vacation that exceeds all expectations. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences that you had encountered during your stay with us. Your comments regarding maintenance issues have been addressed with our maintenance department and we have taken corrective action.
Our housekeeping department is very meticulous and works very hard to keep the resort and the villas clean. Weekly rentals in condos do receive a mid-week cleaning, and we provide state of the art washers and dryers in our deluxe units. We do provide trash pickup and clean towel exchange at any time during your stay.
Regarding screens on the balconies, we are an oceanfront property and are compliant with many different building codes that are due to our location and hurricane/storm protection. Balcony doors are 150 mph rated and are heavy duplex glass and solid framed doors. High winds and sea salt are formidable opponents when dealing with maintenance and safety, screen would not stand up to this challenge. Children should never be left alone unattended on any high rise balcony, and we appreciate your concern with this. Thank you once again for bringing these issues to our attention. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My family and I checked in on 9 Nov and out on 12 nov. the new building was awesome, clean and overlooking the city and the water. the view was exceptional from the 17th floor. the price checked in on fri was $69 cant beat that in Myrtle beach for what we got. the room is equipped with a nice new kitchen, granite counter tops, new washer and dryer, dishes, glases, pots, pans, silverware, and dish and cloths washing detergent. a dinning table seats about 8, flat screen tv in living area with sofa sleeper and love seat. entertainment center with space and drawers for storage. dvd player, seperate sink w mirror granite counter, with light over mirror. bathroom was huge, with jacuzzi tub in MB lights in tub awesome changes colors, bed was comfortable and slept great on king size. flat screen in mb. walk in shower with decorative tiled walls all around double shower heads, seperate toilet in bathroom, i could go on and on. highly recommended. oh elevators come at the press of a button and they are clean. we went in november.

Room Tip: stay in the towers not the old hotel, deluxe rooms top floors view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your recent stay at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort. We are very happy to know the your room was "awesome" and that you appreciated all of the wonderful in room amenities. We have shared your compliments with the staff and we are happy to know we exceeded your expectations. We appreciate that you will "highly recommend" Westgate Myrtle Beach and we look forward to exceeding your expectations once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Trevor at the front desk was very helpful the second shift was helpful too but trevor took the cake when i got there i got ugraded to a two bedroom oceanfront delxue villa it was awesome i will go back with a doubt. i love it the room was so big.

Room Tip: the oceanfront delxue is the best room too get .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Front Office Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort. We appreciate that you recognized Trevor at the front desk for exceeding your expectations. Our goal is to exceed our guests expectations and it appears that you felt that way by describing your room as awesome. We can not wait to welcome you on your next visit to Myrtle Beach. Thank you once again for your great review and we hope to see you sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Only upon checkout did hotel inform me that there is an $18.00 resort fee plus tax for one night that was not in the amount paid to priceline. Room was very outdated, but would have been ok except that they charged a resort fee and the room was certainly not resort standards. YES, priceline's receipt does say (in small print) that resort fees are not included, but first time ever charged that much. Have booked many trips through priceline before now, but not sure I would use them again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marysc0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Front Office Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of our property. We do have a resort fee at the property that covers multiple amenities such as parking, wi-fi, fitness room access, beach towels, and in-room safes as well. We must apologize if there was any confusion when the room was booked for the fees that were charged. Thank you for your recent review and we look forward to having the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I took our honeymoon in Myrtle Beach. We stayed in the Oceanfront King Suite at the Westgate. The room was amazing! Very spacious, amazing view, jacuzzi, and kitchen to boot. The staff at the westgate was phenomenal! Very friendly, and accommodating. The customer service of the staff is one of many reasons why we will be going back to Westgate!

The room was incredibly clean and tidy, plenty of towels and other toiletries. The view made the entire package that much more incredible! The view was amazing. Hearing the ocean crashing on the beach is one memory i'll never forget.

I will certainly recommend this hotel to my friends and family who will be traveling to Myrtle Beach!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oceanfront King Suite and it is certainly worth every penny. Very spacious, well l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Front Office Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort. We are very happy that you had a great experience at our resort for your honeymoon. Thank you for recognizing our staff and our customer service as one of the reasons to come back to stay with us again in the future. We can not wait to have you return, as well as your friends and family who will be traveling to Myrtle Beach. Once again, thank you for your recent review and we look forward to exceeding your expectations again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband surprised me with a trip to Westgate Myrtle Beach Resort for our 25th anniversary. Not only was his timing perfect (we missed the big storm back at home), the weather was beautiful at Myrtle Beach and nothing was crowded. The Westgate staff members were friendly, helpful and professional--made us feel right at home. The resort itself is quite amazing! Our suite was absolutely perfect in every way--we loved the view of the beach and the two-person jacuzzi tub was wonderful. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: There's just nothing like a view of the ocean--any time of day. Go for the oceanfront rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zebra71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Front Office Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort. We are very happy that you would pick our resort for such a special anniversary. We appreciate that you recognized our staff for "being friendly, helpful, and professional". Our goal is to exceed our guest expectations and it appears that we were able to accomplish that goal. You described our resort as "quite amazing" and found your suite "perfect in every way". Our 1-bedroom deluxe oceanfront rooms has upgraded amenities such as a hot tub, full kitchen, and rainhead shower. Thank you once again for your kind words and we are looking forward to exceeding your expectations again! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,267 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,923 reviews
2.6 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,195 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Address: 415 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4053 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $89 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular Oceanfront Vacation Getaway Enjoy an amazing vacation with the entire family on the white-sand beaches of the Grand Strand at the beautiful Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, which lies in the heart of the bustling coastal resort of Myrtle Beach. Located across the street from Family Kingdom Amusement Park and just 2.5 miles from the bustling Broadway at the Beach venue. Each of the resort's spacious, beautifully decorated villas features a fully equipped kitchen or kitchenette, sleeper sofa and furnished balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing