We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Next Month”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #72 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Going Next Month”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I REALLY want to thank everyone for the reviews.. I will be going to Myrtle Beach Next month, And u all have really helped me.. SOunds like the New ones are the ones I need to be in! And judging by the pix the older ones need ALOT of work.. I will for sure be taking pix,and doing a review.. Happy travels all ;-)

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tima1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGMB, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Great! We look forward to serving you and no matter the choice in unit type, whether it is for a short stay in an oceanfront or amusement park view, or a Grand 1,2,3, or 4 bedroom condo, if you need anything during your stay "Consider it Done"!

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    365
    256
    193
    214
See reviews for
662
460
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Although we booked on Priceline we were given a lovely suite with a view of the beach.Since it is off season and Myrtle Beach is very quiet, I assume we got this upgraded room because the hotel was pretty empty - but still it was very nice and we didn't even ask for the upgrade. the suite had a nice sized kitchenette/living room at the entrance to the suite and then a bedroom with a small balcony overlooking the ocean (and King Family Waterpark which was closed, so very quiet) and a nice sized washroom with large walk-in shower. The furniture was very attractive, the king-sized bed was super comfortable, although the sofa bed in the living room was not at all comfortable. The kitchen had a full sized stainless steel fridge, dishwasher and micro. The kitchen was outfitted with every possible convenience (except an oven - but who wants to cook a turkey while on vacation) including dishwashing detergent, dishes, cutlery, pots, etc.

The suite appears to have been recently painted and everything was very clean. This is more like a condo, so housekeeping is only done every 4 or 5 days - this suited us fine. They will empty trash any time you request it - although they have no recycling at all, which is very disappointing. My only complaint regarding the room was the poor water pressure in the shower (in addition to the already mentioned uncomfortable couch).

Front desk service was very pleasant. But I was quite disappointed in the performance of the concierge. I asked for suggestions for reasonably priced golf courses in the area and he advised me to buy a paper(they don't provide them free as in many other hotels/resorts). This town is supposed to be the centre of the golf universe, so a decent concierge should have some suggestions about golf - and if he doesn't have an answer, should tell the guest that he will find out and have an answer in a little while. I just felt like he was giving me the brush-off

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank APTorontoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGMB, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay and that you felt that it was very well decorated, and appreciated the granite counter tops, stainless appliances, the rainfall shower head, and the sleep quality of the bed.

I have taken notice of the Concierge performance and that we did not live up to our standards during your stay and have brought them to the attention of the Guest Service Manager. I am deeply sorry that we did not fulfill your expectations and provide the service we are known for. There is no excuse, but I do appreciate you bringing this to our attention so that we may better serve you in this regard in the future.

Again, thank you so much for the high marks and we look forward to serving you again soon!

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke Rapids, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay for someone you really don't like book them at the Westgate. They will get the service and experience they deserve! The staff is incompetent and the facilities are old and gross. They were not even an 1/8 full and my wife and I asked if we could be moved to a king size room and they said yes for a fee more than what we paid. Unbelievable! We called down and asked for a late check out and they said okay no problem. We went down stairs and when we came back we were locked out of our room!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank givenlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGMB, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your input. We appreciate the high marks on location. Your comments regarding service have been addressed with the front desk and we have taken corrective action. This is very unfortunate as this is by no means normal. Thank you again for letting us know how we may better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront in June of 2011. We felt that the room was beautiful had a wonderful view of the ocean as well as a wonderful view of the main road and looking out West over the area. We were accross the street from the amuzement park and also a waterpark. The vendors that would take you out parasailing and riding behind a skidoo were also right there by the resort. The ocean was very warm when we were there and we also enjoyed all the pools at the resort. The resorts employees were great and very helpful in explaining places to go and see and things to do. It was the greatest vacation we ever had. We want to go back and take all of our adult children and grandchildren or even just the two of us again.
Thank you for the wonderful stay!
Karen Mason Salt Lake City, Utah

Room Tip: We stayed in the tower and it was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kmason521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGMB, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Hearing we helped provide such an incredible vacation for you and that is the best you ever had is quite a compliment, and we appreciate your taking the time to share that with us. It is our pleasure, and we thank you!

It's nice to hear that you loved the view from the Ocean View side. A lot of people talk about the Ocean Front view, but I agree with you, I think the Ocean View side is my favorite. From your private balcony at night the Oean View units provide a great view of the Ocean during the day, and a spectacular view of the coastline and the city lights at night. People who enjoy their balcony at night with the moon light an cool ocean breeze, and have told me they also perfer having this view at night.

I will let the employees know you thought they were great and that you appreciated how helpful they are. They will be glad to hear that you will be returning with you entire family and we look forward to serving you all very soon.

Thank you so much,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurinburg, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

This is our second time staying at the Westgate Resort. We love this resort. In the winter time, when it is cold , we alway try to come to Myrtle Beach Westgate Resort for a week-end get-away. We love getting a One Bedroom Deluxe Ocean View Ville room. If it is all about being alone with that someone special, this is the Resort for you. We love the King size bed and the whirlpool tub in the master bedroom. No one could ask for a better Resort than this one. Overall rating this Resort, always gets . . .EXCELLENT.

Room Tip: One Bedrooms or Two Bedroom Deluxe with Whirlpool Tubs in the room. Oceanfront or Ocean View Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WoodyandDonnaBreeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGMB, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay and that you loved getting a One Bedroom Deluxe Ocean View Villa.

What a nice compliment to say "No one could ask for a better Resort than this one. Overall rating this Resort, always gets . . .EXCELLENT".

Sounds like you really know how to take advantage of a weekend getaway, and we are so pleased that we were able to help make your vacation a positive and memorable experience. We can't wait to welcome you back once soon!

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithonia, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

My hubby and I were happy to find out that we were staying in the new building of Westgate. It was in a festive location, ocean side view, across from an amusement park. The weather was actually warm on Jan 22, but on the 23rd, it took a cold turn, but then my birthday is always chilly, so I'm used to that. We arrived late at night and the Desk clerk was very friendly and accomodating to my husband's questions. Normally when I have gone to Westgate we get the bellhop service, but at 1-2am, don't look for that folks.

This being our second time in Myrtle Beach, we were excited to hear the ocean waves slapping and we had a one bedroom balcony view where we could see the canal, the amusement park and the beach. Our apartment was small and very tastefully done. New corian countertops, stainless steel appliances, double shower and a roomy bath. The cabinets were fully stocked. Our bedroom was tiny, but had the wonderful white duck pillows and nice comforter set with the Westgate emblem on the pillow, nice touch. The room was clean and of course I was happy.

There was a 10.00 per night charge for the internet and seeing as I'm in school(fun right?) I always have to drag the lap top with me on these little trips. I think that is still cheaper than going the phone company route... If you log in at 3pm, this will last til 3pm the next day. I think that's reasonable.

My only grudge was that there was an ironing table? This is an itty bitty little 2 foot lightweight ironing board styled thingy that sits on something firm... I tried it on the dinette table and it slid off the table as soon as I sat the iron on there...um... maybe the bed? So yes, it stayed on the bed, but I still could barely figure out where to plug it, what angle to lay it on the bed, and finally: iron. (Thank goodness the hubby left the room and didn't witness my shenanigans with the ironing.)

There was room service available and for once the prices were Myrtle Beach Cheap...just like I liked them. Of course we were there to go outside and not stay indoors so we went to explore the town with 1700 restaurants and try that. There was a vending machine with snacks on the floor too. The food always helps.

My only other very slight concern is that we could have used a TV guide...something to tell us what is coming on those cable channels we are not familiar with...

Oh and I had messages waiting for me when I arrived... A nice surprise that someone already knows how to reach you on your getaway... It was old messages for the activities the previous weeks, as soon as I cleared it, a new message appeared... I took a guess that no one was really trying to reach me personally...

Overall, we slept great, no interruptions and truly liked the fact that we were felt kind of special being we were the only people in Myrtle Beach. You get all warm and tingly inside because...it's too cold to be that way outside.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laritaraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeManager92, Front Office Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at our resort and your honest review. We are always happy that individuals pick us to celebrate special occasions with us. Our rooms are equipped with TV cable guides on all remotes and a standup guide over the TV. Thank you for bringing to our attention that we may need to check all rooms to ensure that it is available in the room for the next guest. We do have an activities department that will leave messages on the phones for each guest and hope in the future that you take advantage of these activities that are targeted for vacationers of all ages.

Once again, thank you for writing a very descriptive review of our property and we wish you to return very soon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubert, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We cannot say enough about our weekend stay at Westgate. My husband and I brought our 3 grandchildren ages 12,13,13 boys for the weekend of Jan 20th thru 22nd 2012. The weather not so good but the motel made up for that. The rooms were outstanding the pools/spa was readily available till late at nite and heated. The staff were wonderfulllllll. The view well what can say ocean front. wow... The staff was the best we have ever encountered. The restaurant had great staff and the food was just as good. The bartender at nite Lhoussain was very knowledgable and very friendly he made our two evenings more enjoyable. I could go on and on but just to tie it up the entire place is great and can't wait to get back to the resort.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeManager92, Front Office Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay with us here at the property. We understand that you do have many choices at the beach and we are very happy that you decided to stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed our heated pool and hot tub at the property. The staff is very appreciative that they were mentioned as being the best you have ever encountered, especially Lhoussain. We are very happy that he made your two nights here at the property enjoyable. We are also happy that you commented that our food was good.

We cannot wait to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.8 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort

Property: Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Address: 415 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4053 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular Oceanfront Vacation Getaway Enjoy an amazing vacation with the entire family on the white-sand beaches of the Grand Strand at the beautiful Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, which lies in the heart of the bustling coastal resort of Myrtle Beach. Located across the street from Family Kingdom Amusement Park and just 2.5 miles from the bustling Broadway at the Beach venue. Each of the resort's spacious, beautifully decorated villas features a fully equipped kitchen or kitchenette, sleeper sofa and furnished balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing