We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Gazebo Inn is pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gazebo Inn Ocean Front

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gazebo Inn Ocean Front
Ranked #46 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Kentucky, United States
1 review
“Gazebo Inn is pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our stay was relaxing and peaceful. The room was ok, nothing fancy, but clean and tidy. The parking area was not very tidy. We loved the view and being able to walk to the beach from our pool. The pool was clean and the staff did not enforce the closing time. The hottub was awesome when it was open. For a few hours it was closed because some kids knocked down the hand rail.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gazebojulie, Manager at Gazebo Inn Ocean Front, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to writing a nice review and letting us know where are lacking, so we can try and rectify the situation. Again this winter we have been able to make some additional improvements on the room and building. We will look forward to seeing again and care of your vacation need Thank you again. Julie and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    91
    17
    9
    33
See reviews for
148
104
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is in a very good location, the rooms are quite sparse but very clean. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxing.The staff were really extremely friendly and always smiling even when they were super tired. The family atmosphere of the hotel gave it an excellent touch of friendliness.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lazarovagalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gazebojulie, Manager at Gazebo Inn Ocean Front, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Gazebo Inn. We are a family run motel and pride ourselves on keeping the room in a clean and relaxing atmosphere. We hope to see you again this year as we love to see repeat customers. Thank You again. Julie and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Although the Gazebo Inn isn't a beautiful resort like some are use to staying at while visiting Myrtle Beach, it is a great place to stay for those on a budget! The oceanfront rooms are just that, and while the decor isn't fancy, it's adequate. The owners and staff are friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean. They also do maintain the pool and hot tub well. I would definitely recommend giving the Gazebo a try!

Room Tip: I definitely recommend going "whole hog" and getting an oceanfront room! The view is outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gazebojulie, Manager at Gazebo Inn Ocean Front, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank You for writing a nice review, we are a small budget conscience family run motel, very clean, that will allow for a vactioner to spend more of their money on entertainment, or just to relax on the beach, without spending their whole vacation fund on a motel Thank You Julie and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moores Pocket
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Another good value for money motel. Right in the heart of Myrtle Beach but without the high price. We had a balcony room overlooking the beach with free parking.
Not a modern hotel, but quite adequate for an overight stay. Would stay again if we did return to this area.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms a well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gazebojulie, Manager at Gazebo Inn Ocean Front, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
The Gazebo Inn is a small very clean place to stay weather you are staying one night or longer, with very clean rooms and great views of the ocean both from the front and from the side of the motel all rooms have private balconies, we love to see repeat guest and the prices are affordable. Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review. Julie and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 4 days in August 2012. Please keep in mind that this is not one of the fancy high-rises in North Myrtle. It is in a much quieter area of South Myrtle. I will say that I enjoyed my stay here. The room was clean and the beds were pretty comfortable. The staff were very nice and were very helpful when asked about anything (places to go, things to do, etc). All of the rooms have a view of the ocean, but if you want to watch the sunrise on your balcony, choose the rooms on the end or the ones facing north. All in all, it was a good place to stay. I would rather spend my money on having fun and making memories than spending most of it on the hotel room. Give the Gazebo Inn a try.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Darrell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gazebojulie, Manager at Gazebo Inn Ocean Front, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank You for picking the Gazebo Inn and taking the time to write such a nice review.We are glad that yjour stay with us was nice and comfortable experience, and we hope to see you again in the near future. Best Regards Julie and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, PA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed at the Gazebo Inn from Sept. 11 to 14, 2012. Had reservations for Westgate Oceanfront Resort (CHECK REVIEW) for a week and decided to head down a few days early to extend our vacation a bit. We were not expecting a 4 or 5 star resort for around $60 a day, but the place not only met our expectations, but it exceeded them! Lots of parking available. Check in was fast and easy. Room was in the center of the top floor (as requested). Refrigerator & microwave were newer, and everything in kitchen worked fine. Sink, faucet and counter were all recently replaced. Bathroom was all recently renovated. Plumbing was all name brand metal fixtures, not cheap plastic. Beds were comfortable. TV was an older tube type but worked good, with extended cable channels. Balcony had a great view of the pool, hot tub, and beach. Never had to look for a place to park during our stay, unlike other places we've been at Myrtle Beach. The pool and hot tub were never crowded during our stay, and this section of the beach was quiet and relaxing. We had a great couple of days at the Gazebo Inn, and we will be returning.

Room Tip: Top floor had an awesome view of the beach and pool, but other lower cost rooms without the view are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lilmx5guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gazebojulie, Owner at Gazebo Inn Ocean Front, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the
Gazebo Inn. We also appreciate you sharing some current photographs of the property so that folks who are considering us will have a realistic idea of what to expect if they were to vacation with us today. Our family has worked very hard over the last year to restore the Gazebo Inn back to the quaint little piece of Myrtle Beach that our guests had grown to love over the years. We are nothing fancy, but if folks are looking for clean, quiet, and comfy stay at a very reasonable rate we are tough to beat. I am so happy to hear that you found us to be just that.

We truly appreciate your business, and we hope to have you as our guests again in the very near future.

Warm Regards,
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

After reading the reviews I was very hesitant about staying at this hotel. I seen where a friend of mine was staying there, so I ask and she said it wasn't extravagant, but was very clean. My husband and I decided to make reservations. I called and made reservations and sent in my down payment and they e-mailed me my confirmation. The lady I spoke with was very nice and helpful. We arrived early on a Sunday morning and spent some time on the Boardwalk and at the beach. We then went to check into the hotel and I was very hesitant again when seeing the outside. It doesn't have all the fancies that the other hotels have, but we had a wonderful stay. Our room was kept very clean everyday and the view was awesome!!!! We did have some issues with Wi-Fi, but usually it was resolved with in a few hours. We did have a few issues with some children with green lasers, but they were staying in other hotels and kept shining them on us, which was aggravating. This was the worst part of our stay. This Inn is very down home and we will be returning here from now on. We have been going to Daytona Beach for years, so this was our first stay at Myrtle Beach and we will be returning and we will be staying at the Gazebo Inn. After reading some of these reviews, it makes me wonder how these people were treating the staff!!!!!!!! Wonderful job and keep up the renovating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ohio-Families-First
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gazebojulie, Owner at Gazebo Inn Ocean Front, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review, we alway appreciate hearing peoples comments about there stay and if there is anything that we can do to make your stay better. I am happy to say that we had a whole new WIFI system put in and it seems to have fixed all of our WIFI problems. We hope that you think of us again the next time you come to the beach.
Again Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#85 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
#48 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gazebo Inn Ocean Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gazebo Inn Ocean Front

Property: Gazebo Inn Ocean Front
Address: 1607 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4629
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#44 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gazebo Inn Ocean Front 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gazebo Inn is one of the last OCEAN FRONT "Mom & Pop" hotels left in Myrtle Beach. The "MA" Perkins family have owned and operated motels in Myrtle Beach since 1972 (three generations). We have always offered families a clean, functional room at very affordable rates with a quiet and safe FAMILY environment. The Gazebo Inn is 5 stories high and located directly on the ocean front. We cater to families, couples, and golfers. We are NOT a 25 story resort where parking is located several blocks away. We have FREE on site parking. We are one of only a few motels left that still offer the quaint "MA and PA" nostalgic, personal, beach house feel that Myrtle Beach was built on. Call us today to make a reservation and become part of our repeat happy "family" that has been staying with us for years. Yes, there are still a few families who have been staying with us since 1972. We offer many different room types and prices to fit most budgets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gazebo Hotel Myrtle Beach
Gazebo Inn Myrtle Beach
Gazebo Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing