We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great.... at least the last few times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #9 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great.... at least the last few times”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel is great. the rooms are very clean, and the kids loved the indoor waterpark. great for families traveling to myrtle beach. The price is great and there always seems to be a sale. the hotel has its on parking garage across the street. For those who dont know there are 2 different towers (buildings). One is the palms and the other is the palmetto. The palms has been there for the longest and so it is older. The funuriture and fixtures are older. all of the other times ive been here it was great. this time i got there around 10:45pm. the hotel was full so i had to stay on the first floor. NOT FUN. the rooms on this floor of the palms are dirty! Try to get there by 8:15pm, if you want a good room. Try to get a room in the palmetto tower. it is newer, nicer and more modern. also if you like Big CLOSED-IN waterslides go to the palms tower, even the water park area is dirty. Palmetto waterpark much cleaner and more family/younger kid like. Both waterparks are available to you no matter what tower you stay in. The outdoor pool area is nice and also has a outdoor lazy river. Other than staying on the first floor the hotel is great!

Room Tip: Stay in palmetto if possible. avoid staying on first floor so book anything but the studio rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxbow07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Dunes Village Resort . We appreciate the 5 star rating! I just want to clear up some misconceptions.....The age difference between the 2 towers is approximately 8 months, with the Palms tower being the newer of the two towers. The furniture in both towers is being refurbished and/or replaced, starting with new couches in the Palmetto Building and new carpet in the Palms. Both of these projects are complete, and tables (dining and coffee) have been refreshed with new coats of stain. We have changed our pillows, our bed bases and there are several other projects that are getting underway before our high season kicks into gear again. We are proud of the clean and fresh look in the rooms. I hope you get a chance to come back and see all the progress we have made. Thanks again for your feedback. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,675
    1,308
    468
    224
    149
See reviews for
4,109
698
45
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We made this trip primarily for my son who is 5 1/2 years old. The water park was a perfect break from the cold dreary weather. My son hugged me several times and told me it was the best vacation ever. Due to the time of the year, the pool area was never over crowded, but there were always kids for him to play with. My son is a natural water bug, and he wanted to stay in the pool area from the time he woke up until bed time.

We decided to upgrade to a penthouse on the 14th floor. It was a nice room. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfy, and it was nice having a full sized fridge with ice maker, oven, microwave and washer and dryer. I did not think we would even use the dryer but it was nice to dry and warm up our swim suits and robes between trips to the water park.

Recommendations: As many on here have stated, bring a nice thick robe. It was very nice to have going from water park to water park (as there is a short walk outside) and back and forth from the water park to the room.

We are looking forward to out next trip to the DVR.

Room Tip: We stayed in a pent house, room #1405. It was great. It was the only room we have stayed in so I rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful 5 star review of Dunes Village Resort. We are so glad to hear that your son had the best vacation ever! We are very family friendly, all yeal long, witg 30,000 square feet of water features and year-round childrens activities to keep everyone entertained.

Your advice regarding thick robes is very wise. Since we do not own the property between our 2 buildings, we are unable to build anything to create an enclosed walkway between them, so it does get a bit chilly going between the 2 water parks in the winter months.

We look forward to spending more time with you, helping you make some more memories. Hope it will be soon. Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience here at Dunes Village Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stay at the dunes twice a year. I would recommend this resort to anyone with children, lots for them to do. The resort is clean and the beds are comfortable. The location is excellent, away from the crowds but only 5 min from Broadway on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely 5 star review you had to share. We appreciate your loyalty to Dunes Village Resort, and we are glad we continue to supply you with perfect vacations.

We appreciate your taking the time to write, and we hope to see you 3 times this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was the best place that we have ever stayed in Myrtle Beach. The place had so much for the kids to do even for the winter time. The price was well worth it. It was much cheaper than going somewhere like the Great Wolf Lodge. A nice restaurant was there in which we ordered our food to go. It was hot and very good and reasonably priced. The staff in the entire resort were wonderful and so friendly. We did not have a dull moment. The room was wonderful. As a matter of fact, we had a smaller room (king suite ocean front). I had to bring another one of my grandchildren with me due to a family illness. We were upgraded to a much larger room that included a bedroom with two queen beds, flat screen tv, large bathroom with jacuzzi tub, laundry area, nice size kitchen with everything you could imagine, small dining area, pull down murphy bed, nice size living room with pull out sofa bed, flat screen tv, and ocean front balcony on the 11th floor. Two large resort buildings were side by side with a large water park in the bottom of each. One contained two nice sized water slides and the other contained two large water slides. One had a large area lazy river and the other had a smaller lazy river. Both had pools and hot tubs. One had shuffle board, life size chess game, fooz ball table, and other games. Each had good sized splash areas for little kids. I can't even tell you how much they had. They also had a putt putt. Just so much for your money. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: I don't know what to say here because we were on the 11th floor with an ocean front balcony. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nursejean2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic 5 star review of Dunes Village Resort. You covered everything I would have, so I thank you for all that you offered. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience, and we look forward to seeing you again for some more fun. Until then.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is the second time we've stayed with Dunes Village and it was fantastic. We asked for a quiet room with 3 bedrooms and it was lovely. Well-equipped, spacious for Myrtle Beach and freshly updated on the corner of the top floor. The cost was very low for a three bedroom as it was the off-season. Staff was professional and polite. The view was amazing and we could even see the skywheel down the beach lit up at night. The resort is only a few minutes from Broadway. We mainly stay for the waterpark access and they are still the best this side of Great Wolf. I mentioned this last time we stayed and it is still true...the absolute only thing that could make the stay better would be to inclose the elevators and outdoor access to the rooms. With little ones walking to pools, it is simply freezing in winter. We will be back for sure! :) Thanks Dunes Village for a wonderful and fun stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are quieter....farther from the elevators 14th floor was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JACKLEGSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks for sharing your wonderful experience at Dunes Village Resort. We love to hear about our guests fantastic stays, and your visit with us sounds absolutely perfect. Our amemities cannot be beat here in Myrtle Beach, and our team is not only professional, they are friendly, helpful, and eager to assist you with making your memories.

Thank you for the lovely 5 star review. We can't wait to have you back for the 3rd, 4th and 5th visits. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

the nicest room I've ever stayed in in my 50 trip to Myrtle Beach. I have always tried to stay here and now I know why they stay booked. The indoor pools are awesome. But the rooms are like apartments. The only bad thing is the parking garage across the street. Other than that it is worth every penny.

Room Tip: Get oceanfront for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your 5 star review of Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate all the nice things you had to say about us. We are thrilled that you were finally able, after so many tries, to join us and experience all we have to offer. We are glad you found your happy place, and look forward to having you back again and again. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Dunes Village is a nice, clean, fun family friendly hotel at a nice location in Myrtle Beach. The water slides are fun and the indoor kiddy area across the street from the main building is a blast for everybody - regardless of age. They were redoing the rooms while we were there and they hogged one of the elevators all day which was annoying. But the good news the rooms are now updated and beautiful! We have stayed there several times and will definitely be returning! Lots to do and a great location!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenniferG117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star review of Dunes Village Resort. We are so glad to hear that you have stayed with us before and that you continue to enjoy everything we have to offer. I apologize that one of the elevators was continually in use for our remodeling during your stay. We try to schedule these projects for our slower times, but those times seem to be few and far between lately with our growing popularity.

We look forward to spending more time with you. Hope to see you back here soon! Thanks again for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,142 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,152 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#29 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,729 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#48 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Property: Dunes Village Resort
Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size water slides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing