We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #131 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Good hotel for the money. Nice, clean place to spend the night. The lady at the front desk was very nice and helpful. Breakfast was very good. Good night's rest for tired travelers - mattress was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rakes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 235 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

Good Hotel fr the money. The breakfast had a lot to be desired, but overall a good hotel for the price.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Ricanranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
12
Reviewed April 11, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jderossc439, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This hotel sits in a depressed area of Myrtle Beach that was once surrounded by an amusement park and outlet mall stores. Its heyday has long past. In its present condition, it should not be listed as a 3 star hotel.

The young lady at the front desk was not the least bit professional or welcoming when we checked in on Thursday afternoon. Her demeanor and appearance were an example of what we would encounter during our 2 night stay. The carpet in the hallways need to be professionally cleaned or replaced. Dust was piled against the hall walls. Our room was below par in comparison to other Choice Hotels where we've stayed. The sink didn't drain until my husband fixed it. The continental breakfast had minimal food selections. The indoor pool was closed for repair.

Our reason for being in Myrtle Beach required us to stay a 3rd night, unexpectedly. We chose to change hotels. Just down the street is a very nice Staybridge Suites! The Staybridge provides more value for your $$$.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arlatxtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jderossc439, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

I would like to apologize for the problems you encountered at our hotel. When these problems our brought to our attention, I would like to assure you that we address and take corrective action. I am sorry how the front desk greeted you. I can assure you that is not our normal and we pride ourselves on guest services.
As to the condition of the hall way carpet, it has been ordered and to be replaced, along with many other upgrades.
As to the complementary breakfast we have changed it drastically, featuring many new items along with many new hot items. We have changed from continental to full hot buffet included in our room rate.
I would like to personally speak with you, please call me at 843 236 1000
Thank You
David Dozier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The Clarion hotel is sort of in a secluded area. Not much around as far as shopping or restaurants. The lobby area is beautiful but the good attributes stop there. There seems to be a huge problem with the housekeeping staff. Our first room had dirty sheets along with a dead ant or two in the bed. After complaining, we received a second room with dirty sheets again and a table that looked as if hadn't been wiped down since the hotel opened. Needless to say we requested and received a refund from Priceline. We ended up staying at the Hilton Garden Inn by Coastal Grand Mall. Clean hotel in a great area. Stay there and bypass this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enjoi_Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jderossc439, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

I would like to personally apologize for the cleanliness problems. We strive for a clean, comfortable hotel for our guest. We appreciate our guest letting us know when we have problems so that we can address them and correct the problem. I would like to discuss this with you personally. I can be reached at 843-236-1000.
We cannot control the other areas around us such as the mall across the street. But the good news is that the mall was purchased last month and they are now renovating and aggressively trying to put new shops in.

Thank You
David Dozier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I've been coming to Myrtle Beach on business twice a year for the past 14 years, and just found this property. I've stayed at many of the Choice Hotel properties between the airport, and the convention center, as my company has a special rate plan with Choice Hotels, and the Clarion is flat out, the nicest, cleanest, and best value I've found. Over the past 12 years, I've stayed roughly 140-160 nights a year at Choice Hotels, and this property is truly in their top 10%. If I ever come here with my family, this is where we will stay. Go to their web site, and check out the pics. The hotel is off the beaten path just a little, but it's quiet. The staff is first class, I was a little nervous upon landing at the airport and calling the hotel for the shuttle, and learning they didn't have a driver to come pick me up, but the girl at the front desk told me to grab a cab, "There Were Plenty Waiting" and they would pay the fare once I got to the hotel, which they did. It actually worked out better, as I didn't have to wait for a ride! The hotel has 2 pools, and a great little bar with light food. The beer was ICE COLD! My room was fairly large, didn't have a flat screen, I don't watch much TV so I didn't really care, but it did have the upscale bedding, and thick comfortable mattress you normally find at the higher end hotels. The room had a large desk for business travelers, and at least on the 3rd floor, a very strong and fast internet connection. One other nice benefit, is directly next door to the hotel "2 min Walk" is the Boat Dock, a VERY popular restaurant/bar. I ate lunch there twice, and dinner once, and the food was great. It's a locals hang out, and I'm told during the summer, on Sunday nights it's the place to be.

Room Tip: I picked a king room, and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TodVogelsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed her for New Years Eve so we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel except to sleep. The lobby is beautiful. Our room was clean but the room and the hallway could use some updating. Our beds were decent but when they say double bed it really isn't meant for 2 people. We were kind of tight in it. I wouldn't mind staying here again if only for 1 but not more then 2 nights. Anything longer and I would definitely stay somewhere else. This is also not the place to stay in the warmer weather.

It is not the place to stay if you want to be in the middle of everything or on the beach. We went down for New Years so it suited us fine to not be on or near the beach and because it is out of the way it was quiet for New Years and we were able to sleep when we got back to the room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nygrl4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
#65 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
228 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach Hotel
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites near Outlets
Sleep Inn & Suites near Outlets
#90 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Holiday Sands North
Holiday Sands North
#72 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
603 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Myrtle Beach, SC
3.3 mi away
The Reef
The Reef
#168 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 101 Fantasy Harbour Blvd, US Highway 501, Myrtle Beach, SC 29579-7435 (Formerly Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $82 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our hotel, Clarion Hotel and Conference Center, located directly on the Intracoastal Waterway in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, just minutes from the sandy beaches of the Grand Strand! A place where visitors return time and time again to enjoy more than sixty miles of sunny, sandy beaches. Visitors enjoy golfing on championship courses, gourmet restaurants, exciting nightlife, retail and outlet shopping, and much more. Myrtle Beach, South Carolina embraces fun for everyone, offering key attractions like Broadway at the Beach, Ripley's Aquarium, Brookgreen Gardens, Huntington Beach State Park, Barefoot Landing, House of Blues, Alligator Adventure, La Belle Amie Vineyards, miniature golf, and amusement parks. The hotel is just minutes from great shopping at the Coastal Grand Mall, Tanger Outlets and the New Market Commons. While visiting, check out our huge line up of family dining and entertainment...Pirates Voyage, Medieval Times, the Palace Theater, Alabama Theater, Carolina Opry, Legends in Concert, IMAX 3D Theater, Planet Hollywood, Margaritaville, Rioz Brazilian Steakhouse, and many, many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel Myrtle Beach
Holiday Inn Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing