We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #74 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed June 23, 2012

When I hear the name Westgate I think of a top notch resort. This was anything but top notch. When I reserved this hotel I thought that the name would live up to my expectations. However, it did not. At 1:30 in the morning I checked on my daughter that was sleeping in the bed next to us and pulled the covers back to find that she was laying in a bed full of BED BUGS. That was so DISGUSTING... That alone ruined our entire vacation. Needless to say we had to wake our daughter in the middle of the night which scared her to death. I called the front desk and they immediately moved us to another room. Once in the new room we found it very hard to get comfortable and go back to sleep. Not only did we have to deal with the bed bugs, the bathroom was disgusting. The shower wall was cracked and there was mold and mildew all over the floor between the toilet and the shower. The next morning I went to the front desk to report the bed bugs to the manager and her staff had not even told her that there was an issue with bed bugs which leads me to believe that they just moved someone else in there without even cleaning it. I will NEVER stay in a Westgate resort again. My suggestion for management is if you are going to have your staff try to schedule tours and sell the resort you need to make it worth wanting to invest our hard earned money into.

Room Tip: Stay Away. This is a place that you would take prostitutes not your family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. After a thorough inspection of your room, both by our trained and certified inspectors and our professional pest control company, we did not find any bed bugs in your unit. We are sorry this was not communicated to you as it should have been. What you reported was determined to be a beetle that is not indigenous to this area but has been seen with some frequency this spring clinging to people’s clothes and on buildings. They are completely harmless, yet unusual, and we completely understand why you were alarmed. They most likely entered your room attached to your clothing or flew in while the balcony door was open. We treat all of our rooms with a very high standard of cleanliness and service and apologize for not meeting your expectations. Once again thank you for your recent review and we hope that in the future you would give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,318 - 1,324 of 1,686 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

Not happy with the way we were treated. Random fees were appearing and we were told by different people different prices for our stay. They will charge you for anything and everything! With the name like Westgate, I was shocked to see all this crap everywhere. 10$ for one day of wi-fi is crazy, might as well go down to Starbucks and use their wi-fi for free. The rooms do not look like they are portrayed all over the internet. The rooms were clean, but not as nice or up to date as they look in some photos. Our T.V was so old that the volume didn't get loud enough for us to hear. We had to sit at the edges of our beds to watch a show. Also we booked 3 nights, unfortunately we could only stay 2 nights, and they told us since we werent going to be there the 3rd night that we had to check out at 10a.m. Although we still were in town for the day, I was unsure why they made us check out--- when we PAID for the room that night. My feelings are that they wanted to make extra money and book someone else in that room. Which is terrible customer service. We went home early because we had no where to take a shower if we went to the beach on the last day. THOROUGHLY UPSET!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelli65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. Our resort fee covers wi-fi, resort amenities and more. We would have been happy to change out your TV quickly had we known, and we are very sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. Thank you again for your feedback. Your comments will be shared with management. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This Resort was better than I expected. The gameroom wasn't great for a 7yr old boy, but Amusement Gameroom right across the street made up for it. The room was cleaner & more comfortable than picture showed. Definately get Oceanview rooms, NOT amusement park view. But, it still was not bad, JUST VERY NOISY! Teenager, College groups in lower end of Hotel price, but Security does a good job of telling them to stay out of halls & keep noise down. Location seemed very congested at first, but the parking a block away in Hotel special area worked out great because you miss all the traffic. Kids & Hubby LOVED the pool area. Next time we will get the villa rental with kitchen, instead of just hotel room. Beach right outside of window & you can see/walk to Boardwalk. Would stay there again & recommend, but upgrade to villa or condo rental with kitchen.

Room Tip: Get Oceanview rooms ONLY
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank msjenejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Thank you for your review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort. We are so glad that the resort was better than you expected. It appears that you booked one of our ocean view hotel rooms with two double beds. On your next visit, you should definitely rent of one our upgraded condo units. There will plenty of space and amenities for your family to enjoy. We are in a great location in the heart of Myrtle Beach with the boardwalk just steps away and right across from the only amusement park in Myrtle Beach. Once again thank you for your review. We look forward to exceeding your expectations again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

i am a westgate owner since 2006 i love the condos its just taking to long to build the rest of the buildings when i bought i dd not know it was going to take 10 years to finish the project not enough pools and spas for all the people in the 3 hotels the lap pool is nice but more for kids only 3 ft deep the other pool on the hotel side is good but always very crowed especially on fri and sat when the time share prospects come in and forget about getting in the hot tub need more stuff for adults not just kids the parking is another story as a owner i dont think i should have to park across the street while the hotel guests get parking spaces

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josepho50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Comments and suggestions are always welcomed from our valued owners. The property is currently being renovated including upgrading the room. Some of our renovations take longer than others. We do provide parking for our owners in the main parking area and have an additional parking lot across the street for hotel guests. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We do not travel much. We arrived on a monday and upgraded our room for a very resonable rate. The room was on the 3rd floor ocean front. VERY NICE. I do think that all the extra charges they have are a bit concerning. $80 pet fee and either a $11.99 or a $9.99 internet charge. come on you are getting a bit more anyway for you room, you cannot have free internet or a $30 pet fee? you say you are pet friendly but your pet charge says otherwise. I was only in Myrtle Beach for 2 days and we did enjoy our stay and the atmosphere. The room was a good value, but the extras with charges, not so much.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and for describing our resort as “very nice.” We are glad that you enjoyed your upgraded suite. Our resort is pet friendly and the pet fee covers special cleaning that must be done upon check-out. Our resort fee covers amenities, wifi and activities. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Myrtle Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Our stay at Westgate was such a memorable one. It was the first time in years that I wasn't ready to go home. The king size bed in the bedroom was so comfortable. To me it was "Home away from home." We only stayed 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. There were so many ammenities for the kids that there was never a dull moment. The customer service with everyone we encountered was magnificent! You've done an awesome job with your resort and staff! I highly recommend Westgate Resort to Everyone. We were in the North Tower, which is a newer part of the resort and I preferably would recommend the tower.

Room Tip: We stayed in the tower which is newer. I would recommend an oceanfront in the newest tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you for your review of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort. We are proud to be your “home away from home.” We are in a great location as we are located on the ocean with Myrtle Beach's only family amusement park, Family Kingdom. We have plenty of on-site amenities and activities that both children and adults enjoy. We’re glad that there was “never a dull moment.” Our staff works very hard to ensure that our guests are enjoying their vacation so we appreciate your kind words in describing our customer service as “magnificent.” Guest satisfaction is our highest priority so we are pleased that you “highly recommend Westgate Resort to everyone.” We look forward to exceeding your expectations again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The old section of the hotel is comparable to a $39 a night hotel. It is way overpriced and definitely not a quality hotel. If you decide to stay here, choose the condos not the standard hotel room.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2travel45694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGMB, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. The hotel units are our economy units but they do receive the same high standards of cleanliness and maintenance as our condos receive. We are proud to offer a wide variety of accommodations ranging from standard hotel rooms to 2 bedroom deluxe villas. We have many guests that come year round and love staying in both sections depending on their needs. We are more than happy to assist anyone that may desire an upgraded unit if they so choose. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.5 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
0.8 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,279 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#66 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,369 reviews
6 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#21 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Address: 415 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4053 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $74 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular Oceanfront Vacation Getaway Enjoy an amazing vacation with the entire family on the white-sand beaches of the Grand Strand at the beautiful Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, which lies in the heart of the bustling coastal resort of Myrtle Beach. Located across the street from Family Kingdom Amusement Park and just 2.5 miles from the bustling Broadway at the Beach venue. Each of the resort's spacious, beautifully decorated villas features a fully equipped kitchen or kitchenette, sleeper sofa and furnished balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing