We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way more than bargained for the money spent.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #8 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Amazing, had in room washer and dryer, jetted tub, dishes furnished, two nice TV's. The water park/pools were all up and running. Had way too many activities for kids to do in two days. Filling the last of 200 words which is retarted now. Trip advisor should really look at removing this requirement.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finuke2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for coming up with 200 words to describe your visit with us here at Dunes Village Resort. We are so glad you were pleased with all that we have to offer. To hear that we exceeded your expectations means everything to us.

Thank you for sharing your 5 star review. We certainly would love to have you back again to finish all the activities you could not get around to in a weekend! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,066)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,178 - 3,184 of 6,066 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is the seventh year may wife and I have spent the months of January and February at the Dunes Village Resort and have been very pleased again with the staff and the resort in general. Every year when we go down in January we watch the staff make repairs and the smell of fresh paint is always in the air. Every year when we arrive, the place looks as good as it did the year before. This year they added new mulch to all the landscaping along with other improvements which look great. Our grandchildren come down to visit us for a week each year and they love playing in the pool areas, the beach, the new playground out back. They especially like all the activities the resort has for children. In the two months we stayed there the internet worked great. We can’t say enough about housekeeping, as in all the years we have been staying there we have had excellent housekeeping. Only twice in seven years have we had to call housekeeping about a small problem which they corrected very quickly. In those seven years we have seen them add to the water parks and install a pirate ship play land in the back area. All in all we think it’s still the best place in Myrtle Beach to spend some time with your family at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skibuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you so much for joining us year after year for your winter get-away. After 7 years, you are still rating us as a perfect 5, and we really appreciate that. We try very hard to ensure the perfect stay for our guests, and we love to hear when we succeed.Thanks for taking the time to offer your 5 star review. We look forward to having you for another two month stay next year! See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed 02/21-02/28 and were very pampered our entire stay! The Dunes had there kids club open off season, so we never suffered any of the drawbacks of going off season. The water parks were crazy awesome and very warm even though we had some cool weather while there. The staff was all smiles and accommodated our every need! Great location as Broadway at the Beach is less than 5 minutes away. Their pirate ship playground right on the beach was such a wonderful place to let the kids play. There was so many amenities we could not take advantage of them all during our week long stay, which means we will just have to come back and explore some more. I looked at several different resorts and am so thankful I chose The Dunes...it will be the only place we stay in Myrtle Beach from now on!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 Bd condo...Room 1201 it was a corner room on the 12th floor. It had two gorgeous b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tjeffords304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Your title, "Best Vacation Ever" is our goal. Every team member we have gives 100% to every guest in order to provide your "best vacation ever." Dunes Village Resort is the perfect backdrop for a family vacation, as we have every amenity you could want in a resort - water slides and pools, activities all year long, wonderful restaurants, and several other diversions to make any vacation complete.

We are thrilled that we were able to provide you a 5 star experience, and we look forward to having you back again. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and I decided to stay at the dunes because of the indoor waterpark, and it was the best choice we made. Our kids (5 and 3) loved the indoor waterpark, which was perfect because it was too cold to do any outdoor activities. The staff was very friendly. We ate at the breakfast buffet twice and the service was outstanding and the food was good. It had a variety of foods to choose from which pleased everyone in our family. We will be making another trip to the dunes in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelAnn1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star review of Dunes Village Resort. We agree with you that our staff is the best. We are friendly, helpful and eager to aide you in your quest for the perfect vacation. With Dunes Village Resort as your backdrop, you can't go wrong.

Thank you for the compliments on the breakfast buffet. Over the last few months, we have made several changes and additions to the buffet in order to provide you the best tastes at the best value. Our omelet station has been a huge hit with our guests.

We are really glad that you enjoyed so much of what we have to offer, and we look forward to another visit with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed in a 4-bedroom unit a few weeks ago (Feb. 7-9) to celebrate a special birthday. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The view was spectacular. The five children travelling with us had a blast at the water parks and really enjoyed the planned activities for children throughout the day. The staff was top-notch... so friendly and accomodating. We will definitely stay again!!!
The Sullivan Family... Greensboro, NC

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Sullivan585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you very much for choosing Dunes Village Resort for your special birthday celebration. Did you try one of our in-house cakes? We supply beautifully decorated cakes and balloons at a nominal cost for any occasaion.

We are the perfect place to have winter birthday celebrations, since we have so much to do while you are here. We are best known for our water parks, but we also have year-round planned activities, basketball courts, tennis courts, pool tables, shuffleboard, and several other diversions to keep any age satisfied.

Thank you for the kind words regarding the team we have in place to take care of you. Our team is the best, friendliest and most helpful on the beach, always willing to lend a hand or provide a smile for you.

We cannot wait to see you again for another 5 star stay. We hope you can get back here soon! See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Oceanfront Deluxe 2 BR Condo room 553 Stay 2/24-2/27/14
The good.
Room was spacious, the fully functioning kitchen with working ice maker was very nice. (bring paper towels as non are provided). Water park was great. It was clean and was not crowded.

The Bad
First thing we noticed was the floor had food and trash particles scattered around the living room, the dirt on the carpet in corners of the rooms were more noticeable. The special TV remotes are water proof so they can be cleaned, however 2 of the 3 had visible dirt on them and were sticky. The Jacuzzi tub in the room did not function. There were several other little things within this room that needed fixed or cleaned better but I will not obsess.

We would stay again during the off season for the indoor water park.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank RN2010CharlotteNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to offer some feedback regarding your recent visit to Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate that you found the waterpark to be satisfying, and that all-in-all your room was good. I am sorry that some of the cleaning was not done to perfection. We have made giant strides in our housekeeping over the last few months, so I am surprised to hear otherwise. I do appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We fully intend to look into the cause of the shortfall inyour housekeeping.

It is great to hear that you are interested in returning to visit with us again. We do hope to see you back soon. If you would like to speak with me when you are ready to book your next visit so that I can make sureit is perfect, please feel free to call me directly. I am at the resort most days.

Sincerely,

Cari Garvey
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Horrible experience! I thought was dirty, outdated, and the service was horrible! If you're smart you'll book elsewhere! On a second try to stay there I needed to change my date and they wanted to charge me $440 dollars more to switch to the next weekend. Watch out for their cancelation policy, it's ridiculous! I ended up losing $169 even though I can canceled a month before our trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Dunes Village Resort. I am sorry to hear that our change/cancellation policies did not appeal to you. When you book your reservation, we offer you a vacation safeguard plan that allows for a change of plans, or cancellation for any reason without penalty for a nominal fee. Without that protection, your deposit is forfeited in the event of cancellation, no matter how far in advance you cancel.

It saddens me that you found us dirty. Our Housekeeping department has improved by leaps and bounds over the last year, so I am unsure of what you are referring to. If you would like to discuss this in person, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Cari Garvey
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,207 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,228 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#4 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,355 reviews
1.7 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,649 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $65 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size water slides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing