We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent getaway destination!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunes Village Resort
Ranked #9 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We rented a 2 bedroom unit in November. The room was gorgeous, and immaculate! Granite counters in the kitchen, soaker tub in MBR, 3 flatscreen TV's....The water park is conveniently located right downstairs, there is a restaraunt, and also a small gift shop. The pools at the park were spotless. Service was wonderful, every staff member we encountered was courteous and helpful! There are many activities planned for the kids each day, many free, and the others at a nominal cost. The hotel is beachfront, and the beach is lovely. Cannot say enough good about this place! Will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your 5 star review of Dunes Village Resort! It is always great to hear when our guests plan on returning! We are thrilled that we were able to satisfy all of your needs, and we look forward to having you back again for some more memory making! See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,358 - 3,364 of 6,133 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

Imagine literally walking over 4 clear garbage bags to get into a room that reeked of fried food. We didn't have to imagine it. Peeling paint, two leaking toilets that self flushed all night, ignored by housekeeping for the long weekend, intermittent electric in the bathroom, etc etc. They didn't keep their word. They promised me an available 3br and 2br room on a specific floor and gave me a "sorry" instead when I got there. I asked for a reduced rate. Still "sorry" but powerless. My money will never be spent here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrDrCarhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

I am truly sorry to hear that your recent experience here at Dunes Village Resort was less than perfect for you. We do our best to honor every request asked of us, and sometimes it is just not possible. Room location requests are just that, they are not a guarantee. The only thing we guarantee when making a reservation is the room type you booked.

I am unsure of the trash you had to step over or of the lack of housekeeping you experienced, but I can assure you that these areas are being analyzed for where we could make any improvements.

I sincerely hope that in spite of the room location, you did enjoy everything else about the resort. It is hard not to have a good time with all the fun around here.

We do appreciate your feedback, as it gives us an insight into areas that can be looked at for improvements. Maybe you will consider visiting us again someday. Until then.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

when I got to the hotel I got there early and waited just a little bit to get keys to my room but staff was very nice very well helpful room was amazing with the view of the ocean . I can't stop talking about the staff there was a front desk person by the name of toni oh my god she made my stay at he hotel an amazing stay she was all smiles . and the bellman ken was so nice he helped me with my bags up to my room toni was amazing if I needed anything all I had to do was pick up the phone and call I highly recommend this hotel will stay in it again in the future .

Room Tip: the room we had was an angle view of the ocean it is amazing and we had a corner room where it was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you so much for that wonderful review of Dunes Village Resort. Being greeted by Toni and Ken should make anybody's vacation perfect. They are 2 of the most hospitable people we have ever seen. The 2 of them have one goal: to ensure our guests are well taken care of. But that also goes for the rest of the staff here at Dunes Village Resort. We are chock full of smiling faces and friendly, helpful service.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to having you back for some more fun and romance sometime soon! See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I chose this location because of all of the positive reviews on trip advisor. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by a nice gentleman that checked us in right away. Our room was a king studio which came with a range, fridge, and microwave. It also had two tvs which came in handy when I wanted to watch the game. The Oceanview was great as always. Being off season, the price was superb. There were some negatives though. The faucet was loose as were some ceramic tiles in the bathroom. The tile issue appears to be from a water problem they had in this room at some point as there was evidence on the drywall. Also we didn't have wash rags when we arrived. We had to report this and obtain them. Also, the room steward did not come to our room one of the days to restock and freshen up. Overall, our stay was fair. Some good.... Some bad...

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gratpie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Dunes Village Resort experience. I am sorry that we fell short on some aspects of your recent vacation. The areas that you have mentioned have been addressed in order to ensure that the next time you visit with us, it will be perfect.

We do appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention, and we look forward to another opportunity to WOW you. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife, daughter, and I visited Dunes Village Resort in Myrtle Beach, SC the last week of November 2013. We had a fabulous time. The best part was the service. All smiles, friendly, and willing to go the extra step to make our stay fabulous. Highly recommend for any families. The two water parks were great, but our fav was the Palmetto (for younger ones). Water temp was just right with plenty of things to do. The Palms (for older ones) was equally wonderful, just not right for our 7 year old girl. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review of Dunes Village Resort. "Perfect" is our favorite word, because it means we could not have done anything better for you. We try very hard to provide a "perfect" vacation for all of our guests. You will find smiles and friendliness throughout the resort, along with all the fun you can handle.

We are so glad we could be the backdrop for your recent vacation, and we hope to see you many times over the next few years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

If your looking for a family friendly location, this is the place to be.....everyone was so nice...the chef was awesome she made sure we were taken care of by the staff during our meal....we have stayed at this resort many times and we will continue to do so......Thanks for the hospitality!

Room Tip: all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank priscilla l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review of Dunes Village Resort. We appreciate your kind words, and we are so glad that you have visited us many times. We look forward to the next visit. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Located North of Myrtle Beach, but South of North Myrtle, this family resort offers two indoor waterparks with activities and fun for the kids. I would recommend it for families with kids 2-12. There is nothing else in walking distance, but the on-resort activities (including daily activities for the kids) are great. Also recommended is renting thru VRBO or another rental service (not the hotel itself). We rented a 3-bedroom condo for $190/night over Thanksgiving. From the hotel directly, we would have only gotten a 1-bedroom place for the same rate. Other good: direct beach access, on sight restaurants, Starbucks coffee
and store, play ground, many pools and water slides. Bad: nothing else in walking distance, not for people without kids.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank tkeucla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CariG_DV, Manager at Dunes Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your Dunes Village Resort experience. We are glad you found everything to your liking. We have activities all year long that cater to all ages, from dance parties to bingo to water relays, crafts and other games, we even have movies on the back lawn in the Summertime. The water parks are 30,000 square feet of enjoyment for many, and we have 2 restaurants on site to satisfy your taste buds.

We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to seeing you back here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#5 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,369 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3,227 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3,250 reviews
2.5 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Village Resort

Address: 5200 North Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $80 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunes Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunes Village is home of the area’s only indoor water parks; 30,000 square feet of water fun! 4 adult-size water slides, water basketball, lazy rivers, kiddie pools, mushroom waterfalls and the list goes on. Tennis buffs stay limber on the tennis court and basketball fans shoot hoops on the basketball court. Children enjoy the year-round supervised activity program, giving parents an opportunity to sit back and relax knowing the kiddies are having fun of their own. Dine in one of the 2 onsite restaurants or sip a cup of coffee from Seattle’s Best Coffee. At the end of the day, our spacious studios, suites and condos are the perfect ending to a great day at this award winning resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunes Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Village Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Myrtle Beach
Dunes Village Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing