We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent for the money!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gazebo Inn Ocean Front

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gazebo Inn Ocean Front
Ranked #53 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Adairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent for the money!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband, myself, and one of our friends stayed here for the week of the 4th of July this year. We were very happy with our room and the hotel in general. It is an older hotel but the rooms are super clean as well as the pool area. The beds are BEYOND comfortable and the hotel is in a very quiet area with not a lot surrounding it. Kind of far from the center of town but we liked that. The only 2 complaints that I had is that there is no iron and ironing board in the rooms, you have to rent them from the front desk. My 2nd complaint is that upon checking in the lady at the front desk was very quick to judge us for being "partiers" (which we are not) because we are a young couple. That did step on my toes a little but over all we loved the hotel and plan to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aj1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Gazebo Inn Ocean Front, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We thank you for your review. We think we are "excellent for the money" too. We have FREE IRONS available in the office for all quests to use. We do not rent irons. As far as questioning you about "parting." we take providing a "family motel" atmosphere very serious and we explain this to EVERYONE (not just to you) to respect themselves and other guests.

PS We are not a partner with cheap tickets,Expedia, etc. It is too expensive and we rather past this saving on to our guests. You cannot use the check-in dates beside our pool picture. *If you do, it will say we are full (because WE DO NOT PAY them) and list another motel that PAYS THEM. Most of the time, we have rooms available. To book a room at the gazebo inn, click on our webb site above the pool picture and find our toll free number(1-800-833-2294) and give us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    87
    17
    9
    32
See reviews for
137
99
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goose Creek, Sc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in Jan., but had to do a review for this place. Stayed here for a week. It's a very nice place. First off its not a luxury resort and you aren't paying luxury prices for it either. What you do get is a reasonable price for an oceanfront room. The place was very clean and you could tell they have been updating the place. The Wi-Fi was very decent. It's a quiet place. Julie at the desk was very friendly and courteous. She is the reason why I looked into the place, in the first place, in how she responded to some of the reviews they have gotten. They are trying to keep it family oriented and a quiet place. Some of the negative reviews they have received, I discounted, as I say you give someone courtesy and respect and you'll get it in return. If you don't want to follows rules, stay somewhere else, it'll be quieter when I stay. If you are hesitant about staying, ask them to check out a room before you register, they'll let you. All I can say is that we had a very nice stay and we'll probably be back next Jan.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rustyg64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Gazebo Inn Ocean Front, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We thank you for your review. We TRY VERY HARD to keep the motel a "family oriented" place that is quiet for our guests. As you said, some do not respect the rules and are asked and then told to leave. Some respond with a "bad" review. We look at these "bad" reviews as proof that our efforts are working. We look forward to your next visit.

PS yes, GazeboJulie is becoming a "star." Of course I taught her everything she knows.
david, her dad

PSS Actually her mother taught her everything. I am only the piano player.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great Bang for the Buck!

If you are expecting the luxury of a La Samana or Caneel Bay try elsewhere. If you want a reasonably priced motel -- right on the beach -- this may just be your cup of tea.

By the way try an ocean front room on the 5th floor. There is little to compare with looking and hearing the surf 24/7 and the prices are ridiculously low (particularly the cash specials!)

We found the staff quite accomodating. I needed an extension cord for my cpap and called the front desk -- 5 minutes later an employee was at the door, cord in hand. Need extra towels? No problem the maids were there to the rescue. Want restaurant recommendations? The owners have a few jewels tucked away to cater to your gastronomic desires. Noise problems on the beach? A quick call to the front desk and the police are quickly on the scene.

Yes, there are a few issues which one might expect at any dated facility. There was a slight leak in the shower and the WIFI didn't always work quite perfectly, but the room was clean and the people bedecked with smiles.

If you don't want to break the bank while getting a legitimate beach experience right in the midst of Myrtle Beach then you could do far worse than booking a stay at the Gazebo Inn. We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kentuckyhillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Gazebo Inn Ocean Front, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We thank you for your review. We try to offer a reasonable price for our rooms. Especially, as you mentioned the CASH SPECIALS. The building is built very well with much steel and concrete. This is great for hurricanes, etc. but it makes it hard at times for the WIFI to get to all rooms all of the time. WIFI is a "new" add on and was not even a thought went into planning for it when the building was built in the mid 70's. We were still using 8 tracks, had "party" line land phones, and had no remote for our TV. And when the president was on TV, he was on EVERY channel (all 10 or 12). How did we ever live through those "hard" times? lol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

my son and I arrived in august for 4 days. we drove all night from wheeling wv. we were early for check-in and advised the Mgt. they could see we were tired and wanted to get into a room and hit the beach. even tho they didn't have to they expedited the room service and got us in quickly. Our room was clean and cool , anything we needed was promptly brought to us. its nice to know im going back this year. its also nice to have a "mom & pop" place that looks out for families, law enforcement, military and yes...even basement-savers. Thanks folks. great place and great mgt. Shaun

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flan2814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Gazebo Inn Ocean Front, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We thank you for your review. We guarantee check in at 3 pm. However, if your room is ready (the head housekeeper calls the office immediately after she has inspected the room to inform us that the room is ready) , we will check you in. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I just wanted to take a minute and let you know how pleased i was with your motel. I read the reviews before booking with you for my vacation so i knew that you had gotten mostly good reviews. My best friend and i decided to have a girls week at the beach so we were looking for something affordable (not cheap) and we found it with The Gazebo Inn. I would definitly stay here again. And people please disregard the bad reviews on here ( although there aren't many) this is a clean well priced motel.

Room Tip: We decided to save money and take a side view room that turned out to be better than an oceanfront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Gazebo Inn Ocean Front, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We thank you for your review. Yes, we have had a few of "bad" reviews. However, if you read them closely, most of them were not considerate of other guests or themselves, sneaking in more people into their rooms than the fire marshal allows, etc. These are things that we will not tolerate at our "family" motel. When you have over 15,000 guests staying with you in one year,
some will be "bad" apples no matter how hard we try to keep them out. So having 5 to 8 "bad" reviews is a real good average we think. Especially when most of our guests leave very happy but choose not or do not think about writing a review. We thank you for taking the time to write your review. Yes we are affordable not "cheap." Do not stay at "cheap" motels or use "cheap" perfume. This is the lesson of the day lol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My fiancee and I were lucky enough to get a few days off to take a trip together, but didn't have much money to work with. We spent less on this hotel than we have on any other, and were both much more impressed with this one than the more expensive ones.

The staff is great. We drove all night, and arrived a four hours before check-in. We didn't expect to get our room early at all, but thought we'd stop in to get our parking pass before we headed to the beach. To our surprise, the owner called housekeeping and our room was ready for us in less than an hour. Any time we saw the owners or housekeepers in the halls they would smile and speak with us. Our housekeeper on the fifth floor was especially friendly.

Everything was perfectly clean and in good order. The hotel is a little dated, as the other reviews have mentioned, but so are most of the hotels at Myrtle Beach. Our room appeared to have fresh paint on the ceiling and new wallpaper. For an older hotel, it is very well kept.

The only thing I would change is the hot tub. You could tell the water was perfectly clean, but it could use a fresh coat of paint, as the old paint causes the water to look a little green at first glance. Also I would have loved for it to be bigger. We met so many other friendly guests while we were down there, but there just wasn't enough room for everyone!

Overall we had a fantastic time and plan to stay there again in August or September. I would recommend this to anyone on a budget. The location is great, the staff is great, the price is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Gazebo Inn Ocean Front, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We try to give "more than the expected." Thank you for noticing. We are planning on redoing the hot tub next winter. Nothing is wrong with the hot tub, in fact Joe keeps it almost prefect all of the time. However, because the concrete has aged some from time and chemicals, it may have a slight "light brown " color. This is not the water but the reflection from the aging concrete. The water is prefect. We look forward to your next visits this fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had the opportunity to do a xtended stay at the gazebo inn and I loved it the rooms have furnishings that make you feel right at home and are furnished down to the smallest detail including frig stove oven microwave coffe pot toaster plates cups silverware everythinhg you need nice pool hot tub and a scenery not soon to be forgotten and the rates can not be beat and the rooms and hotel are alaways clean.This is a family owned and operated hotel and I had the pleasure of meeting the family and they are the nicest and most accomidating family and business owners I ever met they will do whatever it takes to make your stay a pleasant experience wish I could visit again this year but have to wait till next year but will without a doubt stay at the Gazebo Inn.Craig Majesky Ohio

Room Tip: Any room oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidandArlene, Owner at Gazebo Inn Ocean Front, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We thank you for your review and we look forward to your stay with us next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#87 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
#45 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#20 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gazebo Inn Ocean Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gazebo Inn Ocean Front

Property: Gazebo Inn Ocean Front
Address: 1607 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#44 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gazebo Inn Ocean Front 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gazebo Inn is one of the last OCEAN FRONT "Mom & Pop" hotels left in Myrtle Beach. The "MA" Perkins family have owned and operated motels in Myrtle Beach since 1972 (three generations). We have always offered families a clean, functional room at very affordable rates with a quiet and safe FAMILY environment. The Gazebo Inn is 5 stories high and located directly on the ocean front. We cater to families, couples, and golfers. We are NOT a 25 story resort where parking is located several blocks away. We have FREE on site parking. We are one of only a few motels left that still offer the quaint "MA and PA" nostalgic, personal, beach house feel that Myrtle Beach was built on. Call us today to make a reservation and become part of our repeat happy "family" that has been staying with us for years. Yes, there are still a few families who have been staying with us since 1972. We offer many different room types and prices to fit most budgets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gazebo Hotel Myrtle Beach
Gazebo Inn Myrtle Beach
Gazebo Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing